Archive | 15:22

And The Winner Is…

29 Aug

My readers leave a lot of funny comments on this blog.  Stop it, will you!  You’re embarrassing me; I’m supposed to be the amusing one. 

I find it difficult to be funny back so, to circumvent my inadequacy, I am announcing the Comment of the Week Award, with a magnificent prize, to be known hereinafter as the CoWAbunger (TM) (Anybody know how to superscript?).

The magnificent prize is a photograph of a trophy/rosette/plaque of some kind, because I’m not made of money, you know.  All decisions are made by me, and are final unless a suitable bribe is offered.

The inaugural CoWAbunger (TM) (Anybody know how to superscript?) goes to someone who has shown consistency in her commenting ever since I’ve known her; but that’s not why she’s the winner.

Someone who speaks her mind so I’d better stay on the right side of her; but that’s not why she’s the winner.

Someone who already gets regular mentions in this blog (previous comment refers); but that’s not why she’s the winner.

Who I’ve already told in my reply to her comment that she gets Comment of the Week; that’s why she’s the winner, because she inspired it.  Oh, and her masterly response to my Weekly Photo Challenge: Up post.  That’s why she’s the winner.  That and the flattery, which I usually hate, as you know.  Honest.  But did I mention she was a straight talker, so it must be true that she loves me?

up
give
to
want
would
you
why
completely
understand
I
TillyB
post
this
about
everything
love
I

Here you go:

I have the feeling I’ve forgotten something…

…oh yes! 

And the Winner is…Nancy!    CoWAbunger! (TM) (Anybody know how to superscript?)

Unfortunately, Nancy couldn’t be here today to collect her award, because she lives on another continent.  I have a feeling that’s going to happen a lot.

*

You Don’t Get A Title Today

29 Aug
The Royal Liver building as seen from the Prin...

Image via Wikipedia

Hemingway once wrote a super short story: “For sale: baby shoes, never worn.”

What story can you write in six words?

Born.  Grew.  Wider.  Heart attack.  Died.

Do you prefer to lead or follow? Or linger in the middle and never fully commit to anything?

Yes.  No.  Maybe.

Have you been to where your parents were born?

Liverpool, houses or my Nans’ old beds?

When is it ok to lie?

When I’m tired.

*

I’m grumpy this morning; does it show?

*

Joke 158

29 Aug

Two students were discussing food.

“I got a cook book once,” said John.  “But I couldn’t do anything with it.”

“Too much fancy stuff in it, huh?” asked Mike.

“You said it,” John replied, nodding.  “Every one of those recipes began the same way: ‘Take a clean plate…’ ”