It’s All Geek To Me

12 Jan

A message for my regular readers: Sorry to give you a new post when I promised you a week of old posts.  I wrote and scheduled this post last Saturday, before my back problem kicked in.

I’m a bit of a nerd.

I realised it last week, when I read your Six Word Saturdays.  I caught myself counting them, checking that everyone had used only six words.  

It occurred to me that I do it every time.

I’m not sure what would happen if somebody dared to use five or seven words instead of six.  

I’d probably have to expel them from the collective.

NERD.

NERD. (Photo credit: lippert61)

For more Six Word Saturdays go here.

19 Responses to “It’s All Geek To Me”

  1. lenwilliamscarver January 12, 2013 at 09:06 #

    that also might be considered ‘anal’ lol

    Like

  2. vivinfrance January 12, 2013 at 09:15 #

    I remember someone once telling me I was a word short. Was it you?

    Like

  3. Pseu January 12, 2013 at 10:10 #

    So contractions count as one word do they? 😉

    Like

  4. misswhiplash January 12, 2013 at 10:17 #

    sorry that you have bad back……that’s six words

    Like

  5. barb19 January 12, 2013 at 10:26 #

    I also check for six words! See? 😉
    Does that mean we are anal?

    Like

  6. Elaine - I used to be indecisive January 12, 2013 at 12:18 #

    You are not alone. 🙂 I always check them too!

    Like

  7. Karen Snyder January 12, 2013 at 12:48 #

    Can you say obsessive compulsive disorder? Six words, and I’m the same. 🙂

    Like

  8. mairedubhtx January 12, 2013 at 15:04 #

    You keep me on my toes! I will be sure I only use six words. Usually I make sure I count them on my fingers–twice. Now I’ll count three times. Now go rest back,

    Like

  9. laurieanichols January 12, 2013 at 15:12 #

    I wouldn’t say that you were a nerd. I would say that you were a stickler for the rules, that isn’t nerdy, it is following the rules as they are to be followed. I am simply happy to read whatever you write so I never count. I just sit back and absorb happily. 🙂

    Like

  10. vastlycurious.com January 12, 2013 at 18:20 #

    Last week LOTS of people used more than six words and I wondered why you did not say anything..

    You must be a nice person.

    Like

  11. Viveka January 12, 2013 at 19:52 #

    Linda, 5 or 6 words … I can say it in 3 – I like you!

    Like

  12. kateshrewsday January 12, 2013 at 23:18 #

    I do the same! Like counting syllables – it’s automatic. It must be the poet in you, checking the pentameter.

    Like

  13. benzeknees January 13, 2013 at 02:45 #

    I nominated you for some awards: http://benzeknees.wordpress.com/2013/01/12/award-season/
    I look forward to your reply!

    Like

  14. Grannymar January 13, 2013 at 15:37 #

    Hope you are feeling better soon.

    Like

  15. thehutts January 14, 2013 at 05:02 #

    I do to! Looking forward to meeting you in Carlisle in March. Great second hand book shop to visit and, for me and Mum, a wool and craft shop but don’t let me spend too much money in either.

    Like

  16. thehutts January 14, 2013 at 05:04 #

    Oh no – I’ve made a spelling mistake.

    Like

  17. eof737 January 16, 2013 at 08:26 #

    Hope you feel better

    Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 6-Word Saturday: Sore Behind | rarasaur - January 13, 2013

    […] discovered this challenge via The Laughing Housewife.  Read all about the 6-Word Saturday Challenge here: […]

    Like

I welcome your comments but be warned: I'm menopausal and as likely to snarl as smile. Wine or Maltesers are an acceptable bribe; or a compliment about my youthful looks and cheery disposition will do in a pinch.

