You’ve Got Lots Of Mail

8 Sep

This is my

two thousandth post!

Who knew there was that much daftness in the world?

Happy milestone to me!

According to ahajokes, these are some of the signs that we live in the 2000s:

  • Before you criticise someone, walk a mile in their shoes.  That way if they get angry they’ll be a mile away and barefoot.
  • A clear conscience is usually the sign of a bad memory.
  • My idea of housework is to sweep the room with a glance.
  • Not one shred of evidence supports the notion that life is serious.
  • I have found at my age going bra-less pulls all the wrinkles out of my face.
  • For every action there is an equal and opposite government programme.
  • A closed mouth gathers no foot.
  • If you look like your passport picture, you probably need the trip.
  • Bills travel through the mail at twice the speed of cheques.
  • Eat well – stay fit – die anyway.
  • Men are from earth.  Women are from earth.  Deal with it.
  • No husband has ever been shot while washing the dishes.
  • Junk is something you throw away three weeks before you need it.
  • There is always one more imbecile than you counted on.
  • Artificial intelligence is no match for natural stupidity.
  • Going to church doesn’t make you a Christian any more than going to a garage makes you a mechanic.
  • Experience is a wonderful thing.  It enables you to recognise a mistake when you make it again.
  • Thou shalt not weigh more than thy refrigerator.
  • Someone who thinks logically provides a nice contrast to the real world.
  • I believe the only time the world beats a path to my door is when I’m in the bathroom.
  • Blessed are they who can laugh at themselves for they shall never cease to be amused.

For more Six Word Saturdays, go here.

54 Responses to “You’ve Got Lots Of Mail”

  1. sarsm September 8, 2012 at 09:17 #

    Love it!

    Like

  2. grannymar September 8, 2012 at 09:30 #

    Such dedication, Congratulations! Now to the list

    ‘If you look like your passport picture, you probably need the trip.’

    I got the trip – so won’t be having passport photos taken for awhile – I’d hate the reminder of the scars for the next ten years!

    Like

  3. jmgoyder September 8, 2012 at 09:38 #

    Yeeha!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Like

  4. vivinfrance September 8, 2012 at 09:54 #

    😀 laughing so much that I can’t type properly. My favourite? The closed mouth gathering no foot! Congrats on the 2000 wonderful posts.

    Like

  5. Pseu September 8, 2012 at 10:28 #

    2000! Crikey.

    I have learned so much from my mistakes, I’ve been thinking of making a few more.

    Like

  6. viveka September 8, 2012 at 10:46 #

    Wonderful .. some of them I had read before .. but my favorite here is – Going to church doesn’t make you a Christian any more than going to a garage makes you a mechanic – how true isn’t that. Once again thanks for a big smile again. Just love coming around here.

    Like

  7. McGuffyAnn September 8, 2012 at 11:21 #

    Congratulations! I wish you & all of us many, many more! Thank you! Hugs!

    Like

  8. lanceleuven September 8, 2012 at 11:39 #

    Congratulations on the milestone! Love the list as well. 🙂

    Like

  9. SchmidleysScribbling September 8, 2012 at 12:11 #

    Congratulations and many many more I hope. Dianne

    Like

  10. granny1947 September 8, 2012 at 12:17 #

    2000!!! Well done…I haven’t even done one thousand yet.

    Like

  11. Ron. September 8, 2012 at 12:29 #

    Both ubiquitous and indispensible. Multiasseted.

    Like

  12. misswhiplash September 8, 2012 at 12:52 #

    2000 …well what can one say to that…..congratulations for a start…. and lots of love and affection is the next bit…well done TillyB..a lady of many words!!!! ( not that you talk too much)

    Like

  13. mairedubhtx September 8, 2012 at 13:19 #

    Congratulations on your 2,000th post. That is quite a milestone. Think of all the important information you have given to us in the past years. On the other hand, maybe not. But it is an achievement to be proud of.

    Like

  14. Stephanie September 8, 2012 at 13:31 #

    Congratulations! ‘A closed mouth gathers no foot’ Ain’t that the ever loving truth??

    Like

  15. laurieanichols September 8, 2012 at 13:42 #

    Congrats on the 2000th post! The first one is a killer, I outright belly laughed with that one. It felt great!

    Like

  16. Karen Snyder September 8, 2012 at 15:15 #

    Congratulations! Many truisms in this post. Love it!!

    Like

  17. 4joy September 8, 2012 at 15:47 #

    quite a milestone, indeed! and your ‘ahajokes’ are hilarious, and true!

    Like

  18. mlissabeth September 8, 2012 at 15:48 #

    Congratulations! I loved your post from the very first line.

