Two Conversations From My Past

3 Jan

Fresh out of ideas, I offer two re-posts from January 2011.

 

I silenced a teenager.

Spud came in from school and as usual didn’t listen to a thing I said (okay, it was all orders; but that’s not the point, is it?).  I followed him into the lounge and started that forced-out panting pregnant women do.

Spud:  What are you doing?

Mum:  Wasting my breath.

Spud:  Why?

Mum:  Thought I might as well carry on what I started, because I wasted it telling you to turn the hall light off.

Spud:  … … …

A small victory, but I’ll take them where I can get them.

 

The Hub silenced me

Hub: I’ll have to pop up to the shops; I need some Aeros.

Me:    Aeros?

Hub: Yes, Aeros.

Me:  Why do you need Aeros?

Hub: For the fish.

Me:   You can’t feed chocolate to the fish!

Hub: Not Aeros, you wally.  Air.  Hose.

35 Responses to “Two Conversations From My Past”

  1. jmgoyder January 3, 2013 at 10:55 #

    I hadn’t seen these before – great!

  2. bevchen January 3, 2013 at 11:13 #

    Aeros. Haha. :-)

  3. Elaine - I used to be indecisive January 3, 2013 at 12:07 #

    Hee hee! The air hose one reminds me of the Two Ronnies sketch about the four candles…

  4. vivinfrance January 3, 2013 at 13:05 #

    I shall use that one on Jock! He never listens.

  5. McGuffyAnn January 3, 2013 at 13:09 #

    Good ones, both of them!

  6. misswhiplash January 3, 2013 at 14:08 #

    one point for Tilly
    one point for Hub

  7. lenwilliamscarver January 3, 2013 at 15:03 #

    I truly believe that on the day we say our ‘I do’s’ a switch in the ear drum begins turning towards the off position in our husbands, as the years go by, that little switch turns a little more to the off position until alas they conquer the “What, what , what did you say” or the blank faced “didn’t hear at all tune out” expression!!!

  8. laurieanichols January 3, 2013 at 15:16 #

    Comedy of errors! Aeros, air hose, hee, hee.

  9. mairedubhtx January 3, 2013 at 15:34 #

    I am laughing hysterically…

  10. gigihawaii January 3, 2013 at 15:37 #

    haha. I can tell your family gets a barrel of laughs every day all because of you! What fun!

  11. Al January 3, 2013 at 16:02 #

    I hadn’t heard of Aeros before but I’m going to go out on a limb and say they probably don’t hold a candle to Maltesers….would that be accurate?

  12. Karen Snyder January 3, 2013 at 16:17 #

    “…that forced-out panting pregnant women do.” How clever — wish I’d known that ploy when it would have been useful! Now that my boys are in their 40’s, I doubt it would have much effect! :)

  13. Food Stories January 3, 2013 at 17:23 #

    Cool – Your repost was new to me – Happy New Year!

  14. SchmidleysScribbling January 3, 2013 at 17:24 #

    You would probably be wasting your breath but tell Spud I love this photo. He has a very nice smile.

    I see your hearing is going too. Dianne

  15. Three Well Beings January 3, 2013 at 17:44 #

    I like your response to Spud! I could use that one with my husband. He wouldn’t hear me say it, but I’d feel better!

  16. kiwidutch January 3, 2013 at 19:29 #

    Aeros! Love it and giggled out loud too!

  17. Grannymar January 3, 2013 at 20:26 #

    Aeros. Air Hose. That puts you in the same league as the two Ronnies!

  18. Katharine Trauger January 3, 2013 at 20:45 #

    Ha. Serves you right for living where they drop the “h”! ;-)

  19. Rorybore January 3, 2013 at 20:58 #

    LOL. And my new goal in 2013 is to call someone a “wally”. can’t wait!

  20. eof737 January 4, 2013 at 06:29 #

    I haven’t had those in ages… Aeros that is.. As for Spud… well. :lol:

  21. viveka January 4, 2013 at 15:12 #

    This … is a great one !!!!!

  22. Robyn January 4, 2013 at 21:42 #

    These are both so funny!! I will have to try the first with my kids! Happy New Year!

  23. benzeknees January 5, 2013 at 02:43 #

    I love Aero & would make special trip to the shops for it. But of course not as good as Maltesers.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Reflections: You Yourself Must Change It… | Mirth and Motivation - January 4, 2013

    [...] even in the smallest way. Thank You to my top five commentators for 2012: Bree, Frizztext, Tilly Bud, Granbee and Three Well Beings  and thank you all who supported this blog (proper thanks in future [...]

  2. Reflections: You Yourself Must Change It… | The Blog Farm - A Growing Blog Community - January 15, 2013

    [...] hope… even in the smallest way. Thank You to my top five commentators for 2012: Bree, Frizztext, Tilly Bud, Granbee and Three Well Beings  and thank you all who supported this blog (proper thanks in future [...]

All comments are welcome, though compliments may result in you having your Malteser privileges revoked

Guernsey Evacuees Oral History

An Overlooked British Evacuation

Janie's Place

Welcome to the Great White North....

Quickly in September

Her Bad Hare Days

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,108 other followers

