I Love Coincidences

13 Mar

Coincidences: A Lincoln - JF Kennedy

 

      

This is from one of those emails doing the rounds.  I don’t know how much of it is true but I’m sure the facts are verifiable.  I love coincidences and I thought I’d share it in case you do too.  Stop me if you’ve heard it. 

*

Abraham Lincoln was elected to Congress in 1846.
John F. Kennedy was elected to Congress in 1946.

Abraham Lincoln was elected President in 1860.
John F. Kennedy was elected President in 1960.

Both were particularly concerned with civil rights. 
Both wives lost children while living in the White  House.

Both Presidents were shot on a Friday.
Both Presidents were shot in the head.

Lincoln’s secretary was named Kennedy.
Kennedy’s secretary was named Lincoln 

Both were assassinated by Southerners.
Both were succeeded by Southerners.
Both were succeeded by Southerners named Johnson.

Andrew Johnson, who succeeded Lincoln, was born in 1808.
Lyndon Johnson, who succeeded Kennedy, was born in 1908. 

John Wilkes Booth, who assassinated Lincoln, was born in  1839.
Lee Harvey Oswald, who assassinated Kennedy, was  born in  1939.

Both assassins were known by their three names.
Both names are composed of fifteen letters.

Lincoln was shot at the Ford theatre.
Kennedy was shot in a Ford Lincoln.

Lincoln was shot in a theatre and his assassin ran and hid in a warehouse.
Kennedy was shot from a warehouse and his assassin ran and hid in a theatre.

Booth and Oswald were assassinated before their trials.

A week before Lincoln was shot, he was in Monroe, Maryland.
A week before Kennedy  was shot, he was with Marilyn Monroe. 

12 Responses to “I Love Coincidences”

  1. gigihawaii March 13, 2011 at 16:44 #

    Wow! That is incredible!!! Gives me the chills.

    Like

  2. nrhatch March 13, 2011 at 17:13 #

    Oh, I did this one a while back:

    http://nrhatch.wordpress.com/2010/08/31/a-history-mystery/

    I recommend the Snopes article and comment thread.

    Enjoy!

    Like

  3. theonlycin March 13, 2011 at 18:05 #

    Co-inky-dinks, I love them too 🙂

    Like

    • Tilly Bud March 14, 2011 at 11:04 #

      I nearly called this post ‘I Love Coinkydinks’ – coincidence? I think not. Scary noises in the background.

      Like

  4. kateshrewsday March 13, 2011 at 21:53 #

    That’s quite a comparison, Tilly!

    Like

    • Tilly Bud March 14, 2011 at 11:07 #

      Yes, but it’s not mine. I’ve been reading bits of them for years.

      Like

  5. vivinfrance March 14, 2011 at 00:23 #

    What a fantastic chain of coincidence. I knew a lot of them, but not all, and listed together as you have done they are all the more impressive.

    Like

  6. earlybird March 14, 2011 at 07:08 #

    goodness me! that’s a lot of facts for first thing on a Monday morning! Fascinating put together like that.

    Like

I welcome your comments but be warned: I'm menopausal and as likely to snarl as smile. Wine or Maltesers are an acceptable bribe; or a compliment about my youthful looks and cheery disposition will do in a pinch.

