Joke 574

18 Oct

From ajokeaday.com.

Candle

Candle (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

A couple, desperate to conceive a child, went to their priest and asked him to pray for them. “I’m going on a sabbatical to Rome,” he replied, “and while I’m there, I’ll light a candle for you.”

When the priest returned three years later, he went to the couple’s house and found the wife pregnant, busily attending to two sets of twins. Elated, the priest asked her where her husband was so that he could congratulate him.

“He’s gone to Rome, to blow that candle out,” came the harried reply.

 

9 Responses to “Joke 574”

  1. terry1954 October 18, 2012 at 04:18 #

    ahh that was a funny one!!!!

    Like

  2. vivinfrance October 18, 2012 at 07:57 #

    I knew a couple like that. But I don’t think he had enough puff.

    Like

  3. sharechair October 18, 2012 at 11:43 #

    I knew a couple once who tried so hard to conceive. It was so sad. Finally they had a child. and then they had twins. And then they had triplets. Somehow they ended up with seven, so another slipped in there somewhere. Her husband must have lit up the entire city of Rome.

    Like

  4. idiosyncratic eye October 18, 2012 at 13:13 #

    I think the age old adage is ‘be careful what you wish for’. 😉

    Like

  5. viveka October 18, 2012 at 13:45 #

    Love it !!!! One in my taste.

    Like

  6. Grannymar October 18, 2012 at 20:33 #

    Very funny!

    Like

  7. slpmartin October 18, 2012 at 21:52 #

    Oh…now that really struck me as so funny for some reason.

    Like

I welcome your comments but be warned: I'm menopausal and as likely to snarl as smile. Wine or Maltesers are an acceptable bribe; or a compliment about my youthful looks and cheery disposition will do in a pinch.

