Weekly Photo Challenge: Self-Portrait

19 Dec

This is me, holding a copy of Best Of Manchester Poets 2; I have a poem in it: 

This is me, trembling with excitement at seeing my name on the first Contents page:

This is me, about to faint at seeing a poem of mine in print.  It’s not my first, but I always react like it is:

If you’d like to read the poem without going blind, pop over to my poetry blog, I’m Not A Verse.  It’s a little too bleak to post here.

New item on my Christmas List: photography lessons for me and/or interpreting spectacles for my readers.

 

35 Responses to “Weekly Photo Challenge: Self-Portrait”

  1. brahmineyes December 19, 2011 at 12:28 #

    Good job dear friend!

  2. creatingreciprocity December 19, 2011 at 12:31 #

    Well done – very good poem – sad not bleak.

  3. vivinfrance December 19, 2011 at 12:36 #

    I read the poem first – it’s not bleak, it is real. Next time get hub to hold the book!

    • Tilly Bud December 19, 2011 at 21:23 #

      Ah, but then it wouldn’t be a self-portrait…

  4. Debbie (@DebbieInLondon) December 19, 2011 at 12:52 #

    Congratulations! I love the poem.

  5. colonialist December 19, 2011 at 13:06 #

    Those are the handy sorts of self-portraits one would like to have a finger in very frequently! Sheer poetry!

  6. ceceliafutch December 19, 2011 at 13:18 #

    Congrats on the publication! AND, love the poem.

  7. jmgoyder December 19, 2011 at 13:18 #

    CONGRATULATIONS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1

  8. Janie Jones December 19, 2011 at 13:53 #

    How exciting!!!

  9. speccy December 19, 2011 at 14:34 #

    Congratulations, TillyBud. Great poem

  10. nrhatch December 19, 2011 at 14:44 #

    Wonderful . . . “self-portraits of poem publication.” :lol:

  11. laurieanichols December 19, 2011 at 14:46 #

    Congratulations! Your photo of when you see your name in print really captured the emotions,you are so witty.!

  12. nailingjellotoatree December 19, 2011 at 17:54 #

    Wahoo!!!!! You’re famous! I know someone famous! I’m so proud right now I could….er do something really exciting. Don’t know what. If i was a dog I’d lick myself but I’m not and I can’t bend that way. So slap yourself on the back and have some holiday spirit to celebrate.

    • Tilly Bud December 19, 2011 at 21:21 #

      I appreciate the sentiment, I think ;)

  13. earlybird December 19, 2011 at 18:24 #

    BRILLLIANT. I’m so proud of you. Well done. I’ve always liked the poem.

  14. Pseu December 19, 2011 at 19:22 #

    Marvellous stuff…

  15. Tilly Bud December 19, 2011 at 21:22 #

    Thanks everyone; I appreciate your good wishes. I love the blogging community for the way we cheer each other on :)

  16. thirdhandart December 20, 2011 at 01:07 #

    Congratulations! It’s very good poem that deserves publishing.

    • Tilly Bud December 20, 2011 at 13:19 #

      Thank you; and thank you for visiting.

  17. Gabrielle Bryden December 20, 2011 at 05:39 #

    Wow, congratulations and a very worthy poem :) Glad to see your blog has no more white holes in it (and hope it’s not infectious – whatever ailment that WordPress had ;) – I’m sure they weren’t out to get you – haha).

  18. Big Al December 20, 2011 at 06:59 #

    Congrats, Tilly Bud. Enjoyed the poem (no laughing housewife there). And you have a lovely thumb and pinkie if I may be so forward.

  19. Lorna's Voice December 20, 2011 at 14:58 #

    Bravo! Hip Hip Hurrah! And I’m entirely proud of you! :)

  20. Cindy December 21, 2011 at 05:06 #

    I am so proud to be your friend :)

    • Tilly Bud December 21, 2011 at 11:41 #

      No fair! I’m in a weakened state; you’ll make me blub.

  21. eof737 December 22, 2011 at 00:10 #

    Congratulations on your efforts Tilly! Well deserved… Have you fixed the problem with your blog? I was thinking it might have to so with this Holiday background you uploaded.. It makes it difficult to see your full blog and read much on the page…
    Happy Holidays! :-)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Weekly Photo Challenge: Self Portrait « Flickr Comments by FrizzText - December 19, 2011

    [...] Weekly Photo Challenge: Self-Portrait (thelaughinghousewife.wordpress.com) Like this:Like64 bloggers like this post. [...]

  2. Weekly Photo Challenge: Self Portrait | Stories of My Wandering Feet & Mind - December 20, 2011

    [...] Weekly Photo Challenge: Self-Portrait (thelaughinghousewife.wordpress.com) [...]

  3. 4 of me: Weekly Photo Challenge (Self Portrait) « aNTibaKTeRiYeL - December 20, 2011

    [...] Weekly Photo Challenge: Self-Portrait (thelaughinghousewife.wordpress.com) [...]

  4. Weekly Photo Challenge: Self Portrait.. | melonpopzdropz … - December 21, 2011

    [...] Weekly Photo Challenge: Self-Portrait (thelaughinghousewife.wordpress.com) [...]

  5. How to create an artsy self-portrait on iPhone « aNTibaKTeRiYeL - December 21, 2011

    [...] Weekly Photo Challenge: Self-Portrait (thelaughinghousewife.wordpress.com) [...]

  6. Weekly Photo Challenge: Self Portrait | dtharm - December 22, 2011

    [...] Weekly Photo Challenge: Self-Portrait (thelaughinghousewife.wordpress.com) [...]

  7. Weekly Photo Challenge: Self Portrait… | Mirth and Motivation - December 23, 2011

    [...] Weekly Photo Challenge: Self Portrait (thelaughinghousewife.wordpress.com) [...]

  8. Search Engine Poetry: The Laughing Housewife « beeblu blog - October 23, 2012

    [...] only has her poetic talent been showcased in poetry journals and other interesting places, but she’s also about to release what promises to be a very [...]

All comments are welcome, though compliments may result in you having your Malteser privileges revoked

Quickly's

Get loose. Try something different.

benzeknees

A frustrated writer, who is her own worst enemy

Edwina Currie Made Me Start This Blog

Don't get mad; get writing

this fragile tent

a blog about small beautiful things

epitaphsblog

The last word on celebrities

Gethsemane Seeds

Learning the way of Christ

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,065 other followers

