That’s The Thanks He Gets

17 Oct
Common cold

Common cold (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

common cold by thinkgeek

common cold by thinkgeek (Photo credit: violinha)

Thank you all for your good wishes and supportive comments while I was laid up last week with a serious disease.  It was a bug with a head cold attached but I had it far worse than anyone else I know – until now.

Yes, I infected the poor Hub; my way of thanking him for looking after me so well when he is permanently ill himself.

Of course, because of his weakened immune system caused by the M.E., he is bedridden with it, whereas I was merely bedinclined.

I was so pathetically grateful to him last week that I promised no more faux sympathy if he came down with it.  I have stuck to my word.  I know how bad I felt and I know he feels worse.  

I have fed him (against his will; he has no appetite), watered him, laid cold flannels on his seriously fevered brow (it was touch and go whether I call the doctor last night but experience of his condition made me wait, and I was right, because he is cooler this morning), re-made his bed while he is still in it (more fun for me than him) and nagged him with all the love in my heart, because I don’t want him to think I think differently about him just because he’s ill (more ill than usual, that is).

I insisted that he stay in bed yesterday and he didn’t have the strength to argue. I think I will keep him in bed today, as well.  It’s nice having the house to myself.

 

45 Responses to “That’s The Thanks He Gets”

  1. Elaine - I used to be indecisive October 17, 2012 at 10:34 #

    Poor Hub – it must be bad if he hasn’t the strength to argue. I hope he feels a bit better soon.
    Perhaps you could keep him in bed, being ministered to with hot soups and cold flannels etc for a few more days – it will give you time to watch a few films, do a bit of blogging, read a few books…. 😉

    Like

  2. jmgoyder October 17, 2012 at 10:54 #

    Yeah – keep him in bed for a couple of days – good idea! FREEDOM!

    Like

  3. vivinfrance October 17, 2012 at 11:04 #

    Sending loving armslength hugs his way. Don’t forget the vitamin C

    Like

  4. sharechair October 17, 2012 at 11:24 #

    aww. I’m so sorry that he is feeling so poorly. Hope he gets his strength back, soon.

    Like

  5. laurieanichols October 17, 2012 at 13:15 #

    Poor Hub, I am sending him positive thoughts from across the pond. Keeping him in bed is an excellent idea, watered and fed with nice hot soup will hopefully put him on the mend. You can use the quiet to catch up on whatever things you were forced to leave aside during your own battle with the head cold monster.

    Like

  6. viveka October 17, 2012 at 13:24 #

    Linda, I think it’s great to keep him under the duvet – and spoil him ….. feel sorry for him, because I was floored about a week ago and it was a tough one. Give him some chicken noodle soup – that will clear his system.

    Like

    • Tilly Bud - The Laughing Housewife October 19, 2012 at 19:00 #

      Poor Wivi! It’s been horrible, hasn’t it?

      Like

      • viveka October 19, 2012 at 19:19 #

        Coughing and leakage .. don’t go well together, but we women don’t get that sinks as men does .. when it’s about flue or colds – we are made of other stuff than what they are. *smile I survived, but I felt sorry for myself for days.

        Like

  7. SchmidleysScribbling October 17, 2012 at 13:26 #

    Yesterday was world hand-washing day. I have been on David’s case about it almost every day. Germs lurk everywhere, especially on shopping cart handles. Dianne

    Like

  8. SchmidleysScribbling October 17, 2012 at 13:28 #

    And best wishes to the Hub. May he gain strength and be able to nurse you again in the near future. ~D.

    Like

  9. mairedubhtx October 17, 2012 at 13:40 #

    You should have been a nurse,

    Like

    • Tilly Bud - The Laughing Housewife October 19, 2012 at 19:03 #

      I really shouldn’t! I have no patience with my patients 🙂 I’m only being nice to him because my illness was so recent, I remember how horrible I felt 🙂

      Like

  10. katharinetrauger October 17, 2012 at 13:57 #

    Ah, yes, The Laughing Lady with a Lamp! 😉
    Seriously, I do feel for you. I think there is hardly anything more tender than a spouse ministering to a sick spouse. Just so touching. ❤ K

    Like

  11. Al October 17, 2012 at 14:18 #

    Tell the Hub to get better first and then milk it for all it’s worth! Wait a minute, you’re never going to do that. What’s his cell phone number?

    Like

  12. gigihawaii October 17, 2012 at 16:23 #

    I haven’t had a cold in many months. Knock on wood. Hope I don’t get sick on my trip next month! Best wishes to the Hub. Glad you are hale and hearty.

    Like

  13. slpmartin October 17, 2012 at 16:56 #

    Sorry to hear hub is ill…hope his recovery is soon…most men…myself included…make very poor patients…so you’ll need to take good care of him. 🙂

    Like

  14. Jeff October 17, 2012 at 17:50 #

    Praying for you guys today!

    Like

  15. Pseu October 17, 2012 at 18:17 #

    Real man flu. Poor chap. x

    Like

  16. kateshrewsday October 17, 2012 at 20:22 #

    Hope HUb is better soon, Tilly…

    Like

  17. Hattie October 17, 2012 at 21:04 #

    My husband got that cold, and he still is not feelilng well after more than a week. I haven’t gotten it (yet).
    Hope you are all feeling better soon.

    Like

  18. bluebee October 17, 2012 at 21:29 #

    Glad you are feeling better. Poor Hub. 😦 Don’t let him see that you have control of the remote control – it’ll just make him worse.

    Like

  19. adinparadise October 18, 2012 at 01:37 #

    So sorry, the Hub is sick. I’m really glad that you’re playing nursemaid, Tilly and hope that you’re wearing your French (nurse)maid outfit. That should get him better in no time. 😀

    Like

  20. benzeknees October 18, 2012 at 07:39 #

    Sorry Hub is so sick. I hate when men get sick – they are so whiny!

    Like

  21. Grannymar October 18, 2012 at 20:30 #

    Take special care of hubby, if only for those wonderful tokens of loves he leaves about all over the kitchen.

    Like

  22. Perfecting Motherhood October 19, 2012 at 02:40 #

    That bug is making its way around the world. We’re still suffering from it here. 2 weeks and I still have a stuffed nose. And it’s not even winter yet.

    Like

  23. Three Well Beings October 20, 2012 at 06:11 #

    I do hope by now he is feeling better! That is some bug you all have. I’m truly sorry…it sounds like The Hub gets hit pretty hard. You guys need some relief!

    Like

I welcome your comments but be warned: I'm menopausal and as likely to snarl as smile. Wine or Maltesers are an acceptable bribe; or a compliment about my youthful looks and cheery disposition will do in a pinch.

