Lost In Translation

16 Aug
South Africa

Image by ShayneG via Flickr

Are you driven by your head or your heart?

Neither. It’s usually the Hub, as I don’t have a licence.

That reminds me of some South African-speak: Afrikaans traffic cops who speak English better than I ever spoke Afrikaans, were renowned for asking the drivers they stopped, Did you got a licence?

Another favourite of mine, which I know I’ve shared before but it makes me laugh so much I have to share it again, is the Afrikaans for ‘christening’, doop diens.  It translates literally as ‘dip service’.

If you don’t find that funny I have to ask, did you got a sense of humour?

Can anger be constructive?

This prompt made me so mad I decided to write about it.

Do you blog anonymously or do you blog as “yourself” and why?

I am semi-anonymous in that I use a pseudonym, but as all of my comments and subscriptions use my email address with my actual name, it’s not hard to discover who I am, if you feel so inclined.

Why an alias?

Because I don’t want to embarrass my son, the future Prime Minister and World Despot and my son, the future not sure yet but bound to be successful and famous because he is my son, after all.

29 Responses to “Lost In Translation”

  1. Cindy August 16, 2011 at 10:50 #

    Welll, be sure and be wearing yourses seatbelt when you drive ;p

  2. bluebee August 16, 2011 at 11:13 #

    haha – you did got a sense of humour

  3. totsymae1011 August 16, 2011 at 11:52 #

    Your son’s going to got famous so yes, stay in semi hiding. :-)

  4. earlybird August 16, 2011 at 12:10 #

    love ‘dip service’

  5. kateshrewsday August 16, 2011 at 14:14 #

    Aliases are jolly hard to maintain….but I’m sure our offspring will be eternally grateful when we’re megastars…

    • Tilly Bud August 18, 2011 at 11:25 #

      They’d better be, because we know all their dirty secrets :)

  6. Sacha August 16, 2011 at 14:38 #

    Well, that just tantalised me so much I had to look you up! But I shall always think of you as Tilly :-)

    • vivenne blake August 16, 2011 at 19:17 #

      Me too, even though I knew her first as X and later as Mummy Darling!

    • Tilly Bud August 18, 2011 at 11:30 #

      Most people do. I shall never be taken seriously again :)

  7. gigihawaii August 16, 2011 at 21:44 #

    hmmm. I still don’t know your real name. lol. I should pay attention to the details when you comment on my blog.

  8. Big Al August 16, 2011 at 22:51 #

    Tilly Bud’s blogs are a hoot
    That’s a fact that none can refute
    When she sees a prompt
    It usually gets stomped
    And ends up in sheer disrepute

  9. sanstorm August 17, 2011 at 00:03 #

    I’m the same. A thinly veiled pseudonym to protect the innocent.

    • Tilly Bud August 18, 2011 at 11:35 #

      I suspect most of do, and for the same reason.

  10. belleofthecarnival August 17, 2011 at 02:03 #

    Chuckles! I feel the same way for my sons ;)

    • Tilly Bud August 18, 2011 at 11:36 #

      Then you are as excellent a mother as I. And as obsessive :)

  11. Sandra August 17, 2011 at 02:43 #

    Liked your answers! Loved your profile description. Nothing says “I’m totally awesome” like authenticity!

    • Tilly Bud August 18, 2011 at 11:37 #

      Your comment is so nice, I thought it was spam :)

  12. Sharp Little Pencil August 17, 2011 at 03:55 #

    I don’t even bother to try to hide who I am, because the FBI already has such a big file on me, if I try to pull anything they’ll “out” my on FOX anyway, LOL. And I use my daughter’s stage name when I refer to her, so… Lex is the only one is trouble, and he’s a pastor! LOL
    Amy
    http://sharplittlepencil.wordpress.com/2011/08/16/whose-side-are-they-on-now/

    • Tilly Bud August 18, 2011 at 11:39 #

      Amy, you take my breath away sometimes :)

  13. Christina Does It All August 17, 2011 at 05:14 #

    you sure make me laugh :D

    • Tilly Bud August 18, 2011 at 11:40 #

      Then I’m doing a proper job :)

  14. eof737 August 18, 2011 at 22:57 #

    You do good Tilly! :-) I blog as eof737 which are my initials and then I have a blog name which I still have to add properly (yes I own my domain name… learned the hard way with another blog). All my posts are signed off with my real name and a copyright symbol. I had a few posts swiped in the early days and I’m fine being known as myself. Plus, my stuff is motivational/positive so when my kids, like yours, become the world leaders they are destined to become (I wish this on all children ), they won’t be embarrassed by my rantings… ;-)

    • Tilly Bud August 20, 2011 at 09:23 #

      You have to pity my poor kids, don’t you…? :D

      I haven’t had much trouble with plagiarism; one of the benefits of being unknown, I guess :D

All comments are welcome, though compliments may result in you having your Malteser privileges revoked

Quickly's

Get loose. Try something different.

benzeknees

A frustrated writer, who is her own worst enemy

Edwina Currie Made Me Start This Blog

Don't get mad; get writing

this fragile tent

a blog about small beautiful things

epitaphsblog

The last word on celebrities

Gethsemane Seeds

Learning the way of Christ

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,066 other followers

