Didn’t I Tell You We Brits Were Understated?

10 Dec

I read a report on Sky News that it’s going to be the end of the world on December 21st.  Why did nobody tell me?  I need to make sure I finish my Christmas shopping.  

I have often wondered why governments advise people not to panic but never advise them that the time is now right to panic.  Think this could be one of those times?

According to Sky:

British authorities have insisted they are prepared for the looming apocalypse and have issued advice on how to cope.

In the event that the world ends on December 21, the public should check the car, fit a smoke alarm and learn to make a fire.

The AA warned: “Before heading off, take time to do the basic checks on your car and allow extra time for your journey.  Local radio is a good source of traffic and weather updates and for any warnings of an impending apocalypse. Should the announcer break such solemn news, try to remain focused on the road ahead and keep your hands on the wheel.”

The Apocalypse is all very well but heaven help the driver who doesn’t keep their hands in the ten and two position.

Even the scouts are getting in on the act (well, they would, wouldn’t they, with a motto like Be Prepared?):

The assistant director of the Scouts said: “If you are a scout, you know how to light a fire, how to cook, how to make a shelter. There are probably going to be no computers or electricity in the post-apocalyptic world so get a basic essential guide, there are loads around in the library such as Scouting For Boys –  it was written in 1908 but it will still be relevant after the apocalypse.”

Stiff upper lip, a good cup of tea and a visit to the library, that’s how we Brits will deal with the end of the world.   What will your nation do?

52 Responses to “Didn’t I Tell You We Brits Were Understated?”

  1. LoveHoundUK December 10, 2012 at 10:09 #

    It’s going to be push, shove and knock over your neighbours here in France !
    I do love the British idea of the Keep Calm and Carry On motto. One of my French friends always says no matter what happens in Britain, a cup of tea will solve it all. When you think about it, it’s true !

    Like

  2. misswhiplash December 10, 2012 at 10:17 #

    Oh dear…well at least I will have landed safely at Gatwick airport,,,,but feel a bit sad at leaving Neville alone to cope with building a fire, and making accomodation…tea making is his main job so he will be ok with that….but he won’t be able to cook the turkey! what a curfuffle……and I will only just have got my new android tablet…oh sh*t….

    Like

    • vivinfrance December 10, 2012 at 11:23 #

      I think that here in France on receiving the warning everyone will eat everything good from cupboard and fridge and open the premier grand cru wine they have been saving for something special

      Like

  3. bluebee December 10, 2012 at 10:24 #

    I don’t know, but hope it comes early so I don’t have to present to 20 people tomorrow. The end of days is looking preferable at the moment.

    Like

  4. Elaine - I used to be indecisive December 10, 2012 at 10:44 #

    I expect we Brits will also form an orderly queue! 🙂

    Like

  5. Pseu December 10, 2012 at 11:40 #

    Why bother finishing the shopping if the end of the world is nigh…?

    Like

  6. gigihawaii December 10, 2012 at 12:02 #

    Here in Hawaii, we don’t give a darn.

    Like

  7. Katharine Trauger December 10, 2012 at 13:42 #

    Over here (US) when any natural disaster may be impending, such as tornado, everyone, except me, goes to the store and buys bread, whether they need any or not, so if someone actually does need bread and unsuspecting, goes to the store to buy bread, just for tomorrow’s toast or something, they find the shelves emptied and the clerks harried. It’s no fun.

    We live near a sort of tourist-y town and during such times, the poor tourists cannot make any toast, at all. And they wonder what sort of place this is, where the stores do not carry enough bread for the populace.

    Who listens to the weather when they are not accustomed to tornados and are on vacation?

    Anyway, our apocapreps had better include learning how to make bread?

    Like

  8. sharechair December 10, 2012 at 13:47 #

    I haven’t looked, but I heard that on the official USA website, they have issued an official statement that the world is not going to end on the 21st. How silly.

    Like

  9. judithatwood December 10, 2012 at 14:48 #

    My country likely will just allow its craziest citizens to run amok, heaven help us all.

    Like

  10. SchmidleysScribbling December 10, 2012 at 15:05 #

    Oh yes. This is like the big scare at the end of the twentieth century when all the computers were supposed to fail. I see you are still here and so am I. Dianne

    Like

  11. Rorybore December 10, 2012 at 15:17 #

    I’m gonna watch ALL the episodes of Bear Grylls Man vs. Wild. I mean, who cares if it’s all staged – the man still makes a nice pine needle tea in the middle of the jungle! anyone who can sit down in the middle of a dangerous jungle and make a spot of tea? imma gonna follow him when the crap hits the fan

    Like

  12. adinparadise December 10, 2012 at 15:42 #

    So, no more blogging??? Now that’s REALLY SCAREE!!

