Hair Of The Hub

4 Jan

The Hub has been the butt of my nagging for weeks.  I’m all about Christmas cheer but I never expected to marry Santa:

DSCN0745

His beard got bigger and bushier and my nagging got louder and longer.  The Hub decided he’d had enough and would have a little fun at my expense.

He came to bed the other night, beard intact.  At four a.m. he went to the bathroom.

When I got up next morning, I found the little gift he left me, à la cat:

DSCN0803

A hairball, you vulgar-minded lot.

Overjoyed, I went to kiss him with his morning coffee but recoiled when I found Paulie Sr from Orange County Choppers  in our bed:

DSCN0824

I avoided looking at him all day as he giggled away.

He finally relented in the middle of the next night, and normal Hub has been restored:

DSCN0832

He may not be happy, but I am.  Don’t bother feeling sorry for him; I won’t pass on the comments.

50 Responses to “Hair Of The Hub”

  1. Gobetween January 4, 2013 at 12:28 #

    No Maltesers for you … I think the hub’s beard looked great.

    Like

  2. SammyDee January 4, 2013 at 12:39 #

    Lol, Love it! I’m not telling my Hubby though. I don’t want him getting ideas.

    Like

  3. vivinfrance January 4, 2013 at 13:21 #

    I loved the beard – all it needed was a little trimming! It made him look very distinguished – not that he isn’t anyway.

    Like

  4. laurieanichols January 4, 2013 at 13:35 #

    I am 100% with you on this one and I’m not saying it to try to get a Malteser or two. The Hub did look like Santa and you are much too young to be married to someone who looks to be Santa’s age. Paul Sr. the Hub did resemble and we don’t ever want that. The Hub looks decades younger now with his whiskers the way they should be, now he looks like the young Hub that you married.:)

    Like

  5. bevchen January 4, 2013 at 13:40 #

    My cousin loves men with beards. I can’t see it myself – horrid scratchy things!

    Like

  6. sharechair January 4, 2013 at 14:05 #

    I think the best fun would have been for YOU to shave him during the night. I’m guessing you would have come up with an interesting pattern of furry face. 🙂

    Like

  7. Karen Snyder January 4, 2013 at 14:10 #

    Sorry, I have to side with your Hub in this, (no Maltesers for me, I know.). I rather like a well-kept beard….my late hubby wore one for awhile. (Your Hub does have a terrific sense of humor though — love that present he left on the counter!) 🙂

    Like

  8. mairedubhtx January 4, 2013 at 15:16 #

    A very handsome looking Hub indeed.

    Like

  9. kateshrewsday January 4, 2013 at 15:30 #

    I remember the Movember before last. The moment of final clean shavedness was cathartic.

    Like

  10. misswhiplash January 4, 2013 at 15:36 #

    he looks younger without a beard

    Like

  11. viveka January 4, 2013 at 15:46 #

    I don’t really share your view … I think he was very handsome in his beard. And I don’t like men with anything in their faces .. except a smile.

    Like

  12. Marion Driessen January 4, 2013 at 16:54 #

    He does have a sense of humor, right, Tilly? 😉

    Like

  13. gigihawaii January 4, 2013 at 17:01 #

    Gee, you are so lenient. I made my hubby shave ALL of it off — he had the worst looking mustache, which I hated. I prefer clean shaven men.

    Like

  14. Ron. January 4, 2013 at 17:08 #

    My Beloved Sandra has never seen me beardless, has hardly ever seen me tightly trimmed (I almost typed “neatly trimmed” but I consider myself “neatly trimmed, even when it’s not particularly short.)
    There’s a picture of me, beardless, out there somewhere (High school graduation, 1969) and she’s seen it a time or two and laughed each time–with good reason, as I’m clearly a chinless wonder. And there’s another photo taken 2 yeas later, the last year I was beardless, equally laughable. No one I know can even imagine me without a beard.

    And no amount of nagging would ever get me to shave.

    Like

  15. Elaine - I used to be indecisive January 4, 2013 at 17:26 #

    I thought the bearded look was ok, but agree that with the ‘normal’ look he looks much younger. 🙂

    Like

  16. klrs09 January 4, 2013 at 17:53 #

    He did kind of look like Santa. . . I get where you were coming from! Must have been quite the rude awakening seeing that big hair-ball by your coffee. My husband goes through these now-I-have-a-beard, now-I-don’t phases every other year or so. Drives me nuts.

    Like

  17. terry1954 January 4, 2013 at 18:04 #

    what a difference in looks for him. he must love you a lot to shave it off!!! lucky you

    Like

  18. slpmartin January 4, 2013 at 18:39 #

    I have cancelled the large shipment of Maltesers I had ordered for you since it would appear that you’ve been naughty…not nice to your hub…I thought the hub’s beard looked great! 😉

    Like

  19. Al January 4, 2013 at 19:11 #

    Sometimes the facial hair covers a less appealing feature or two. When I shaved my mustache off once my nose grew two sizes. Before you start with the Pinocchio jokes, it was always that size but the stach makes it look smaller. I later discovered that a goatee would disguise one of my chins.

    The hub is lucky to have a nice shock of hair on top still!

    Like

  20. sanstorm January 4, 2013 at 19:48 #

    I have been facial hair fan in my time, but I think he should shave the tash off too. Just to see.

    Like

    • Pseu January 4, 2013 at 19:55 #

      it’s obviously your turn to get up at 4 am and do a little shaving while he sleeps… then we can see the hairless result?

      Like

  21. vastlycurious.com January 4, 2013 at 22:44 #

    I liked Mr Choppers but I am glad you are happy!! ONE of your BEST ever at the expense of your poor husband!

    Like

  22. Patti January 4, 2013 at 23:58 #

    Hilarious! Fun with facial hair.

    Like

  23. Rorybore January 5, 2013 at 00:45 #

    I confess to be a bit of a sucker for a goatee. I have no idea why since I also whine about the itchy-scratchy mess of actually being up close and personal to one. darn it though…..hubby just looks so good….and kinda bad also, with one that I cannot resist.
    This settles it: I must have a soft spot for “hot messes”.
    The hairball cracked me up LOL

    Like

  24. adinparadise January 5, 2013 at 01:09 #

    I much prefer no facial hair, both on a man and a woman. 😀

    Like

  25. benzeknees January 5, 2013 at 07:49 #

    You are a cruel taskmaster Tilly Bud!

    Like

  26. Grannymar January 6, 2013 at 22:15 #

    Tilly, you said above “I like to keep him on his toes.” I want to know why. Does Hub have hair on the soles of his feet? 😉

    Like

  27. wavensongz January 7, 2013 at 00:27 #

    Since I know you will not pass on the comment to him, I will not leave one for him but for you “DO WHAT YOU GOT TO DO”. You got my #, RIGHT LOL 😀

    Like

  28. Musings January 10, 2013 at 08:02 #

    Actually, I’ve been wanting my husband to get rid of his mustache too. You’d think I’d be used to it after 35 years.

    Like

  29. eof737 January 16, 2013 at 09:19 #

    He looked great with the full beard… but them again, it’s not my business. 😉

    Like

I welcome your comments but be warned: I'm menopausal and as likely to snarl as smile. Wine or Maltesers are an acceptable bribe; or a compliment about my youthful looks and cheery disposition will do in a pinch.