    Like

  19. Jim September 8, 2012 at 16:02 #

    Am liking your Six, T.Bud. ~~ Also I like the very first line item from your the best. I was told once that if an angry driver gives you trouble just let him pass you and slow down a bit so that you don’t catch him/her. That way he will be a mile ahead very soon and out of your life!!

    Have a nice day,
    ..

    Like

  20. Judith Atwood September 8, 2012 at 16:12 #

    Yay, Tilly B.! 2000 — excellent milestone! Congratulations!

    Like

  21. Judy Loeffler September 8, 2012 at 16:18 #

    Congratulations on your milestone. I have never counted mine however have only been blogging since I retired. Loved your first remark. I have always said someone should walk in other people shoes. but never completed the sentence like you did. My grandmother also used to say “Those may be someone’s only pair of shoes”

    Like

    • Tilly Bud - The Laughing Housewife September 13, 2012 at 10:56 #

      Your grandmother was a nice woman.

      I didn’t count my posts – WordPress counted them for me. They’re good like that 🙂

      There’s no link to your blog so I’m sorry, I can’t return your visit.

      Like

  22. terry1954 September 8, 2012 at 17:05 #

    congratulations my friend. you always have great postings and am looking forward to many more!!!!

    Like

  23. Brenda Youngerman September 8, 2012 at 17:08 #

    congrats on the 2000th… holy toledo (why do people say that anyway?) that’s a lot of writing!
    So glad we ‘bumped’ into each other!
    Have a happy next 2000th

    Like

  24. RoryBore September 8, 2012 at 18:19 #

    Wow! that is awesome. Congrats.
    I just noticed that I did my 600th post! which also probably means I’ve had a blogaversary or two at some point — and did nothing about it. Imma bad mommy blogger.

    Like

  25. evilnymphstuff September 8, 2012 at 18:52 #

    Wow this is a great accomplishment! Congrats and keep it up 🙂

    Like

  26. restlessjo September 8, 2012 at 18:53 #

    Oh my! I’m just a whipper snapper. It’s the way you tell em, Tilly. Guaranteed at least one smile a day. Many congrats.

    Like

  27. Tonya Jastad September 8, 2012 at 19:26 #

    What a milestone! Congratulations! Looking forward to 2000 more!

    Like

  28. adinparadise September 8, 2012 at 20:20 #

    2000th post? Wow! I agree that it certainly does help to be able to laugh at oneself. 😀

    Like

  29. sharechair September 8, 2012 at 21:10 #

    wow wow …. congratulations!! 2000! wow!

    Like

  30. slpmartin September 8, 2012 at 23:31 #

    Really enjoyed these.

    Like

  31. benzeknees September 9, 2012 at 00:32 #

    I saw a couple of these before but a lot of them were new to me – do you mind if I re-post them on my blog, some of them are pearls of wisdom – like going to church & going to a garage.

    Like

  32. kateshrewsday September 9, 2012 at 08:03 #

    Tilly, congratulations! What an amazing milestone. And thank you for being the one with a joke on a glum morning, and a chat later on, every day. It is lovely to know you are always here with your inimitable take on life.

    Like

  33. Gobetween September 9, 2012 at 10:53 #

    Murphy’s law for sure. When you go to the bathroom all hell breaks loose. Lately I have a problem with whatever comes into my mind flies out of my mouth so this is going to be my new motto “A closed mouth gathers no foot.”

    Like

  34. Tinman September 9, 2012 at 19:56 #

    Congrats on the 2000, Till.

    My favourite of all of these, and so many of them are great, is the “men are from earth …” one.

    Like

  35. cherilynde September 9, 2012 at 23:07 #

    Congratulations! And, I’m not too proud to admit I’ve done a lot of glance sweeping myself!

    Like

  36. klrs09 September 10, 2012 at 01:42 #

    Congratulations! That’s a lot of posts.

    Like

  37. Perfecting Motherhood September 12, 2012 at 02:55 #

    Congratulations on your 2000th! And to 2000 more!

    Like

  38. Tilly Bud - The Laughing Housewife September 13, 2012 at 11:47 #

    Thank you, everyone, for the good wishes. I couldn’t have done it without you!

    Like

  39. eof737 September 14, 2012 at 14:46 #

    Happy Milestone to you! You have been busy… 😉

    Like

  40. Janie Jones September 16, 2012 at 00:02 #

    A belated congratulations!

    Like

I welcome your comments but be warned: I'm menopausal and as likely to snarl as smile. Wine or Maltesers are an acceptable bribe; or a compliment about my youthful looks and cheery disposition will do in a pinch.