    Like

  13. slpmartin December 10, 2012 at 16:12 #

    Given the actions of our government during the past few years…I suspect they will be debating what should be done.

    Like

  14. laurieanichols December 10, 2012 at 16:13 #

    Here, depending on where you live, the stockpiling begins for those who believe. In the Midwest and South, it might be guns and ammo along with a side order of milk and bread. In the Northeast, it might be shovels, milk and bread. Over in California it’s anyone’s guess, they march to the beat of their own drum. I’m pretty sure that the government isn’t buying into to it so we are on our own if it happens. It won’t, the Mayans ran out of space just like the cartoon said. 🙂

    Like

  15. sanstorm December 10, 2012 at 16:20 #

    In August 2001 I went to New York and visited Times Square Church. We were given a book called “God’s Plan in the Coming Depression”. At the back it gives a very handy list of what to have in your larder to survive societal breakdown. I have yet to go out and get all the items on the list. Good to know that when panic buying sets in, I’ll know what to get.
    🙂

    Like

  16. kiwidutch December 10, 2012 at 16:25 #

    In my corner of the world … probably nothing because it’s regularly the End of The World every time the nation looses a football match, ….especially on International level.

    We’ve had so much practice with the end of the world happening, that probably they’ll do what they always do: discuss with surprise how on earth it happened and who’s fault it was (ad infinitum) moan a lot and then drink beer.

    Me personally? definitely nothing for this event,… the only stock piling I’m going will be groceries for Christmas Day.

    … just a thought… senario: the world doesn’t end and now those people who stockpiled 20 000 tins of baked beans now have a supply with roughly all the same expiry date.
    Now THAT could get interesting LOL!!!!

    Like

  17. terry1954 December 10, 2012 at 18:46 #

    In my opinion, if the world ends, the only thing that we can do about it is, make sure you are ready to meet your maker, because no matter what you say, do or prepare ahead, it will be over and we will be gone in a wink of an eye. On the lighter side, I hope that i have eaten and had a bath!!!

    Like

  18. robincoyle December 10, 2012 at 20:17 #

    It is the end of the world as we know it and I feel fine.

    Like

  19. kateshrewsday December 10, 2012 at 20:26 #

    Can’t remember which blogger I read but apparently some NASA scientist said the Mayans have also predicted evens 500 years from now. So I think they were just expecting us to do our own date making from the 21st.

    Like

  20. viveka December 10, 2012 at 20:45 #

    We Swedes … carry on drinking snaps and eat pickled herring … because nobody has told us that the world is going to end. They did that some years ago … and nothing happens, so we will not fall for that one again. *smile
    Glad that Britain and the Queen is all informed about what to do … the rest of the world takes when it happens, I guess. If it happens, I hope I’m in the middle of it all … because I don’t want to end up like in all silly TV series about catastrophic survivors.

    Like

  21. Tom (Aquatom1968) December 10, 2012 at 21:41 #

    Well, I’m throwing a little soiree around at my place on the 21st, so if the end comes fun will be being had! Hopefully! Power shortages notwithstanding!
    Keep on keeping on!

    Like

  22. Grannymar December 10, 2012 at 22:33 #

    I’ll sleep through it.

    Like

  23. Al December 10, 2012 at 23:07 #

    I plan on stocking in a lot of Maltesers in case the Malteser factory is destroyed. If we survive, I should make a killing on the black Malteser market. Did you know there are some people that can’t live without them?

    Like

  24. Jemma @ Just-Jimjams December 11, 2012 at 02:36 #

    As recommended by my Granny, I shall make sure I am wearing clean underwear!
    But I’m no longer in a rush to get my Christmas shopping/cards into the post … RM will only use the Apocalypse as a reason not to deliver!

    Like

  25. Three Well Beings December 11, 2012 at 06:39 #

    That’s a really good question! I don’t know what the American response to the end of the world is going to be. I could insert a few wise cracks here, but I’ll refrain! As for me, Jay and I are having a dinner/theater evening with two other couples on the 21st. We have discussed it, and as good lifelong friends, figured it could go either way. Either we will enjoy the evening as intended, or “go out” together with the apocalypse! It should be exciting either way! My son just got engaged this weekend…I was kind of looking forward to 2013!

    Like

  26. bevchen December 11, 2012 at 10:57 #

    If the world DOES end, at least I won’t have to turn 30 😉

    Like

  27. Perfecting Motherhood December 13, 2012 at 07:46 #

    My mom is arriving on Dec 21 for a visit, so the world had better not end then!

    Like

  28. eof737 December 16, 2012 at 21:16 #

    The world will not end… Next! 😆

    Like

I welcome your comments but be warned: I'm menopausal and as likely to snarl as smile. Wine or Maltesers are an acceptable bribe; or a compliment about my youthful looks and cheery disposition will do in a pinch.

