Joke 742

4 Apr
Diptheria? Why doctor, Mary hasn't been anywhe...

Diptheria? Why doctor, Mary hasn’t been anywhere except school!!! (Photo credit: Government & Heritage Library, State Library of NC)

Patient: Doctor, doctor. I’ve come out in spots like cherries on a cake.

Doctor: Ah, you must have analogy.

*

From the Daily Mail again.


18 Responses to “Joke 742”

  1. Three Well Beings April 4, 2013 at 06:46 #

    It’s late at night and I’m a little tired…it took me a minute to get this! LOL! Very clever! 🙂

    Like

  2. Gabrielle Bryden April 4, 2013 at 07:13 #

    that’s quite poetic (well it would be if it was a simile) 😉

    Like

  3. Grannymar April 4, 2013 at 08:28 #

    Good one! Even first thing in the morning.

    Like

  4. viv blake April 4, 2013 at 08:37 #

    Very good. Though that cartoonist can’t spell dypHtheria. Not that I’m blaming you, you understand.

    Like

  5. viv blake April 4, 2013 at 08:38 #

    Oops, neither can I: diphtheria

    Like

  6. WomanBitesDog April 4, 2013 at 10:55 #

    Hahaha

    Like

  7. countingducks April 4, 2013 at 11:18 #

    Ok, I actually laughed out loud. I’m not sure what that says about me, and prefer not top speculate. Keep em coming

    Like

  8. sharechair April 4, 2013 at 13:13 #

    I had to think a moment …. I’m slow in the morning. My first response was “huh?” but a moment later …… “OH!!! Clever!”

    Like

  9. slpmartin April 4, 2013 at 17:58 #

    Two cups of coffee helped with this one. 🙂

    Like

  10. viveka April 4, 2013 at 21:55 #

    I suppose it is funny, but I don’t get it at all .. this me being Swedish again. *laughing

    Like

    • The Laughing Housewife April 4, 2013 at 21:59 #

      It’s a clever play on words:

      analogy – similar to a simile, to say something is like something

      an allergy

      Like

      • viveka April 4, 2013 at 22:00 #

        Okay, thanks for coming back … to me and explaining.

        Like

        • The Laughing Housewife April 4, 2013 at 22:02 #

          My pleasure. I’m afraid some jokes just get lost in translation.

          If you want revenge, send me a Swedish joke (i.e. a joke in Swedish) – and then see how much I can understand of it.

          None, is being my guess 😀

          Like

I welcome your comments but be warned: I'm menopausal and as likely to snarl as smile. Wine or Maltesers are an acceptable bribe; or a compliment about my youthful looks and cheery disposition will do in a pinch.

