Joke 599

12 Nov

This is a true story from the Reader’s Digest, Australia, sent in by Iain Steven, Rotorua.

 

One rainy night, I stopped to pick up two hitch-hikers on a lonely road and was a little concerned when a third man appeared with an object in his hand. My fears were allayed by their story. After their vehicle ran out of fuel, they had got a lift to town, bought a can of petrol and were trudging back.

I drove them to their car amid effusive thanks, then proceeded feeling very much the Good Samaritan.

Next morning, I found the can of petrol still on the back floor.

*

*

Another true story, this time from the Reader’s Digest, Canada, sent in by Alvin T. Parker.

Lassie friendship ring

Lassie friendship ring (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

One overcast evening I passed the principal of York University’s Glendon College, Toronto, who was out looking for his missing Lassie look-alike. He told me the dog often ran away, so he had put a metal tag on its collar asking that anyone finding the dog send it home in a taxi.

A few days later I again met the principal, and he told me that as he was trudging home during a downpour that night, his snug and dry dog had passed him in a taxi.

*

*

And for those of you who prefer jokes to true stories, here’s a Tim Viner:

This bloke said to me, ‘I’m going to chop off the bottom of one of your trouser legs and put it in a library.’

I thought, ‘That’s a turn-up for the books.’

12 Responses to “Joke 599”

  1. terry1954 November 12, 2012 at 04:06 #

    that first story was eerie!!!

    Like

  2. adinparadise November 12, 2012 at 04:29 #

    The joke is so pathetic that it’s really funny. 🙂 The first story made my hair stand on end….now if only it would stay like that. 😆 Have a great day, Tilly. I’m just off to bed.

    Like

    • vivinfrance November 12, 2012 at 15:51 #

      I’m disappointed. I’ve always visualised you with one of those palm tree haircuts like your gravatar. Isn’t it really like that?

      Like

      • adinparadise November 12, 2012 at 17:15 #

        😆 My hair reminds me of Sir Toby Belch’s remark to Sir Andrew in Twelfth Night, “It hangs like flax on a distaff.”

        Like

  3. vastlycurious.com November 12, 2012 at 04:52 #

    Laughing before bed : )))

    Like

  4. misswhiplash November 12, 2012 at 08:32 #

    love it….

    Like

  5. Elaine - I used to be indecisive November 12, 2012 at 10:12 #

    Another great one-liner from Tim Vine!

    Like

  6. eof737 November 12, 2012 at 11:55 #

    That second story had me laughing. 😉 It should have read: his smug and smart dog… 😆

    Like

  7. sharechair November 12, 2012 at 12:12 #

    I am creeped out by story number one.

    Like

  8. SchmidleysScribbling November 12, 2012 at 15:40 #

    Really weird, but I love the dog story. Dianne

    Like

  9. Grannymar November 12, 2012 at 20:15 #

    That dog had me laughing.

    Like

  10. viveka November 12, 2012 at 20:31 #

    Story one …. is a bit creepy !!!!!

    Like

I welcome your comments but be warned: I'm menopausal and as likely to snarl as smile. Wine or Maltesers are an acceptable bribe; or a compliment about my youthful looks and cheery disposition will do in a pinch.

