No Humour Today

15 Dec

I think about all those murdered children and I don’t have it in me to laugh.

 

25 Responses to “No Humour Today”

  1. benzeknees December 15, 2012 at 09:17 #

    I agree with you Tilly Bud! I have shed a few tears today & said a few prayers that someone will finally come up with a way to put a stop to these murderous rampages.

    Like

  2. vivinfrance December 15, 2012 at 09:20 #

    I agree.

    Like

  3. bevchen December 15, 2012 at 09:35 #

    So sad. And being this close to Christmas just makes it worse. I didn’t even know about it until I logged on to Facebook last night (I hadn’t had time to read BBC news as I usually do in my lunch break and we have no TV).

    Like

  4. faydanamyjake December 15, 2012 at 10:14 #

    Words don’t cover it x

    Like

  5. misswhiplash December 15, 2012 at 11:18 #

    It is heart-breaking..what possesses a person to do such a thing…my prayers and thoughts are with the families and friends and the people of USA who constantly have to live in the fear of such action. It really is time to change the Constitution…I am sure that when it was written nobody visualised the carnage which would result in the future.. IT IS TIME TO STOP

    Like

  6. idiosyncratic eye December 15, 2012 at 11:49 #

    I don’t know, whilst it is important to cry with those who cry and to take time to reflect, I think that laughter can be the best medicine, it can mean companionship and healing and if we never laughed again, who will have won? My heart goes out to anyone who has ever lost. 😦

    Like

    • nrhatch December 15, 2012 at 23:29 #

      I agree with you, idiosyncratic eye. The only way to banish the darkness is to create more Light, Love, and Laughter.

      Happy people don’t shoot children.
      People in pain do.

      Like

  7. sharechair December 15, 2012 at 13:29 #

    Unbelievably tragic. And as I watch the local Philadelphia news this morning, the stories are (as usual) just one shooting after the other. What is it with these guns? Insanity.

    Like

  8. mairedubhtx December 15, 2012 at 14:26 #

    Our hearts are breaking and the bright lights and happy music seem inappropriate. We wonder what is wrong in our country that we have yet another mass killing, but this time of innocent young children. I hope this is the tipping point, that pushes us to really question what is wrong with a society where guns are so available.

    Like

  9. Rorybore December 15, 2012 at 14:54 #

    Our world is grieving and broken today. what does it say about us that we can longer protect our most innocent treasures?

    Like

  10. laurieanichols December 15, 2012 at 15:43 #

    Me too.:(

    Like

  11. klrs09 December 15, 2012 at 17:16 #

    It simply breaks the heart.

    Like

  12. slpmartin December 15, 2012 at 17:59 #

    Many are too sad even for words.

    Like

  13. sarsm December 15, 2012 at 18:05 #

    It’s hard to find words. So terribly sad.

    Like

  14. robincoyle December 15, 2012 at 20:16 #

    Words are inadequate right now.

    Like

  15. barb19 December 15, 2012 at 21:26 #

    There are no words to express how we feel for those innocent lives.

    Like

  16. kateshrewsday December 15, 2012 at 21:39 #

    I know. I feel the same way.

    Like

  17. Judith Atwood December 15, 2012 at 23:54 #

    I certainly understand.

    Like

  18. Katherine Gordy Levine December 16, 2012 at 03:05 #

    When we cannot laugh, life has hit us so hard with have to do what I call standing dead in the water. Remember it well after 9/11.

    We need to do a job of treating the deranged and protecting the innocent.

    Katherine.

    Like

  19. Three Well Beings December 16, 2012 at 04:42 #

    I’m having an awfully hard time with this one. I know the smiles will return, but for now, I just can’t. I did hear a radio commentator I respect say that one of the ways to move through this kind of collective grief was to focus outward, not inward. To not dwell on the grief, but reach out to be more loving and intentionally kind. He went on for some time with great eloquence and I was touched by the message. I’m sending you one of my first hugs. oxo

    Like

  20. eof737 December 16, 2012 at 09:02 #

    It is truly tragic what happened…

    Like

  21. Gobetween December 17, 2012 at 09:57 #

    Why do we need nutcases in this world?

    Like

  22. Katharine Trauger December 19, 2012 at 16:52 #

    Yes. Thanks.

    Like

  23. Grannymar December 20, 2012 at 14:34 #

    The events of last Friday 15th Dec certainly took away my Mojo. Then on top of that we have idiots trying to close down the Province all because they reduced the number of days a Flag will adorn the tom of a public building. Sad. Very, very sad.

    Like

I welcome your comments but be warned: I'm menopausal and as likely to snarl as smile. Wine or Maltesers are an acceptable bribe; or a compliment about my youthful looks and cheery disposition will do in a pinch.

