It’s Beginning To Look A Lot Like Christmas

17 Dec

*

Take a line from a song that you love or connect with. Turn that line into the title of your post.

I love Christmas songs – cheesy, soppy, cheerful, sacred: I love them all.  But I’m guessing you know that by now.

*

Write a summary of the book you’ve always wanted to write for the back cover of its dust jacket.

A searing exposé of life at the WordPress Prompt Factory!

Visit the heart of the prompters’ office, where ideas jump straight from the bin to your email inbox.

See the agony and the ecstasy of the tough decisions that must be made so that bloggers are never left unprompted, forcing them to think for themselves.  

Relive the prompters’ early attempts: Puppies or kittens in a sack on the railway track?

Proof that prompts bloggers think are the same as those that have gone before are, in fact, not: When is it a good time to quit? prompt 302/2011 and When is it ok to quit something? prompt 245/2011 are obviously completely different because, well, the WordPress prompters say they are.

WordPress prompts: the truth, with no tooth and not a shred of proof.

Prompt 12 (detail)

Prompt 12 (detail) (Photo credit: miscellaneaarts)

*

What is a life well lived to you?

Plenty of love, laughter, food and enough money left when all the bills are paid to buy a box of Maltesers.  

Oh, and dafter prompts; they have all been too sensible lately.

*

Picture the one person in the world you really wish were reading your blog. Write her or him a letter.

Dear WordPress Prompter,

2011 was your year.  You gave us many ridiculous writing prompts which allowed me to make fun of you for twelve solid months.

This year’s crop is far too sensible and I’m having trouble poking fun at you.

Can you fix it?

Love Tilly x

*

 

26 Responses to “It’s Beginning To Look A Lot Like Christmas”

  1. jmgoyder December 17, 2012 at 10:22 #

    I have only just eradicated that song from my head and now you have put it back again – argh! Great post.

    Like

  2. Elaine - I used to be indecisive December 17, 2012 at 10:28 #

    Love your book’s dust jacket blurb! 😀

    Like

  3. Broken Biro December 17, 2012 at 10:42 #

    Nooooo! A really annoying woman came in to the library where I work demanding the sheet music to this song but she didn’t know which song book it would be in, and spent the whole time we were looking for it in ALL the songbooks singing in a bright falsetto…. aaaargh!

    Like

  4. misswhiplash December 17, 2012 at 10:55 #

    what about all the fiddling they have done with my photos…..I think WordPress prompts and Pinky are in collusion

    Like

  5. laurieanichols December 17, 2012 at 14:19 #

    I completely agree with your last sentiment, the prompts are way too sensible. We need some silliness to write about. I have Bing Cosby crooning in my head, can’t complain because it could be worse. His voice was beautiful. 🙂

    Like

  6. McGuffyAnn December 17, 2012 at 14:22 #

    I love your word prompt posts! Thanks for making us smile.

    Like

  7. gigihawaii December 17, 2012 at 16:15 #

    I have never used any WordPress prompts for some reason. Don’t seem to need to, Lol.

    Like

  8. terry1954 December 17, 2012 at 18:15 #

    loved your blog today

    Like

  9. slpmartin December 17, 2012 at 18:38 #

    I’m certain the prompters will honor your request for 2013 …I mean it does have a 13 in it.

    Like

  10. Tom (Aquatom1968) December 17, 2012 at 21:24 #

    I think it’s about time those WordPress prompters paid attention to you, Tilly.

    Like

  11. robincoyle December 17, 2012 at 22:03 #

    Love the dust jacket! You are so funny.

    Like

  12. vivinfrance December 17, 2012 at 22:08 #

    I’ve a better idea. WordPress: give Tilly a job as head prompt thinker-upper.

    Like

  13. alienhippy December 18, 2012 at 15:03 #

    I love the lines…
    “Plenty of love, laughter, food and enough money left when all the bills are paid to buy a box of Maltesers.”
    It made me giggle. I was in ASDA the other day and they had a huge pyramid of Christmas boxes of Maltesers, it made me think of you.
    Love and hugs my friend. xxx 🙂

    Like

  14. Perfecting Motherhood December 19, 2012 at 03:38 #

    I don’t understand why you haven’t been freshly pressed. 🙂

    Like

  15. Grannymar December 20, 2012 at 14:56 #

    Great dust jacket. When will you be writing the book?

    Like

I welcome your comments but be warned: I'm menopausal and as likely to snarl as smile. Wine or Maltesers are an acceptable bribe; or a compliment about my youthful looks and cheery disposition will do in a pinch.

