Booking The Trend

13 Jul
Books

Books (Photo credit: henry…)

I have neglected you all this week.  I’m sorry.  I never call; I never write comments…it’s as if I’ve been busy with something other than blogging.

Ridiculous, I know.  But true.

I have been working on…I blush to admit it…I don’t know quite how to say it – if I say it, it has to be true and I have to do something with it other than work on it and talk about working on it and not read other blogs or answer comments because I’m working on it…

I have written a book.

There!  I said it!  Now I have to do something with it.

I am doing something with it.  This week, I have been working on my first re-draft.  I’m a thirteenth or fourteenth re-draft before I’m satisfied kinda girl, so it may take a while.  Each morning, when I should be visiting you and replying to you, I have been editing me.

I sort of wrote it two years ago, on my short-lived blog about living in South Africa during and after Apartheid; some of it was written before that, over many years.  It is in part a collection of poems (stop yawning at the back), but also a memoir (wake up, the rest of you).  I lived during an exciting period of history and it left me well-balanced and not a stress head and if you believe that, you haven’t been reading this blog for long.  The book is a catharsis.  Should be fun!

I intend to go down the e-publishing route because, if I’m honest, I can’t imagine a publisher wanting to buy it; why would they?  Apartheid is long dead and there’s no money in poetry.

However, I have this story in me that wants to be told.

I know many of you don’t read poetry, but I will share one you might enjoy; it may or may not make it into the final draft, but it will give you a flavour of the book’s tone.  Background: in 1994, just before the first free and fair South African election, a new flag was unveiled:

The Old Flag

Flag of South Africa, used between 1928 and 19...

Flag of South Africa, used between 1928 and 1994 known as the Oranje-Blanje-Blou. From the xrmap flag collection 2.9, with modifications by Denelson83. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

The New Flag

Flag of South Africa

Flag of South Africa (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

*

Let’s Hear It For The Bunting

*

Orange and

green must

no more

be seen.

What a

drag.

Raise your

cup as

they run

up our

new

Y-fronts

flag.

*

*

*

For the boxer generation – these are y-fronts:

Y fronts

Y fronts (Photo credit: stringberd)

50 Responses to “Booking The Trend”

  1. creatingreciprocity July 13, 2012 at 11:31 #

    Sounds good to me. Well done.

  2. speccy July 13, 2012 at 11:34 #

    Brilliant, Tilly. Good on you! I look forward to reading :)

  3. jmgoyder July 13, 2012 at 11:40 #

    Yes, yes, yes! Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful! Sorry for the repetition, repetition, repetition. Bravo, bravo, bravo!!!

  4. grannymar July 13, 2012 at 12:01 #

    Well done you. Stick in there and enjoy the moment when it is published.

  5. vivinfrance July 13, 2012 at 12:03 #

    About bloody time! If you can nag me about Annie, I can nag you about a sure-fire winner.
    And before you go down the self-publishing route, please may I email you some ideas about possible publishers – those workshops I’ve been doing have not been entirely useless! Not today though. I have the dreaded effort test to get through in less than two hours’ time. I’ve written a 6- haiku chain this morning in French, in which my principal metaphor is the personification of the cardiologist as an executioner. I have printed it on a card, with a picture and shall present it to him before he starts in the hope that he lets me off for good behaviour.

  6. idiosyncratic eye July 13, 2012 at 12:04 #

    Well done! :)

  7. The Wanderlust Gene July 13, 2012 at 12:20 #

    This is the most tremendous news Tilly. Bravo!

  8. granny1947 July 13, 2012 at 12:28 #

    I am SO impressed….good luck with the book…let us know the title.

  9. mairedubhtx July 13, 2012 at 13:03 #

    Congratulations on your book. I would read it, even your poetry. I’m sure I would find it interesting to read about your time in South Africa before and after the changes in that country. Again, congratulations. Amazon has a good e-publishing group (don’t know if they are international but probably are) that I am using called http://www.createspace.com. You might want to try them. Another blogger used them and his book has turned out quite nicely.

