Archive | 10:39

Here We Go Again…

24 Mar

I shouldn’t laugh, this is serious

Reading Viv’s rant this morning, I clicked on the link to the article she cited.  I’ll quote from the article:

I recently heard about the most astonishing corporate crime: the American company, Scotts Miracle-Gro, violated US federal environmental laws by manufacturing and selling poisoned birdseed for more than two years. The Scotts Miracle-Gro company entered guilty pleas to all charges in U.S. District Court.

As someone who feeds the birds in my garden, I am appalled.  In fact, as a human being I’m appalled.

Bushtits mass on a birdfeeder in Salem, Oregon.

Bushtits mass on a birdfeeder in Salem, Oregon. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Here’s why they did it:

…Scotts Miracle-Gro company added the pesticides, Storcide II and Actellic® 5E, to their wild bird feeds to prevent insects from consuming the products during storage.

[...]

According to the product label attached to Storcide II containers and Material Safety Data Sheet (MSDS) information accompanying this pesticide, it is toxic to fish, birds and wildlife. [My emphasis]

It seems that business, government, television, all public life is hacking away at our trust, one greedy decision at a time.

And why did I laugh?  Because my ageing eyes looked at the caption under the photo and mistakenly read:

A flock of bullshits.

*

If you would like to read a good news animal story, visit Barb, who is passionate about pets.

More Six Word Saturdays can be found here.

Joke 366

24 Mar

My husband tells me I’m a skeptic – but I don’t believe a word he says.

Quickly's Summer Cool

summer cool...and some are

benzeknees

A frustrated writer, who is her own worst enemy

Edwina Currie Made Me Start This Blog

Don't get mad; get writing

this fragile tent

a blog about small beautiful things

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,086 other followers

