Hoist With My Own Facebook

15 Apr
Funny Church Signs

Funny Church Signs (Photo credit: au_tiger01)

You know how I like sharing church bulletin errors for my daily joke?

I may be in the next one.

My church is made up of three congregations which merged two years ago. When it became clear that the Vicar, David, was going to implode under the weight of the work, seven ministries were set up to help him.  I am the team leader for our Communications Ministry (hey, desperation makes even the likes of me look attractive).

Tomorrow night, we have a Ministry Teams Leaders’ meeting at the vicarage, at which we will most definitely, absolutely and certainly not complain (it is vital that you know this, because of what follows).  We have nothing – and no-one, especially not vicars – to complain about,  because we all love what we do and don’t need paying for it, not even one hundredth of a dong (you don’t believe me?  So xu me).

One of my jobs is to post details of our activities on Facebook.  If you are not on Facebook, I’d better explain something: when you type Such and such is happening @ such and such, the @ causes Facebook to offer names for you to link to, and puts it in the appropriate spot.  I always ignore them.  Or so I thought…

Today’s Facebook post – check Tuesday at 19:30:

DSCN1162

But you know what really incensed me?   The space I created between tomorrow night’s meeting and Wednesday’s date disappeared.  

Formatting errors – now that is a crime.

*

Previous Two Words:

Weltschmerz: sentimental pessimism.  Kind of how I feel every time I read my friends’ Facebook statuses.

Vilipend: to regard or treat as of little value or account.  What I just did to my Facebook friends, right before they all de-friended me.

21 Responses to “Hoist With My Own Facebook”

  1. viv blake April 15, 2013 at 16:55 #

    Bloops!

    Like

  2. Katharine Trauger April 15, 2013 at 17:03 #

    Poor Sweet Tilly. What goes around, comes around, they say. 😉

    Like

  3. Elaine - I used to be indecisive April 15, 2013 at 17:22 #

    Ooops, but funny. 🙂
    Clever use of the ‘x’ word. 😀

    Like

  4. Maddie Cochere April 15, 2013 at 18:02 #

    There was a murder at the Vicarage? Oh my!!

    Like

  5. adinparadise April 15, 2013 at 20:39 #

    This is very funny. I’m very intrigued to know who will be murdered. 🙂 Do you happen to live in Midsomer?

    Like

  6. Tom Merriman April 15, 2013 at 20:54 #

    I don’t use Facebook for that very reason, Tilly.

    Like

  7. Laurie Nichols April 15, 2013 at 21:04 #

    So the group leaders are meeting on Wednesday to catch the murderer. I wish them luck 😉

    Like

  8. colonialist April 15, 2013 at 22:36 #

    So that’s why David was last seen heading for China at speed?

    Like

  9. colonialist April 15, 2013 at 23:02 #

    So that’s why David the seriously scared vicar was last seen heading for China at speed? Hilarious!

    Like

  10. gigihawaii April 16, 2013 at 00:10 #

    I have heard so many bad things about Facebook, which is why I am not a member. It just sickens me how many teenagers commit suicide because of what is written about them on Facebook.

    Like

  11. jmgoyder April 16, 2013 at 02:21 #

    Too funny!

    Like

  12. SidevieW April 16, 2013 at 16:17 #

    The murder at the Vicarage…..

    Is this one NOT going to have the butler the guilty one?

    Like

  13. Al April 17, 2013 at 00:22 #

    Murder at the Vicarage? Have you been reading Hercule Poirot again, Tilly?

    Like

I welcome your comments but be warned: I'm menopausal and as likely to snarl as smile. Wine or Maltesers are an acceptable bribe; or a compliment about my youthful looks and cheery disposition will do in a pinch.

