I Was Accidentally On Telly

8 Mar
Why is it that the vast majority of sycamores ...

Why is it that the vast majority of sycamores cannot grasp even the most basic economic principles? (Photo credit: one percent for the planet)

Many years ago, that was; I’m not referring to my most recent appearance, in the audience of the first leaders’ debate during the 2010 General Election campaign: blink and you missed me.

I was reminded of my week on telly by yesterday’s prompt about a surreal experience.  It’s quite a long story so go and have your wee first.

I’m a big fan of saving the planet.  I’m in favour of breathable air, water for all and not buying a new thing until the old thing dies, is dismantled and the parts used for shelves, dusters and magazine holders.  My tea caddies are old coffee jars, so I practise what I preach.

In 2001 Stockport council sent out questionnaires asking what residents did in the way of being green.  I told them.  In detail.

Reserved: Hybrid vehicles only

Reserved: Hybrid vehicles only (Photo credit: kevin dooley)

A couple of months later they contacted me and asked if our family would be willing to take part in their upcoming Cleaner, Greener campaign.  ‘Sure,’ I said.  We were interviewed and photographed for a brochure and invited to the campaign’s launch at the art gallery in January 2002.  I wore a dressy frock purchased in a charity shop for £3; the boys wore hand-me-downs and the Hub a favourite old jacket. We looked very smart when we were presented as Stockport’s Greenest Family.

I was interviewed for Radio Manchester or something like that.  I’ll be honest, I was flattered but incoherent.  When the producer asked what kind of thing I do to save the planet, I babbled on about washing on cold and folding wet washing and only ironing one side, but not necessarily in that order and interspersed with more than the necessary number of ums, ahs and ers.  I can still see her resigned smile and hear the click of the delete button as I turned away.

Material Wealth. Fear of Loss

Material Wealth. Fear of Loss (Photo credit: HikingArtist.com)

There was a small article in the Stockport Express and that, I thought, was that.  We’d had the fun of a cultural night out at the art gallery.  So cultural, I thought the refreshments were a modern art display until the guests attacked them. We ate our fill, drank expensive swill (Cleaner, Greener but not Cheaper, Cheaper) went home and thought nothing more of it.  

Until the day the phone rang and I had a moment of entelechy.

You know what?  This is such a long story, I think I’ll leave it there for now. More tomorrow!

*

Yesterday’s word was, of course dacnomania:  an obsession with killing, often by biting.  That explains my Twilight fixation.

28 Responses to “I Was Accidentally On Telly”

  1. vivinfrance March 8, 2013 at 13:21 #

    I could do with some of that vital force right now. Unfortunately, I don’t read much Aristotle.

    Like

    • The Laughing Housewife March 8, 2013 at 13:26 #

      Are we reading the same post?

      Like

      • vivinfrance March 8, 2013 at 17:25 #

        Wiki definition: 1. In the philosophy of Aristotle, the condition of a thing whose essence is fully realized; actuality.

        2. In some philosophical systems, a vital force that directs an organism toward self-fulfillment.

        Like

  2. sharechair March 8, 2013 at 13:26 #

    What? You’re leaving us there? Such a tease, you are.

    Like

  3. mairedubhtx March 8, 2013 at 14:53 #

    entelechy–spell-check recognizes this although I certainly don’t. What the dickens is it? Your post on green was interesting, though. Very environmentally friendly.

    Like

  4. colonialist March 8, 2013 at 15:20 #

    You lead us along until we are following eagerly like chickens when the feed-bin is carried, we get to the part where the feed is about to be scattered, and then what happens? You slam the lid and go back inside! I protest!

    Like

  5. laurieanichols March 8, 2013 at 15:50 #

    You tease! I of course will be back tomorrow. I like the word. I think that Aristotle must have felt pretty cool coining a new word like entelechy. The condition of a thing whose essence is fully realized. I hope that thing includes person because I think that it would be nice if everyone could be in a state of entelechy. 🙂

    Like

  6. SidevieW March 8, 2013 at 17:02 #

    Can i leave for a pee before the next episode?

    Like

  7. slpmartin March 8, 2013 at 17:55 #

    Oh…now was just mean…it was like watching one of those old tv series where the announcer comes on at the end and says “Tune in next week for the exciting conclusion of……a Day in the Life of Tillly.” Hmm…wonder if there’s a tv series in this idea?

    Like

  8. slpmartin March 8, 2013 at 17:55 #

    Oops…should read…”Oh…now that was just mean!…”

    Like

  9. Al March 8, 2013 at 18:14 #

    I’ve heard that calamine lotion, illiberally applied, will help with the entelechy.

    Like

  10. Elaine - I used to be indecisive March 8, 2013 at 18:46 #

    Looking forward to part two, and the next new word to add to my vocabulary. 🙂

    Like

  11. viveka March 8, 2013 at 20:27 #

    I knew there was more to you – than jokes and a pretty face. I love your stands. We need a greener and cleaner world.
    We, Swedes, are well trained in saving the planet .. water, waste and air- very proud over what Sweden has done and doing. 30 years ago we have start to separate waste at McDonalds .. I think that was the start of it. I think I will do a post about it. Wish you and Hub a great weekend.

    Like

  12. siggiofmaine March 8, 2013 at 20:41 #

    Can’t wait…I actually rated this because I DO want to hear what happened next enough that I should remember to look for the post bright and early !
    Do you change your clocks for Daylight Savings time this weekend ? Oh weekend…early
    Happy Mother’s Day. I read that it was Sunday. If I’m wrong, which often I am, Happy “Day” any way !
    Peace and love

    Like

  13. terry1954 March 8, 2013 at 23:40 #

    WOW! I am so proud of what you do!!!

    Like

  14. robincoyle March 8, 2013 at 23:45 #

    You big tease. Not fair. Finish the bloody story!

    Like

  15. benzeknees March 9, 2013 at 08:51 #

    Entelechy? I guess you figured out you could work an f-word into the rest of the story, right?

    Like

  16. adinparadise March 9, 2013 at 09:25 #

    The account of your interview reminded me of Kermit’s song, “It ain’t easy being green.” 😀

    Like

  17. lanceleuven March 9, 2013 at 19:26 #

    Now there’s a cliff hanger if I ever saw one. Thankfully I’m reading a day late so I can catch part two straight away!

    Like

  18. bluebee March 16, 2013 at 01:54 #

    “entelechy” I’ve read the definition and I still don’t understand it. Am trusting “more tomorrow” will enlighten me.

    Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Telly, Part Two | The Laughing Housewife - March 9, 2013

    […] I Was Accidentally On Telly (thelaughinghousewife.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

  2. How To Get On Television – A True Story | The Laughing Housewife - March 10, 2013

    […] I Was Accidentally On Telly (thelaughinghousewife.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

  3. The Telly Chronicles, Part Four | The Laughing Housewife - March 11, 2013

    […] I Was Accidentally On Telly (thelaughinghousewife.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

I welcome your comments but be warned: I'm menopausal and as likely to snarl as smile. Wine or Maltesers are an acceptable bribe; or a compliment about my youthful looks and cheery disposition will do in a pinch.