Joke 780

12 May
Fishing for Youths

Fishing for Youths (Photo credit: djwudi)

Far, far away, in the tropical waters of the Caribbean, two prawns were swimming around in the sea.  One was called Justin and the other was named Christian.

The prawns were constantly being harassed and threatened by sharks that inhabited the area.

Finally, one day, Justin said to Christian, “I’m fed up with being a prawn; I wish I was a shark, and then I wouldn’t have any worries about being eaten.”

A large, mysterious cod appeared and said, “Your wish is granted.”

Lo and behold, Justin turned into a shark.

Horrified, Christian immediately swam away, afraid of being eaten by his friend.

Time passed and Justin found life as a shark boring and lonely.  All his old mates simply swam away whenever he came close to them, because of his menacing appearance.

While swimming alone one day, he saw the mysterious cod again and he thought perhaps the mysterious fish could change him back.  He approached the cod and begged for help and, lo and behold, he found himself turned back into his former self.

With tears of joy in his tiny little eyes, Justin swam back to his friends and bought them all a cocktail.  Looking around the gathering at the reef, he realized he couldn’t see his old pal.

“Where’s Christian?” he asked.

“He’s at home, still distraught that his best friend changed sides to the enemy and became a shark,” he was told.

Eager to put things right, Justin went to find his friend.  He banged on the door and shouted, “It’s me, Justin, your old friend.  Come out and see me again.”

Christian replied, “No way, man, you’ll eat me. You’re a shark, the enemy, and I’ll not be tricked into being your dinner.”

Justin cried back, “No, I’m not. That was the old me.  I’ve changed!  I  found cod. I’m a prawn again, Christian.”

Thanks to Grannymar for this one!

 

14 Responses to “Joke 780”

  1. Terry May 12, 2013 at 04:13 #

    good one tonight!!!!

    Like

  2. slpmartin May 12, 2013 at 04:27 #

    And as Sunday approaches…I shall keep this one in mind…had to laugh..a good one.

    Like

  3. judyt54 May 12, 2013 at 04:35 #

    oh thats a killer
    my lips went numb

    Like

  4. benzeknees May 12, 2013 at 08:02 #

    Hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha

    Like

  5. SidevieW May 12, 2013 at 08:40 #

    very punny. *giggle*

    Like

  6. viv blake May 12, 2013 at 09:13 #

    This one produced howls and groans of laughter from Jock, who then proceeded to tell endless shaggy stories for me to send to you. I may or may not oblige – most of them were so awful, like the one about I don’t eat soda scones so late – they make me so disconsolate.

    Like

  7. mairedubhtx May 12, 2013 at 12:50 #

    Oh, how I loved this one! Didn’t see it coming!

    Like

  8. sharechair May 12, 2013 at 13:53 #

    Did not see that coming! 😆

    Like

  9. adinparadise May 12, 2013 at 19:04 #

    I certainly didn’t see this one coming, Tilly. Good one. 😀

    Like

  10. David J. Bauman May 13, 2013 at 01:15 #

    I cannot believe I let you do that to me, Tilly. I’m going to have to tell you about Larry Lobster and Sam Clam.

    Like

  11. Maddie Cochere May 13, 2013 at 05:44 #

    You got me with this one, Tilly. I had no idea what was coming. LOL!! 🙂

    Like

  12. colonialist May 13, 2013 at 21:12 #

    i fear that some of the BAC I have come across would announce their non-amusement!
    Er, what does one do with the under-fourteen youths when you catch them? 🙂

    Like

All comments are welcome, though compliments may result in you having your Malteser privileges revoked

Nicola Hulme Author

Exploring creative writing and learning every day

Worldly Winds

It's not easy being me!

Vivinfrance's Blog

mainly poetry, also quilts, pictures, life-writing and the occasional short story.

Unpicked:Restitched

Where is the heart of Stockport?

Grains of Sand

notices and reflections in ministry

The Cvillean

The adventures of little read writing Hood

