Archive | 14:46
17 Nov

The Laughing Housewife:

I was as surprised as anyone to find myself falling in love with the Twilight world. As a mature and intelligent woman, I could see its faults and I even blogged about them, in my particular style. As a woman who has always gone her own way, I knew I was safe from being influenced by the values in the books that I disliked.

However, I feel I have been remiss in not discussing the dark side of Twilight with you; and I am not going to do that now because I just read a Freshly Pressed post that says it much better than I can.

I agree with most points raised in the essay apart from one thing: I don’t see anything wrong in telling teenagers that abstinence is okay. But then I would say that, wouldn’t I?

I recommend that you read the post and make up your own mind.

Originally posted on Sarah Gets Critical:

With the final film of the Twilight Saga to début in UK cinemas this week, the time is ripe to cast an eye of scrutiny upon one of the most popular franchises of the decade. Twilight could have been a positive force in fiction and film, not least because the book is aimed primarily at girls, with a female protagonist, speaking of female experience, written by a woman, and with the film itself being directed by a woman. In fact, Eclipse attracted audiences that were 80% female and scraped in a whopping £45 million (1). Since then, Twilight has had a considerable knock-on effect, not least on the revival of vampire fiction, but in the fiction industry – with 50 Shades of Grey starting its life as a slash fiction version of Twilight. The effects of Twilight are boggling, but what other knock-on effects are we missing?

Twilight teaches very dangerous…

View original 1,556 more words

A Small Celebration

17 Nov

I hit a blog milestone yesterday:

Only 3/4 of a million to go!

For more Six Word Saturdays go here.

Joke 604

17 Nov

Thanks to Viveka for this one.

Men don’t understand us, so here’s a translation guide:

A woman asks: How much do you love me?  Man an...

(Photo credit: deeplifequotes)

We say: You want
It means: You want

We say: We need
It means: I want

We say: It’s your decision
It means: The correct decision should be obvious

We say: What do you want?
It means: You’ll pay for this later

We say: We need to talk
It means: I’m not pleased

We say: Sure…go ahead
It means: If you dare

We say: I’m not upset
It means: Of course I’m upset you moron

We say: You’re…so manly
It means: You need a shave and you sweat a lot

We say: Be romantic, turn out the lights
It means: I have flabby thighs.

We say: This kitchen is so inconvenient
It means: I want a new house.

We say: I want new curtains
It means: Also carpeting, furniture, and wallpaper

We say: I need new shoes
It means: The other forty pairs don’t really fit

We say: Hang the picture there
It means: No, I mean hang it there!

We say: I heard a noise
It means: I noticed you were almost asleep

We say: Do you love me?
It means: I’m going to ask for something expensive.

We say: How much do you love me?
It means: I did something today you’re not going to like

We say: I’ll be ready in a minute.
It means: Take a nap.

We say: Am I fat?
It means: Tell me I’m beautiful

Quickly's

Get loose. Try something different.

benzeknees

A frustrated writer, who is her own worst enemy

Edwina Currie Made Me Start This Blog

Don't get mad; get writing

this fragile tent

a blog about small beautiful things

epitaphsblog

The last word on celebrities

Gethsemane Seeds

Learning the way of Christ

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,065 other followers

