Snotty & Grotty

12 Oct

course of growth of a texture: (1) First cryst...

No, not the lawyers I have retained to sue every sniffler with whom I have come into contact over the last two weeks, including my beloved but disgustingly infectious family; not two of the original Nine Dwarves; not the opening line of a seasonal song.  Snotty and grotty is how I am feeling today.

That is despite my dear friend Pam leaving a gift bag of Vitamin C outside my front door.  She didn’t want to disturb my rest so she sent me a message to say it was there, when she got home.  My head was so mushy that I was delighted to read the email, but I didn’t think to open the front door and collect the bag until several hours later, once I’d had a nap.  Fortunately, the rain sweeping across the country to complement my streaming eyes and nose didn’t start until after I’d picked it up.  

The bag contained a bottle of orange juice, various citrus fruits and – thoughtfully – a bottle of hand sanitiser.

Viv wondered how I’m managing to blog when I’m so poorly.  Unfortunately, a nasty bug-come-head cold leaves one with a sort throat, spotty nose, banging headcase, temporary loss of blabber control, flirting teeth and much for brains, but there’s nothing wrong with my tiepin fingers, so I have no excuse not to bolg.  

I am here until further notice or until the Hub protests one too many times at having to clean the keyboard and monitor.

&

The answer to yesterday’s pictogram:

Eye ham still hill hand knot talking 2 ewe.

I am still ill and not talking to you.

Knot true, of course: I’ll be talking to you in court.

This may come as a surprise to you, my dear readers, but I am not particularly good at being ill.

 

28 Responses to “Snotty & Grotty”

  1. benzeknees October 12, 2012 at 09:43 #

    Feel better soon!

    Like

  2. vivinfrance October 12, 2012 at 10:34 #

    I’d noticed, that you’re not good at being ill, but you have some some wonderful friends, so you’ll be better soon if good wishes have anything to do with the price of fish..

    Like

    • Tilly Bud - The Laughing Housewife October 12, 2012 at 10:35 #

      I have the BEST friends 😀

      Like

  3. countingducks October 12, 2012 at 11:54 #

    What a nice friend, and I admire your will power in continuing to Blog through the lurgi. It shows that character and health are not the same thing

    Like

    • Tilly Bud - The Laughing Housewife October 13, 2012 at 11:11 #

      Though sometimes they can be connected – I am convinced that ME is an illness brought on by character – i.e. my husband worked himself into getting it 🙂

      Like

  4. barb19 October 12, 2012 at 12:01 #

    You have some good friends Tilly. Hope you’re feeling better soon!

    Like

  5. laurieanichols October 12, 2012 at 12:28 #

    As you well know I feel your pain and it is therapeutic to type away about how awful you feel and how lovely people are when they are taking care of you.You know the drill; rest, plenty of fluids, chicken noodle soup and the pain relievers when needed. Feel better Tilly.

    Like

  6. kiwidutch October 12, 2012 at 13:31 #

    Our friends from Germany swear by raw onions as a great cold remedy… no, you don’t have too eat them raw…
    …just roughly chop a decent sized raw onion into cubes and place cut sides facing up, in a small dish as close to your pillow as you can… the “aroma” from the onion helps keep your nose less snotty when you lay down to sleep.
    Yep the room will be perfumed with “au de l’oignon”… but apparently it works !

    Hoping you get better soonest!!!!

    p.s. Thank You for your LOVELY email… came at a good moment ‘cos Himself managed some scary medical misadventures this week and was in hospital .. home now and doing well, but I think I went grey this week. HUGS!

    Like

  7. mairedubhtx October 12, 2012 at 13:32 #

    Get well soon. You are not making much sense.

    Like

  8. SchmidleysScribbling October 12, 2012 at 16:30 #

    Good Grief. How did you get so ill. Can’t someone rid you of this pest?? Dianne

    Like

  9. terry1954 October 12, 2012 at 16:37 #

    here’s praying for a quick recovery for a lady who hates being ill. Amen!!

    Like

  10. Al October 12, 2012 at 19:11 #

    Illy Tilly
    You’re so silly
    Rest a spell
    Til you are well
    And not so chilly.

    Like

  11. evilnymphstuff October 12, 2012 at 19:45 #

    Aww rest well and don’t worry about your blog: we, your readers, will still be here! Cheers and feel better soon!

    By the way, when you feel better, feel free to check this out, where you’ve been tagged: http://evilnymphstuff.wordpress.com/2012/10/12/the-tag-blogathon/

    Like

  12. Grannymar October 12, 2012 at 20:20 #

    Sending Get Well wishes from behind a screen. I Have a flu jab booked for Monday and am hiding until then.

    Like

  13. kateshrewsday October 12, 2012 at 21:34 #

    Hugs, Tilly. Lots of elderflower cordial, the old wives say.

    Like

  14. hattie October 13, 2012 at 02:07 #

    You are so lucky to have such a caring friend. Get better soon.

    Like

  15. Gobetween October 13, 2012 at 03:54 #

    Nice gift bag, kind friend except for … where are the maltesers?

    Like

  16. eof737 October 14, 2012 at 08:01 #

    Take some time off and rest Tilly! Superwoman is a myth 😉

    Like

I welcome your comments but be warned: I'm menopausal and as likely to snarl as smile. Wine or Maltesers are an acceptable bribe; or a compliment about my youthful looks and cheery disposition will do in a pinch.

