Somebody’s Pulling My Leg

5 Aug

You may remember my post of the day before yesterday; if you don’t, you’ll need to refresh your memory here to make sense of today’s post.

I received the following email in response (and thanks also to Jim, for his excellent suggestion in the comments section):

Hi
My friend informed me that you may have lost a wooden leg?  If this is to be true then you may be in luck.
Please see the below picture.  I came across this wooden leg whilst shopping in Morrison’s.  It was left next to a shopping trolley outside the disables toilets.
I am somewhat of a wooden leg enthusiast   and I  know a wooden leg when I see one.  I have a huge collection and would love the opportunity to discuss swapping your wooden leg for a more comfortable up to date design.
I do hope to hear from you soon.


Photo of wooden leg against blue background 
Kindest Regards
 
Shirley Bumtruffle

Best laugh of the day!  Thank you, Ms Bumtruffle.

5 Responses to “Somebody’s Pulling My Leg”

  1. Jim Palmer August 5, 2010 at 22:19 #

    The coincidences building up on this site have my gast well and truly flabbered.
    The wholly unsolicited e-mail you featured had me scrutinising my genealogical antecedents (illegal in some areas, consult an A to Z if unsure).
    If your contactee is of the Davenport Bumtruffles I think they may be a distant relative of a friend’s acquaintance. How’s that for a small world?

    • tillybud August 8, 2010 at 11:44 #

      I suspect they are of the Cheadle Bumtruffles. Or is that the Beadle Trumchuffles?

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Ezine Article Writing Tips – The Best Person To Proofread Your Articles - August 9, 2010

    [...] Somebody Needs To Teach …Somebody To Love Queen DJ Allyn – The Soundtrack for my LifeSomebody's Pulling My Leg The Laughing HousewifeCan somebody here tell me how to find substance abuse treatment …Somebody (My first ever guest [...]

  2. toddler boy clothing : Am I a horrible daughter? - September 21, 2010

    [...] Somebody’s Pulling My Leg « The Laughing Housewife [...]

  3. I’ve Learned A New Word « The Laughing Housewife - December 6, 2010

    [...] revenge for his latest trick.  Do you remember my wooden leg post?  You may also remember I had a response from a Shirley Bumtruffle: he confessed the other day that she ’twas indeed he.  I [...]

All comments are welcome, though compliments may result in you having your Malteser privileges revoked

Quickly's

Get loose. Try something different.

benzeknees

A frustrated writer, who is her own worst enemy

Edwina Currie Made Me Start This Blog

Don't get mad; get writing

this fragile tent

a blog about small beautiful things

epitaphsblog

The last word on celebrities

Gethsemane Seeds

Learning the way of Christ

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,062 other followers

