Now I’m Really Back

26 Oct

Apartheid’s All Right If You’re White is now at Second Draft status and I am at Desperately Needing A Break status, especially if I don’t want to develop Deep Vein Thrombosis.

Deep Vein Thrombosis

Deep Vein Thrombosis (Photo credit: jfravel)

I have been sitting at the computer for three days straight.  Well, not straight so much as hunched over, knees in my chin because there’s no space under the desk for my legs and perched on the edge of a chair that is either too low or too high but I’m not quite sure which but I do know it’s uncomfortable.

But it was worth it!  My book is looking good, like it might actually be a real book one day.  This is one of the most exciting things I’ve ever done – and I’ve flown in aeroplanes at least twenty times.

You don’t define flying as ‘exciting’?  ‘Exciting’ for me means ‘an absolutely terrifying experience but worth the effort because of what comes at the end.’  How do you define it?

So here I am, back.  I have read all of your comments that you continued to make in my absence.  It must be like when I talk to the Hub.

Thank you for not deserting me.  Unfortunately, there’s no way I can catch up with all of them and do normal things like eat and sleep, so I will apologise right now:

Sorry, I won’t be replying to your comments.  There’s no way I can catch up with all of them  and do normal things like eat and sleep.

I do promise to visit you all, however, and not catch up on all the posts I’ve missed.  I can’t say fairer than that.

What?  We don’t have the same definition of ‘fair’, either?  Leave a complaint in the comments.

37 Responses to “Now I’m Really Back”

  1. jmgoyder October 26, 2012 at 11:37 #

    I am SOOOOOOOOO EXCITED about your book Tilly!

    Like

  2. sharechair October 26, 2012 at 11:38 #

    Welcome back 🙂

    Like

  3. vivinfrance October 26, 2012 at 12:11 #

    Don’t overdo it. Who’s been walking the dogs?

    Like

  4. Elaine - I used to be indecisive October 26, 2012 at 12:39 #

    Glad to have you back, but looking forward to your book.

    Have you done the promised dance, now that this stage has been completed? 😉

    Like

  5. Rorybore October 26, 2012 at 13:16 #

    I cannot imagine how tired. I just published my first article and I felt drained. It’s only 1 article!! How on earth would I survive a whole book?
    But congratulations! And thank you for sharing the process with us.

    Like

  6. laurieanichols October 26, 2012 at 14:12 #

    I am so excited for you. I know that you are exhausted but I’m glad that you are back.

    Like

    • misswhiplashm October 26, 2012 at 14:15 #

      welcome back and change your chair..you will cripple your back not sitting properly

      Like

  7. adinparadise October 26, 2012 at 14:36 #

    You need a more comfortable chair if you’re to sit for all those hours. Nice to see you again, Tilly. 🙂

    Like

  8. slpmartin October 26, 2012 at 16:10 #

    So glad the book is going along well…mentioning the Hub…hope his health is better.

    Like

  9. gigihawaii October 26, 2012 at 16:24 #

    I know for a fact how happy you must be. That’s one of the best parts of being an author — the editing and the process of making your words even more beautiful. Can’t get any better than that. And when you finally see your published book — well, Joy to the World!

    Like

  10. SchmidleysScribbling October 26, 2012 at 20:35 #

    Goodness sake, you should keep moving. Dianne

    Like

  11. Grannymar October 26, 2012 at 20:43 #

    Walk across the room every 20 minutes and rest your eyes from the screen. Are you near a window? If so look into the distance regularly to help keep your eyes healthy.

    Like

  12. Tom (Aquatom1968) October 26, 2012 at 20:44 #

    I’m excited for you, Tilly!

    Like

  13. Viveka October 26, 2012 at 21:29 #

    Linda, so happy you are pleased with your work, fantastic!!!!! – don’t think about answering on our replays – life goes on without you while stressing yourself out trying to catch up. We can’t catch up because so soon you replayed on one .. another happens. Good luck now .. will hold everything that I can hold … some part more and some parts less. *smile

    Like

  14. Helen Cherry October 26, 2012 at 23:39 #

    Well done.. keep on keeping on and I know ALL about the trying to keep up with comments thing.. It’s nigh on impossible at times..

    Like

  15. kiwidutch October 27, 2012 at 06:32 #

    I know about the comments: it’s half term school holidays in The Hague, We are busy doing stuff so I took a week off work and promptly got a cold at the start of the week…

    Add to that that internet has been patchy of late, sometimes the computer is fast. other times it’s crawlingly slow so I’m behind with my comment too.

    As soon as I can shake the bugs and rest a little I will catch up…
    You’ll do the same I’m sure 🙂

    Like

  16. benzeknees October 27, 2012 at 06:54 #

    Just what do what you can! Welcome back!

    Like

  17. Pseu October 27, 2012 at 09:56 #

    Get a good chair?
    http://www.gumtree.com/p/for-sale/office-swivel-chair-12/1002175353
    lots of ads for redundant office chairs when I had a quick look. You may even get one for free on free cycle?

    Like

    • Tilly Bud - The Laughing Housewife October 27, 2012 at 09:59 #

      We got this one from Freegle. It suits the Hub and it’s his pc so… However, he is starting to feel better so I can grab the laptop and work in the kitchen from now on 🙂

      Like

      • Pseu October 27, 2012 at 10:34 #

        🙂

        Like

  18. eof737 October 27, 2012 at 14:20 #

    Good for you Tilly! Keep it up.;-)

    Like

  19. Three Well Beings October 28, 2012 at 02:35 #

    This is truly very exciting. Good for you! Always remember that blogging should never become a chore. Join in and do what you can, but I do recommend regular eating and sleeping! 😉

    Like

I welcome your comments but be warned: I'm menopausal and as likely to snarl as smile. Wine or Maltesers are an acceptable bribe; or a compliment about my youthful looks and cheery disposition will do in a pinch.

