When Did Stockport Go Tropical?

19 Jan

First it was the loose cobra, then the kidnapped alligator and anaconda…now, Stockport has a wild cat on the roam.  Not a missing tabby or a feral kitten – ‘a large ‘mountain lion’ type animal’, seen in a local resident’s garden.  Read it here.

Experts dismiss it as a ‘melanistic savannah’.  No, I don’t know what that is, either, so I looked it up (hooray for free speech on the internet!).  Wikipedia tells me it:

 is a medium-sized African wild cat. DNA studies have shown that the serval is closely related to the African golden cat and the caracal.

I’m no wiser.  I guess free speech is overrated.

Here’s a picture of a serval from junglecats.com (quoting the source – better practice than just linking the picture to the original website: dull reading, but I hope it will keep me out of a yankee jail):

Doesn’t look meaner than any other cat, does it? 

I am reminded of my favourite cat quote.  I’ve shared it before, but cats have nine lives, and so do their quotes:

Cats were once worshipped as gods.  Cats have never forgotten this.

Wild cats on the loose in Stockport…I guess I should have stayed in South Africa; it’s probably safer there.  We emigrated from England to South Africa in 1982: first my Dad and younger brother; Mum and I followed six months later.  Mum was on the phone to Younger Brother just after he arrived:

Mum: So what’s it like?

YB: [Joking] Great!  I’m just watching the lions stroll down the street.

Mum: [Screams] [Incoherent babble about getting out of there now!] [Faints]

I could have that conversation with her today, from Widnes to Stockport, and it would be the same in its essentials.

Or maybe it would be me with the [Screams] [Incoherent babble] [Faints]: Mum’s been dead four years.

17 Responses to “When Did Stockport Go Tropical?”

  1. viv blake January 19, 2012 at 12:22 #

    Did it riouoar? You do live an exotic life in Stockport.

    • Tilly Bud January 19, 2012 at 12:23 #

      Crazy, isn’t it? Apparently, they can purr and miaow, so why not roar as well?

  2. misswhiplash January 19, 2012 at 13:46 #

    Looks like a pretty tame cuddly pussy to me

  3. creatingreciprocity January 19, 2012 at 14:51 #

    I don’t know – maybe girl prison isn’t so bad? I often think – longingly – of the peace and quiet. Someone else has to buy the groceries, cook the food etc – and all that peace and quiet? Is there something wrong with my life, do you think, that the idea of prison is attractive to me?
    Much more attractive than meeting a wild cat to be honest. Good luck with that.

    • Tilly Bud January 20, 2012 at 13:40 #

      Prison as an escape…it’s an option, I suppose :)

  4. gigihawaii January 19, 2012 at 15:43 #

    That wild cat is so pretty — all in purple.

  5. laurieanichols January 19, 2012 at 16:22 #

    Maybe you have an international exotic animal smuggling ring right in your backyard but the smugglers are lousy animal handlers because their animals keep escaping. That picture of the wild cat is very misleading as to the “wildness” of the cat. Be careful walking the streets of Stockport! It’s never boring.

  6. earlybird January 19, 2012 at 21:13 #

    More about Stockport please. As Viv says, I had no idea you lived in such exotic surroundings.

  7. slpmartin January 19, 2012 at 21:27 #

    Sounds like global warming is definitely affecting Stockport.

  8. Perfecting Motherhood January 20, 2012 at 06:43 #

    OK, this is the weirdest serval I’ve ever seen? Where did you find that picture? Every serval I’ve ever encountered (in contained spaces) was tan with black spots, with these very lage ears. They’re beautiful and look quite friendly, unlike what’s roaming up and down your streets.

    We have mountain lions here so we always want to be careful when hiking in the hills and mountains. They do hide but my sons’ school had a lockdown just before Christmas because a mountain lion was spotted just 5 minutes away from it. Spooky. And I thought I only had to worry about coyotes!

  9. Patti January 20, 2012 at 07:03 #

    Maybe the wild cat heard about the loose reptiles and wanted to do something about it. Over the summer something ate two thirds of a cat and left the remainder on my front lawn – I assumed it was a coyote, but maybe we have an African cat roaming around our neighborhood as well.

  10. Lorna's Voice January 20, 2012 at 18:24 #

    The whole world seems rather upside down these days…

  11. evilnymphstuff January 20, 2012 at 19:55 #

    LOL… well I love any cats!! :)

  12. eof737 January 20, 2012 at 23:20 #

    You are ridiculously funny! Just like what I say when people ask me about the African continent and my days living in West Africa… Yep, I can see a Rhino outside my window. Oops! There goes the leopard chasing the neighbor’s cat. Ugh! :lol:

All comments are welcome, though compliments may result in you having your Malteser privileges revoked

Quickly's

Get loose. Try something different.

benzeknees

A frustrated writer, who is her own worst enemy

Edwina Currie Made Me Start This Blog

Don't get mad; get writing

this fragile tent

a blog about small beautiful things

epitaphsblog

The last word on celebrities

Gethsemane Seeds

Learning the way of Christ

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,062 other followers

