Readers Say The Darndest Things

23 Nov

I don’t know if you read all of the comments on this blog, but they are often better than the posts.  My readers are a funny lot.

Yesterday, Charlie from Read Between The Minds left a You Tube clip for me to watch.  

I’ve never heard of Art Linkletter, who had a show called Kids Say The Darndest Things.  Spud, however, was on a British version called Michael Barrymore’s Kids Say The Funniest Things.  Sadly, there’s no tape of it: the show was recorded in February, along with a whole series, but never shown because there was a terrible scandal that summer, when a man died at Barrymore’s home.  The scandal ended Barrymore’s career.

The clip Charlie left is from 1959.  I cried with laughter.  

I’ll tell you my two favourite quotes after the video, because I don’t want to spoil it for you.

I loved the little girl who said that ‘Adam and Eve had a whole mess o’ babies,’ because she’s just the cutest thing I’ve ever seen.

And I love the logic of the little boy who told us that God’s punishment on Eve for causing all the trouble was to make her ‘a housewife.’  Out of the mouths of babes…

Thanks for a huge laugh, Charlie.

 

33 Responses to “Readers Say The Darndest Things”

  1. Karen Snyder November 23, 2012 at 15:20 #

    Art Linkletter (and many others long gone) was a household staple when I was growing up. It was a time of much greater innocence and gentle smiles.

  2. slpmartin November 23, 2012 at 16:54 #

    Glad you enjoyed those my friend.

  3. terry1954 November 23, 2012 at 17:32 #

    I always watched that show, and secretly always wanted to be a guest on it. I was saddened when the show went off the air. all the kids were so darn cute with their remarks!

  4. gigihawaii November 23, 2012 at 18:10 #

    too funny! I used to love Art Linkletter’s kids show.

  5. Three Well Beings November 23, 2012 at 18:20 #

    I grew up with this show, Tilly, and Art Linkletter was a staple in our homes. I think for several decades he was revered as such a wonderful, beloved personality. He lived to a ripe old age, and just before he died I spied him at Disneyland, in a wheel chair, pushed by his family. It was kind of a special moment for me because I had always really admired him. The Kids Say the Darndest Things part of his show were always memorable. I watched the whole seven minutes of the clip you shared and laughed as hard as I did the first time! What a nice smile, so thank you!

  6. Elaine - I used to be indecisive November 23, 2012 at 18:47 #

    My favourite was also the one about making Eve a housewife! Ah, the innocence of those days… I don’t think it’s quite the same now.

  7. Musings November 23, 2012 at 18:59 #

    Off topic here, but I wanted to be sure to answer the question you asked me about brining a turkey. Here’s the response I put on my blog:

    Hi TillyBud,
    Here’s a link to brining your turkey:

    http://savorysweetlife.com/2010/11/how-to-brine-a-turkey/

    I didn’t use so much sugar though. I put 1 cup sugar and 1 cup salt into 8 cups of water and cooked it until it dissolved. Then I added the brine to a gallon of cold water. I then got a huge stock pot, poured in the brine, then the turkey after removing all the neck, gizzards, etc. Then I stuck the whole thing into the fridge overnight.

    I see now by looking at other recipes that I could have added more sugar. Hmmm… maybe next year.

  8. viveka November 23, 2012 at 19:15 #

    I remember those programs … they were so good – the kids were priceless – and Michael was so good with them. How are things with Michael now ????

    • Tilly Bud - The Laughing Housewife November 26, 2012 at 13:00 #

      He is never heard from any more. He was on Celebrity Big Brother a few years ago but never managed to relaunch his career.

      • viveka November 26, 2012 at 13:20 #

        What a pity … really like the guy – he are so funny, but after the murder at his house – it is not easy to come back again.

  9. viveka November 23, 2012 at 19:22 #

    My favorite is the … girl that was told to keep her legs togeter. Brilliant.

  10. laurieanichols November 23, 2012 at 21:48 #

    I loved Art Linkletter. He also sponsored a set of encyclopedia’s specifically for kids. I read all of them from A to Z cover to cover. He was a tremendous man.

  11. barb19 November 23, 2012 at 22:22 #

    The video is absolutely brilliant, those kids’ comments had me rolling on the floor -thanks for a good laugh! Kids do say the darndest things!

  12. adinparadise November 23, 2012 at 23:54 #

    What a hilarious show, Tilly. :lol:

  13. benzeknees November 24, 2012 at 00:04 #

    I never appeared on Art Linkletter although we watched it every week, so how did he get a picture of me (the one of the little girl who says she’ll be a nun)?

  14. Molly B and Me November 24, 2012 at 05:09 #

    I have heard of Art Linkletter and I really appreciate the chuckle. Thanks to you and to Charlie.

  15. Grannymar November 24, 2012 at 10:33 #

    Brilliant and hilarious!

  16. Pseu November 24, 2012 at 12:10 #

    I loved it… but our internet connection is so slow I had to watch it in short sections…..

    When I was a children’s nurse I loved asking open ended questions of children to find out what they were really thinking. Very revealing.

    • Tilly Bud - The Laughing Housewife November 26, 2012 at 13:02 #

      If you remember any, give us a post.

      • Pseu November 26, 2012 at 20:17 #

        I think I told one story a little while back: about a child after surgery he’d had to ‘put a little tube in’ (he had high pressure in the brain). I had to take down his IV (drip) and he got so terribly upset. So I stopped and we chatted a while and it turned out that he thought the tube I was planning to take out of his arm was the one they had put in in theatre… that I’d be undoing his surgery. After a proper explanation he was happy for me to take out the tube. Imagine his distress if I hadn’t stopped to ask him what was bothering him.

  17. Perfecting Motherhood November 26, 2012 at 08:03 #

    I hear these things at my house every day! Kids do say the darndest things.

  18. judithatwood November 27, 2012 at 03:29 #

    I remember this show — we got back from Turkey in Feb. 1970, (where there was no TV,) and Mom let us listen and watch. We giggled at all of the kids’ sayings, but I don’t think I understood how funny some were. Thanks for the happy reminder!

  19. eof737 December 5, 2012 at 09:27 #

    I’ve heard of the show but never saw it… Yes… very funny! :-)

All comments are welcome, though compliments may result in you having your Malteser privileges revoked

Guernsey Evacuees Oral History

An Overlooked British Evacuation

Janie's Place

Welcome to the Great White North....

Quickly in September

Her Bad Hare Days

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,110 other followers

