Weekly Photo Challenge: Hope

1 Feb

This is me with Alfred, a work colleague of the Hub’s and our good friend, in South Africa, around 1987/8. 

It was taken at a works’ day out: local businesses would have a day competing in tournaments such as volleyball, football, that sort of thing.  I always watched.  Sport is not for me.  The massive braai (barbecue) afterwards always was, though.

Alfred left South Africa to see the world sometime after this photo was taken (obviously).  We lost touch.  I hope I see him again someday.

And I hope my glasses never come back into fashion.

40 Responses to “Weekly Photo Challenge: Hope”

  1. Sarchasm2 February 1, 2012 at 12:17 #

    Us South Africans are renowned for a full scale (Who gives a sh1t about cholesterol) kind of braai. Plenty of meat wine and side dishes.

    • viv blake February 1, 2012 at 12:43 #

      A South African friend in Seychelles used to make the most fabulous braais on the beach, by digging a hole, lighting a driftwood fire in it and putting the metal doormat over the top. My favourite was a whole bourgeois fish (red snapper) weighing about 2 kilos.

  2. granny1947 February 1, 2012 at 12:44 #

    Looks like you caught the sun there????

  3. Piglet in Portugal February 1, 2012 at 14:07 #

    It’s a shame when we lose touch. Love the glasses LOL were thy called bumble bee glasses?

    • Tilly Bud February 2, 2012 at 10:18 #

      I’ve never heard that expression before.

  4. laurieanichols February 1, 2012 at 14:47 #

    The glasses were kind of in the Jackie O style and that sunburn looked to have been painful. Barbeque anywhere in the world is fun, messy and really good.

  5. viv blake February 1, 2012 at 15:22 #

    Completely off topic, I have been instructed to tell you what Jock did yesterday. He went to the loo, unbuckling his belt as he went, only to discover another belt underneath it. There’s no accounting for folk. If I’d done that I wouldn’t tell a soul!
    He recounted this to my sewing group yesterday, prompting the response from very glamorous Liz that she normally wears trousers, so that on the odd occasion she wears a skirt, she’s been known to drop her skirt as she goes in to the loo.

    • Tilly Bud February 2, 2012 at 10:19 #

      The Hub and I had a good giggle at this :)

  6. nrhatch February 1, 2012 at 16:51 #

    OUCH!

    That sunburn looks sizzling hot.
    (The glasses do not.) ;)

  7. gigihawaii February 1, 2012 at 17:42 #

    You look so happy in that photo. Love the sun glasses!

  8. Gary Heap February 1, 2012 at 19:21 #

    Wow! Fantastic sunburn; I’m guessing that you could have cooked everything on the braaii on your left arm and left the right one for backup? Looks very painful though? If it’s any consolation most blokes wouldn’t have survived that kind of sunburn – you’ve heard of man-flu? Well man-burn is ten times worse; I once burnt my legs so badly on the beach in Tenby (Wales for the internationale amongst you) whilst burying four cans of Newcastle Brown Ale to keep them cool from the raging Sun. The upshot was third degree burns and all the hair dropped out of my legs (my first experience of being a ladyboy), I walked like Frankenstein for days on end (the rest of the holiday actually) and I cooked the Newcastle Brown – the cans were so hot I had to hold them in my swimming trunks when I emptied them out onto the sand! They were hotter than coffee. I hasten to add that I had a towel round my waist at the time to hide my (very) modesty. Keep the blog going – love it.

    • Tilly Bud February 2, 2012 at 10:21 #

      Glad you cleared up that last detail! :D

  9. SchmidleysScribbling February 1, 2012 at 19:31 #

    Wow. You are gorgeous. You remind me of the gal on ‘Outnumbered’ the British TV show. Dianne

    • Tilly Bud February 2, 2012 at 10:22 #

      Are you sure YOU don’t need glasses? This is a terrible photo of me :)

  10. kateshrewsday February 1, 2012 at 21:34 #

    I think you look lovely :-)

  11. 1stjoeyanna February 1, 2012 at 21:36 #

    Love it! And BTW bigger frames are coming back in style! Not 80′s looking though! I remember those days and those glasses. But I just recently bought my new pair of glasses, with bigger frames! LOL :)

    • Tilly Bud February 2, 2012 at 10:23 #

      I hate them. I don’t care how unfashionable I’ll be, I’ll never wear them again.

  12. barb19 February 1, 2012 at 23:41 #

    Love the sunnies but not the sunburn -ouch! Happy days Tilly!

  13. Pseu February 2, 2012 at 00:28 #

    big glasases are back… I was informed at the optician when we went for Cyclo’s glasses —-

  14. Gabrielle Bryden February 2, 2012 at 01:31 #

    Ah yes, the era of the big glasses ;)

  15. Gobetween February 2, 2012 at 04:54 #

    I still wear my big frame sunglasses because everything else I try is too uncomfortable. I hope that fate will cross your paths again.

  16. Cindy February 2, 2012 at 06:11 #

    Got news for you, those glasses are VERY in vogue again ;)

  17. speccy February 2, 2012 at 11:07 #

    I’m sure I had those very glasses.
    And sunburn as soon as I step outside.
    I feel your pain :)

  18. Lorna's Voice February 2, 2012 at 15:04 #

    I hope that sunburn didn’t hurt too much! ;)

  19. Patti February 2, 2012 at 18:28 #

    I had glasses that size – but my frames were purple. Much cooler than yours :-)

  20. eof737 February 3, 2012 at 05:30 #

    Honey, they are back in fashion big time… Haven’t you seen all the celebs in giant glasses? I love the photo… You look happy, hopeful and youthful. :-) Time sure flies.

    • Tilly Bud February 3, 2012 at 10:19 #

      Sigh. You got that right, at least ;)

  21. bluebee February 4, 2012 at 23:13 #

    If you still have the glasses, they’d be snapped up on eBay – very “in” at the moment

    • Tilly Bud February 5, 2012 at 12:38 #

      So everyone says. I don’t get it.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Weekly Photo Challenge: Hope « Flickr Comments by FrizzText - February 1, 2012

    [...] Weekly Photo Challenge: Hope (thelaughinghousewife.wordpress.com) Like this:Like76 bloggers like this post. [...]

  2. Not Over Yet: Weekly Photo Challenge (Hope) « aNTibaKTeRiYeL - February 2, 2012

    [...] Weekly Photo Challenge: Hope (thelaughinghousewife.wordpress.com) [...]

  3. Feel The Burn « The Laughing Housewife - February 2, 2012

    [...] comments on yesterday’s post seemed more concerned with my sunburn than my ugly glasses.  I hadn’t noticed the sunburn so [...]

  4. Weekly Photo Challenge: Hope « Mike Hardisty Photography - February 2, 2012

    [...] Weekly Photo Challenge: Hope (thelaughinghousewife.wordpress.com) [...]

  5. Weekly Photo Challenge: Hope For The Birds… | Mirth and Motivation - February 3, 2012

    [...] Weekly Photo Challenge: Hope (thelaughinghousewife.wordpress.com) [...]

  6. Weekly Photo Challenge: Hope « Hot chocolate and books - February 3, 2012

    [...] Weekly Photo Challenge: Hope (thelaughinghousewife.wordpress.com) [...]

All comments are welcome, though compliments may result in you having your Malteser privileges revoked

Quickly's

Get loose. Try something different.

benzeknees

A frustrated writer, who is her own worst enemy

Edwina Currie Made Me Start This Blog

Don't get mad; get writing

this fragile tent

a blog about small beautiful things

epitaphsblog

The last word on celebrities

Gethsemane Seeds

Learning the way of Christ

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,065 other followers