  10. sanstorm July 13, 2012 at 13:08 #

    Well done, Tilly- that’s great. Hope you get it to Market soon. Will certainly buy as I love your style. Brilliant news my dear. :-D

  11. laurieanichols July 13, 2012 at 14:46 #

    Fantastic! You should be proud, I wish you luck with the epublishing route, I hope that it goes well. I am very excited for you, soon perhaps I’ll be joining you when I finally finish my book.

  12. annie21livinginusa July 13, 2012 at 15:02 #

    Loved your poem……I was still in SA in 1994 when the new flag came out…..

  13. adinparadise July 13, 2012 at 15:03 #

    I absolutely love your poem, Tilly. ;) Good luck with your book. Lots of hard work, I’m sure, but so exciting for you now the end is in sight.

  14. gigihawaii July 13, 2012 at 15:23 #

    It’s great you have written a book! Way to go, Tilly. Let us know how we can purchase it. Good luck to you!

  15. misswhiplash July 13, 2012 at 16:16 #

    now that you mention it..yes..you have been missed…

    but it is good that you are putting your talent in a new direction ..that is what growing is all about.

    I am sure that it will be a great success…lots of love

  16. robincoyle July 13, 2012 at 18:05 #

    May I highly recommend a useful series written by a brilliant blogger on using Strong vs Weak words while you go about your editing process?

  17. robincoyle July 13, 2012 at 18:06 #

    Oh, and congrats of writing a book! Well done.

  18. Pseu July 13, 2012 at 18:35 #

    Put me on the pre-print order list please.

  19. Tinman July 13, 2012 at 18:38 #

    Congrats, Till. Put me on the order list too please.

    (The y-fronts poem is great, by the way)

  20. katharinetrauger July 13, 2012 at 18:54 #

    Wow. This poem demonstrates the flavor of the book — a humorous poetry book about apartheid? I would never have dreamed up such a mixture, for sure! ;-)
    Thanks, by the way,.for the explanation of the y-fronts. All my men wear ‘em, but here we call them tighty-whiteys. Can you believe that?! :-D
    Sure glad I know ya’! <3
    And congrats on finishing the first draft! That's much of the work behind you! Big congrats!

  21. McGuffyAnn July 13, 2012 at 19:04 #

    I am thrilled for you! I have a poetry book coming out this fall. Poetry is cathartic and so personal. I definitely will want a copy! It sounds important. Yay You!
    I also have a kid’s book coming out this fall. It’s exciting.
    I am just as excited for you.

  22. kateshrewsday July 13, 2012 at 20:35 #

    Tilly: impish poem, can’t wait to hear more about the book! Very exciting stuff!

  23. RoryBore July 14, 2012 at 02:20 #

    Personally, I love poetry and hope that it does not become a lost art.
    Firstly – congrats and good on ya!! Secondly, I would definitely read your book. My room mate in university was from South Africa and I find it so interesting. Also, I had a penpal (through my church missionary program) that was from Rhodesia – so you know how far back we are talking. All I remember is that I used to write letters to him – addressed to Rhodesia – then all of sudden he said address it to “Zimbabwe”; and then shortly after, I never heard from him again. I always wondered.
    Then, I saw Blood Diamond and thought, “Oh, he grew up and became Leo DiCaprio” :)

  24. Gabrielle Bryden July 14, 2012 at 02:54 #

    Yayayayayay! Good on you Tilly :) I’ll buy a copy and you can blog tour on my blog if you want! ps. never apologise for poetry ;)

  25. Kay's Musings July 14, 2012 at 03:28 #

    Good for you, Tilly Bud! That’s fabulous!

  26. judithatwood July 14, 2012 at 03:29 #

    I can’t wait to read your book!

  27. Helen Cherry July 16, 2012 at 10:31 #

    Just catching up Tilly and well done you !!! keep redrafting but not for too long !

  28. sarsm July 17, 2012 at 16:22 #

    Fantastic, Tilly. I’m really proud of you!!!!!

All comments are welcome, though compliments may result in you having your Malteser privileges revoked

The Cvillean

The adventures of little read writing Hood

Guernsey Evacuees Oral History

An Overlooked British Evacuation

Janie's Place

Welcome to the Great White North....

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,110 other followers

