I Like Big Prompts And I Cannot Lie

22 Jan
A pregnant woman

A pregnant woman (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Write page three of your autobiography.

My Mum stood up and said, ‘I don’t remember coughing.’  Then she realised her waters had broken.

[Insert several photographs of an old cottage suite with a damp patch]

*

Tell us about a guilty pleasure that you hate to love.

Where do I start?  Not with anything I’ve already told to death:

  • Maltesers (make me fat)
  • Twilight (makes me stupid)
  • Tormenting WordPress prompters (makes them look fathead stupid and may get me kicked off WordPress one day)

I’ll tell you about my latest guilty pleasure, as of this morning:

The Hub bought me a laptop for Christmas.  My back still aches from sitting at the computer way too long, though regular breaks help (thank you, readers, for the tips).  The Hub nagged until I heard him and, as a result, I have spent this morning lying on the couch, under my Vivquilt and laptop, snug against the cold and resenting toilet breaks.  I may never get up again.  That being so, this couch may end up looking like my mother’s.

 

A writer once said, “You are the average of the five people you spend the most time with.” If this is true, which five people would you like to spend your time with?

  • Jesus (to be good, kind, tolerant and loving)
  • The Hub (to be confident and attractive)
  • Tory Boy (to be smart and funny)
  • Spud (to be smart and funny) (no favouritism from this mother)
  • The head of Mars Confectionery (to be Malteser available at all times)

*

What question do you hate to be asked?  Why?

What exactly is in this dish I’m eating?

‘Don’t ask; don’t tell’ is my motto.

*

Describe your last attempt to learn something that did not come easily to you.


How to turn off my phone.  It did not end well, for the phone or my finger.  Spud showed me an acceptable compromise: how to put it on ‘Silent’.  If only the Hub had such a button.

*

Explore the room you’re in as if you’re seeing it for the first time. Pretend you know nothing. What do you see? Who is the person who lives there?

I see a stain on the couch; it must be my mother’s house.

 

*

 

 

 

30 Responses to “I Like Big Prompts And I Cannot Lie”

  1. viveka January 22, 2013 at 12:33 #

    All in favor for the … mobile phone bit – more should know how to put their phones on silent .. hate all those silly signals. What is wrong with a normal tune ????? *smile

    Like

  2. vivinfrance January 22, 2013 at 12:40 #

    You have excelled yourself today, and I’m really glad you can save your back. Don’t burn your legs on a hot laptop, though!

    Like

  3. lanceleuven January 22, 2013 at 12:45 #

    Full stars simply for the excellent title. The rest is just a bonus! 🙂

    Like

  4. sharechair January 22, 2013 at 13:17 #

    If it wasn’t for a laptop, I would never blog, etc. I don’t like sitting at a computer, but having this on my lap in a comfy chair …. well, there is almost no reason to get up anymore.

    Like

  5. misswhiplash January 22, 2013 at 13:18 #

    I sure agree with what the other two said…loved it….you really are a Laughing Housewife cos you makes us all laugh and brighten up each day

    Like

  6. mairedubhtx January 22, 2013 at 13:59 #

    Another stellar disposal of five prompts in a single blow! I admire your creativity and succinctness. I wish I had your ability and sense of humor. Good job!

    Like

  7. bevchen January 22, 2013 at 14:12 #

    Very funny. WordPress should be proud to have you responding to their prompts 😉

    Like

  8. laurieanichols January 22, 2013 at 15:18 #

    As I was reading your answers, my smile was getting bigger and bigger and my nostrils were flaring from laughing internally until I got to the part of “If only the Hub had such a button” The laughter could no longer be contained. I sometimes think the same thing for my hubby. You know I love him but can he talk and talk and talk. Ah Tilly great stuff!!!!

    Like

  9. slpmartin January 22, 2013 at 15:28 #

    As always quite funny…I wonder do the folks at WP read these? They should it help them develop a sense of humor.

    Like

  10. klrs09 January 22, 2013 at 15:37 #

    Very funny. Seriously, go be a comedian. Enjoy snuggling with the laptop.

    Like

  11. SchmidleysScribbling January 22, 2013 at 16:28 #

    Such a small world. David’s best friend and best man at our wedding is married to the EX-wife of the Mars Candy Bar heir, whom she refers to as Mr Marsbar. They are awfully rich thanks to people like you. Dianne

    Like

  12. terry1954 January 22, 2013 at 16:53 #

    You have the funniest blog, I swear!!!!

    Like

  13. sanstorm January 22, 2013 at 20:06 #

    Well done persevering with the dreaded prompts. I used to like them, but now my brain just won’t go there.
    Entertaining, Tilly.

    Like

  14. Amba Nair January 22, 2013 at 22:57 #

    Tilly! I feel like my day is incomplete unless I stop in to comment on your post or say something to you 🙂 You have become the friendly neighbor I look forward to chit chatting with, at least once a day.

    I bought myself a small laptop table from Amazon, and I sit on the floor with cushions under and behind me. Helps me maintain good posture and prevents “me” butt and back from crying out in protest from the long hours I spend on my laptop.

    PS: Ugh i hate toilet breaks too. Especially considering that I drink 3.2 l of water everyday, that is quiet a few breaks 🙂 I fear I may get stuck to my cushion if I don’t get up once in a while!

    Like

    • Tilly Bud - The Laughing Housewife January 23, 2013 at 13:12 #

      Thanks for the lovely compliment. Because you are fairly new here, I won’t kick you out for being nice. But you are on a warning 😀

      Not sure I could get up from the floor once I was down there, but I like the idea.

      Like

  15. Grannymar January 23, 2013 at 11:19 #

    Thanks for the reminder, I better take a critical look at my rooms, Elly is coming on Friday!

    Like

  16. sarsm January 24, 2013 at 11:01 #

    Glad the hub got you a laptop. Enjoy!

    Like

  17. eof737 February 1, 2013 at 13:24 #

    I sit at my dining table to write… anywhere else and my back hurts. 🙂

    Like

I welcome your comments but be warned: I'm menopausal and as likely to snarl as smile. Wine or Maltesers are an acceptable bribe; or a compliment about my youthful looks and cheery disposition will do in a pinch.