Archive | 12:47

Weekly Photo Challenge: Geometry

12 Nov
Geometry Golf Mushroom

Geometry Golf Mushroom (Photo credit: Oberazzi)

According to Wikipedia, geometry is a branch of mathematics concerned with questions of shape, size, relative position of figures, and the properties of space.

Here’s the Hub and me explained geometrically:

Our shape is round (and then some).

Our size is forever expanding (in spite of my cooking).

The relative position of our figures: I am at the computer; the Hub is at the doctor’s right now, asking for a flu jab.

He gives me space to write, blog, believe.  I give him space to breathe.  Or, to put it mathematically:

Hub + Me = 6

or  28  or  496  or  8128  or  2305843008139952128.

According to Wikipedia (who needs a Maths degree when we have Wikipedia?), they are all perfect numbers.

I feel sick.

The Hub has just come in.  He has an appointment for a flu jab tomorrow. Hooray!

The way a flu jab works is like this: a person is injected with something that could hurt them.  It doesn’t hurt them, however, because the dosage is small enough to make it bearable, and to make the person immune to outside attack.

The Hub takes a similar approach to his pragmatic and unromantic wife: he tells me he loves me in small doses, and I hardly notice it enough to feel ill, but it is enough to keep me immune from outside attack [let this be a warning to those of you who never tell your partners that you love them].

Here’s a sampling of his latest:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Reading this post, I think I caught something.

Joke 599

12 Nov

This is a true story from the Reader’s Digest, Australia, sent in by Iain Steven, Rotorua.

 

One rainy night, I stopped to pick up two hitch-hikers on a lonely road and was a little concerned when a third man appeared with an object in his hand. My fears were allayed by their story. After their vehicle ran out of fuel, they had got a lift to town, bought a can of petrol and were trudging back.

I drove them to their car amid effusive thanks, then proceeded feeling very much the Good Samaritan.

Next morning, I found the can of petrol still on the back floor.

*

*

Another true story, this time from the Reader’s Digest, Canada, sent in by Alvin T. Parker.

Lassie friendship ring

Lassie friendship ring (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

One overcast evening I passed the principal of York University’s Glendon College, Toronto, who was out looking for his missing Lassie look-alike. He told me the dog often ran away, so he had put a metal tag on its collar asking that anyone finding the dog send it home in a taxi.

A few days later I again met the principal, and he told me that as he was trudging home during a downpour that night, his snug and dry dog had passed him in a taxi.

*

*

And for those of you who prefer jokes to true stories, here’s a Tim Viner:

This bloke said to me, ‘I’m going to chop off the bottom of one of your trouser legs and put it in a library.’

I thought, ‘That’s a turn-up for the books.’

Quickly's

Get loose. Try something different.

benzeknees

A frustrated writer, who is her own worst enemy

Edwina Currie Made Me Start This Blog

Don't get mad; get writing

this fragile tent

a blog about small beautiful things

epitaphsblog

The last word on celebrities

Gethsemane Seeds

Learning the way of Christ

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,065 other followers

