Five Children And Eat

19 Mar

Yesterday was a success.  Got the house all cleaned up and a pancake stack as high as me ready for five hungry lads (though they didn’t look anything like this photo: think flat moons with scabby knees).  I had the table laid ready for them and snacks set aside to take upstairs when they were done – teenage boys needing to be fed two-hourly, like newborns.  Such lovely boys they are, though; so I didn’t mind.

Pancake-making is dull work and takes forever.  I didn’t want the boys sitting in the kitchen with me, making forced conversation and eating one at a time, so I was cunning: I have three frying pans; I used them all at once.  I poured and flipped (I am a good flipper; it’s all in the wrist) and stacked at three times my usual pace.  I even thought to warm the pancake plate in the microwave beforehand.  Entertaining is hard work but I was happy to do it for those nice boys.

I was able to forgive them for the way they trashed Spud’s room.  He cleans his own room so it’s not like I have a stake in it.  They pulled out his toys that he hasn’t yet gotten around to donating, and seemed to have most fun with the electric shock finger-war game and his plastic rifle.  Boys will be boys will be five-year olds.

When the noise from upstairs started to hurt our ears, Hub and I went grocery shopping.  The boys had gone out to play football when we got home, so I waited until they were back before walking the dogs.  I might be a lousy housekeeper but I have my wits about me, and I know how to avoid guests who overstay their welcome.

We were half way through the walk when the Hub phoned to say his nephew & family had arrived for a visit.  Once they left it was time to say goodbye to the home wreckers from the first floor: nasty, dirty boys.  I don’t know what Spud sees in them and he needn’t bother asking them again.

Spud told me they all thought they were the best pancakes they’d ever tasted.  I never heard that about my cooking before.  What lovely, polite friends he has.  They are welcome back any time.

22 Responses to “Five Children And Eat”

  1. vivinfrance March 19, 2011 at 14:33 #

    Mums have their uses. A lovely post.

    Like

  2. slpmartin March 19, 2011 at 16:46 #

    Those lads could go into politics. 😉

    Like

    • Tilly Bud March 19, 2011 at 22:35 #

      Don’t put ideas into their heads! We’ve already got one child going into that arena; we don’t want any more shame on the family.

      Like

  3. earlybird March 19, 2011 at 17:18 #

    go on – tell us – did you have to clean the house again? 😉

    Like

    • Tilly Bud March 19, 2011 at 22:36 #

      Weeeeell, I cleared away the table once they’d finished. Does that count?

      Like

  4. granny1947 March 19, 2011 at 17:39 #

    Hehehe…you are a glutton for punishment…and you couldn’t figure out a way to avoid the second wave of visitors?

    Like

    • Tilly Bud March 19, 2011 at 22:39 #

      I was fifteen minutes away from the house and not expecting them, so no chance. But I didn’t mind: they have the most beautiful toddler in the world and he wanted his birthday present and he loved it, so everyone was happy.

      Like

  5. nrhatch March 19, 2011 at 18:59 #

    I loved how your impression of them changed over the course of their visit.

    Our thoughts do play mind games with us, eh?

    Like

    • Tilly Bud March 19, 2011 at 22:41 #

      Weeell, I was stretching the truth a little for comic effect. I love having visitors. Though I do think some people don’t know when to leave. Usually it’s the boring ones.

      Like

    • nrhatch March 19, 2011 at 23:27 #

      I knew that you were being funny . . . but reality mirrors the change as you portrayed us.

      We like people better when THEY like us. 😀

      Like

  6. Cindy March 19, 2011 at 21:12 #

    In my neck of the woods, those are flapjacks?

    Like

    • Tilly Bud March 19, 2011 at 22:43 #

      Really? Woolworths sell them as pancakes. South Africans call crumpets muffins but Woolworths sell them as crumpets, so what does Woolworths know? Flapjacks here are oats in syrup.

      Like

  7. musings March 19, 2011 at 21:20 #

    We just saw something on TV about Shrove Tuesday. Isn’t this sort of perfect for that?

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Shrove_Tuesday

    Like

    • Tilly Bud March 19, 2011 at 22:45 #

      Yes, it is. So perfect, in fact, that Spud made me get up thirty minutes early on Shrove Tuesday to make him pancakes for breakfast. Do you celebrate Shrove Tuesday in the States?

      Like

      • musings March 20, 2011 at 08:23 #

        No, we don’t. Sounds like a lot of fun though. We saw this on TV. We also saw pancake races that you were all having. That sounded like a whole lot of fun.

        Like

  8. barb19 March 19, 2011 at 21:51 #

    You are a beggar for punishment!

    Like

    • Tilly Bud March 19, 2011 at 22:45 #

      I want my kids to visit me when they leave home; I’ll do anything to make them like me 🙂

      Like

  9. beckysefton March 20, 2011 at 00:17 #

    Those pancakes look so yummy! I haven’t had pancakes yet this year because my Nan’s on a diet – so it was a bit cruel to be cooking them with her in the house. I might have to come to yours for some pancakes 😉

    Like

    • Tilly Bud March 20, 2011 at 16:13 #

      You would be welcome 🙂 In the meantime, pop to the supermarket and buy some ready-made pancakes. Nice with sugar or syrup or toasted with butter or peanut butter.

      It’s no wonder I’m fat, is it?

      Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Meet Tilly . . . The Laughing Housewife « Spirit Lights The Way - July 24, 2011

    […] Her pancakes resemble scabby knees. […]

    Like

I welcome your comments but be warned: I'm menopausal and as likely to snarl as smile. Wine or Maltesers are an acceptable bribe; or a compliment about my youthful looks and cheery disposition will do in a pinch.

