17 Nov

I was as surprised as anyone to find myself falling in love with the Twilight world. As a mature and intelligent woman, I could see its faults and I even blogged about them, in my particular style. As a woman who has always gone her own way, I knew I was safe from being influenced by the values in the books that I disliked.

However, I feel I have been remiss in not discussing the dark side of Twilight with you; and I am not going to do that now because I just read a Freshly Pressed post that says it much better than I can.

I agree with most points raised in the essay apart from one thing: I don’t see anything wrong in telling teenagers that abstinence is okay. But then I would say that, wouldn’t I?

I recommend that you read the post and make up your own mind.

17 Responses to “”

  1. laurieanichols November 17, 2012 at 15:11 #

    Most of what she said I was thinking as I was reading the books, especially the way Bella was written, willing to throw her life away for the love of a boy who was dead. The Jacon and Renesme imprint part was a tad icky and Mormonish. I already railed about Twilight before and I only got upset because of the target audience, young impressionable girls.

    Like

    • Tilly Bud - The Laughing Housewife November 20, 2012 at 08:38 #

      That’s it – I can see its faults but they don’t affect me personally. I wouldn’t be keen on a daughter reading them, however; though I wouldn’t ban her, but that’s a different issue.

      Of course, a daughter of mine would be expected to have a mind of her own and so I would hope she’d pick up the problems in the text.

      Like

  2. terry1954 November 17, 2012 at 15:12 #

    you wrote this so well!!!!

    Like

  3. The Hook November 17, 2012 at 18:08 #

    Cool reblog!

    Like

  4. vivinfrance November 17, 2012 at 18:19 #

    I got about three quarters of the way through the original review before deciding that the whole thing – series, characters, review were totally unrealistic, unbelievable, and decided I couldn’t be bothered to read any more. Sorry, peeps, but could anyone be influenced by such rubbish? Vampires, antiquated sexual mores, stereotypes? Give me strength!

    Like

  5. kateshrewsday November 17, 2012 at 21:43 #

    The messages sent not just in the Twilight series but in the wider world make me shudder for the daughter I must simply let go, to make up her own mind. Critical thinking is all I can counsel. I do hope I succeed.

    Thanks for this, Tilly.

    Like

  6. colonialist November 17, 2012 at 22:24 #

    I watched a bit of the movie this evening until I felt my gorge rising, and therefore so did I and left. Not even the corny ‘play with your food’ line raised a smile. My karate lamb is a lot more likely than that lot, and without false modesty I can say that his tale is far better written. In fact, most Mills and Boon are far better written.

    Like

  7. benzeknees November 18, 2012 at 08:20 #

    I have not seen or read any of the Twilight series, so I was totally unaware of any of this. What are we teaching our teens about relationships? About what is okay & not okay in a relationship? Thanks for bringing this to our attention – I’m just thankful I don’t have teen girls anymore or I would have to be having a very BIG conversation with them.

    Like

  8. Perfecting Motherhood November 26, 2012 at 08:18 #

    I just watched Breaking Dawn Part 1 today and it was a real snooze. I can’t believe they managed to stretch nothing happening for a whole movie. And Bella really is an obnoxious character, so lethargic no wonder she picked the dead vampire over the hot werewolf. If I had a teenage daughter, I would hope she can find some more interesting characters to identify with.

    Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Ten Tips For My Daughter « The Laughing Housewife - November 20, 2012

    […] the recent comments on the Breaking Dawn Part 2 post and its follow-up made me wonder what advice I would give to a daughter if I did have […]

    Like

I welcome your comments but be warned: I'm menopausal and as likely to snarl as smile. Wine or Maltesers are an acceptable bribe; or a compliment about my youthful looks and cheery disposition will do in a pinch.

