Weekly Photo Challenge: Unique

3 Feb
Korea and a World Population of 7 Billion

Korea and a World Population of 7 Billion (Photo credit: United Nations Photo)

I didn’t take this photo, but it occurred to me that, though there are seven billion people in the world, we are all unique.  Which is directly opposite to the claim that we are all the same, which I also believe.  

We are unique in our alikeness and alike in our uniqueness.  Some of us are weird (according to my husband); some of us are allegedly normal.  Some of us have an over-developed sense of humour; others have an over-developed pituitary gland.  Some of us consider chocolate to be the missing food group; some of us will live longer than those of us who consider chocolate to be the missing food group; some of us will enjoy life more than those of us who don’t have a missing food group.

My point is: hello friend; you are different to me.  I love that.  

You love it, too?  We are so alike!    How weird is that?

*

*

 

39 Responses to “Weekly Photo Challenge: Unique”

  1. Pseu February 3, 2013 at 10:28 #

    “We are all part of the problem as well as the solution, and acknowledging that creates a sense of commonality.”

    ~ Abby Ferber

    Like

  2. Amba February 3, 2013 at 10:44 #

    Love your “unique” take on the unique weekly challenge 🙂 We are all so similar yet so different, well said Tilly!

    Like

  3. vivinfrance February 3, 2013 at 10:58 #

    You’ve got my head spinning again!

    Like

  4. bevchen February 3, 2013 at 11:06 #

    This is much too deep for a Sunday morning 😉

    Like

  5. jmgoyder February 3, 2013 at 11:35 #

    I love weird, and I love different and I love you!

    Like

    • misswhiplash February 3, 2013 at 11:46 #

      you are won( I know) weird wonderful woman…see I had to use a w…now that is weird!

      Like

    • Tilly Bud - The Laughing Housewife February 3, 2013 at 21:11 #

      We’re having the girl equivalent of a bromance!

      Gomance? Womance? Don’tdance?

      Like

  6. Katharine Trauger February 3, 2013 at 12:55 #

    Funny gal!

    I once knew a set of super-identical twins, about 12 years old, Margaret and Patricia (Peggy and Patty) whose parents even had trouble telling them apart. Each of them seemed to be able to tell who she was, though. But there was another set, boys, whom no one could distiinguish except for a small scar under the chin of one of them. Not sure which one. Their names were Shane and Shawn, and their friends called each of them Shane-Shawn.

    Anyway, I think I would suffer in such a life.

    Rather be unique. 🙂

    Like

  7. laurieanichols February 3, 2013 at 13:19 #

    This post is so cool in its perspective. Hats off to you Tilly!:)

    Like

  8. mairedubhtx February 3, 2013 at 15:02 #

    You’re right. We’re all basically the same, but we’re all unique. Great use of the photo.

    Like

  9. Karen Snyder February 3, 2013 at 15:20 #

    The more we are different, the more we are the same! 🙂 Loved this!!

    Like

  10. gigihawaii February 3, 2013 at 16:26 #

    Oh, what a nice post, Tilly. Yes, we all are different and the same. That’s what makes the human race so interesting.

    Like

  11. vastlycurious.com February 3, 2013 at 16:49 #

    Very true words!

    Like

  12. slpmartin February 3, 2013 at 17:46 #

    Indeed…these words are true.

    Like

  13. viveka February 3, 2013 at 19:18 #

    Very nice post, Linda …. you just nailed it … we are different, but not that different. And there is a place for us all .. here on earth.

    Like

  14. kateshrewsday February 3, 2013 at 19:39 #

    One of my favourite comments on individuality of all time

    Like

  15. sanstorm February 3, 2013 at 19:54 #

    Very profound today, Tilly.

    Like

  16. klrs09 February 3, 2013 at 21:28 #

    Wonderfully said.

    Like

  17. timkeen40 February 3, 2013 at 22:05 #

    I am going to steel one from Saturday Night Live, because I love it so much. With Seven Billion in the world, if you are a one in a million kind of person, that means there are still seven thousand people just like you.

    Great post, Tilly Bud.

    Tim

    Like

  18. timkeen40 February 3, 2013 at 22:06 #

    Oops, I spelled “steal” incorrectly. I don’t know what it says about me that I had to come back and point that out, but I did.

    Tim

    Like

  19. Grannymar February 3, 2013 at 22:31 #

    We are indeed all uni cue as my brothers used to say.

    Like

  20. adinparadise February 3, 2013 at 23:33 #

    I’m just like you, Tilly, except that my tummy isn’t full of Maltesers. 🙂

    Like

  21. Dana February 4, 2013 at 02:31 #

    Wonderful observation!

    Like

  22. Three Well Beings February 4, 2013 at 06:09 #

    Very philosophical and really so true! I enjoyed thinking about this!

    Like

  23. benzeknees February 4, 2013 at 10:22 #

    Not weird at all – even though we are very different, we both love Maltesers, so we’re more alike than not.

    Like

  24. Ritu KT February 4, 2013 at 12:59 #

    That is definitely a very unique take. I liked your post as I got to see ‘Unique’ in fresh perspective 🙂 I like laughing people, I am one of them so following you to laugh along. Have a nice day!

    Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Weekly Photo Challenge – Unique | Beyond Beauty Tips - February 4, 2013

    […] The Laughing Housewife […]

    Like

I welcome your comments but be warned: I'm menopausal and as likely to snarl as smile. Wine or Maltesers are an acceptable bribe; or a compliment about my youthful looks and cheery disposition will do in a pinch.

