A Man In A Can

13 May

I saw this wonderful clip about astronaut Chris Hadfield on Sky News:

The Bowie purists might not like it, but I do.

In other news…

Last night, the Hub and I heard what I can only describe as a weird chattering.  I thought it might be magpies but it was after their bed time and higher-pitched.

Turns out it was a couple of courting foxes, lying in the road and making eyes at each other.  Once they saw us watching, they ran off.

I can’t blame them; I’d be spooked, too, if someone peered into our bedroom at an interesting moment.

 

18 Responses to “A Man In A Can”

  1. viv blake May 13, 2013 at 09:22 #

    Number 1 son put a lot more interesting space stuff on his FB page http://www.upworthy.com/some-strange-things-are-happening-to-astronauts-returning-to-earth

    Like

  2. Viveka May 13, 2013 at 11:20 #

    I prefer this to Bowie …. great video. How could you??? disturbing nature – it seems to be spring in the air even on your street just now. .

    Like

  3. gigihawaii May 13, 2013 at 11:38 #

    There are a few feral cats in my neighborhood that like to make noise. I can’t complain, because these cats keep the rodents away.

    Like

  4. colonialist May 13, 2013 at 13:46 #

    Maybe he COULD give up his day job … night job … day and night job!

    Like

  5. McGuffy Ann May 13, 2013 at 14:39 #

    What an interesting post! I do like Bowie.

    Like

  6. laurieanichols May 13, 2013 at 15:12 #

    How sweet, human lovebirds and fox lovebirds, isn’t Mother Nature grand? The video is cool.:)

    Like

  7. slpmartin May 13, 2013 at 15:40 #

    Oh my…it would appear that you have upset the balance of nature with you window peeking. 🙂

    Like

  8. Terry May 13, 2013 at 16:13 #

    a really good post!!!!

    Like

  9. SchmidleysScribbling May 13, 2013 at 16:57 #

    Next thing you know they will be in your henhouse. Dianne

    Like

  10. Tom Merriman May 13, 2013 at 21:06 #

    I like this too, Tilly. And the Earth looks gorgeous! 😀

    Like

  11. SidevieW May 14, 2013 at 00:21 #

    He made space fun and interesting again. Such a star!

    Like

  12. benzeknees May 14, 2013 at 07:47 #

    We have magpies here in Alberta too – we didn’t have them in Manitoba or NW Ontario, so when we moved here it was my first time seeing them! Have I told you this before?

    Like

  13. Elaine - I used to be indecisive May 14, 2013 at 11:49 #

    Brilliant – I think I prefer it to Bowie! It’s a very interesting video to watch too. Somehow I have completely missed the fact that this man has been keeping everyone entertained from the ISS viaTwitter.
    I know that fox sound very well – we have lots of them round here and they go on and on for weeks and weeks (or so it seems!).

    Like

    • The Laughing Housewife May 14, 2013 at 15:45 #

      Really? It’s the first time we’ve ever heard it.

      Like

      • Elaine - I used to be indecisive May 15, 2013 at 06:18 #

        We have a foxes’ den in a neighbouring garden and another one nearby, so there is plenty of fox action! There’s the courting/chattering noises that you have heard and later there’s some sort of territorial calling (I think that’s what it is) and then there’s the sounds of the cubs playing in the back garden in the middle of the night. I nearly jumped out of my skin one night when I was standing out in the garden, in the dark, with our dog, and there was a loud ‘barking’ sound just beside me!

        Like

        • The Laughing Housewife May 15, 2013 at 08:40 #

          Wow! I know we’re supposed to be angry about them, but I love foxes. How great to be so close.

          Like

I welcome your comments but be warned: I'm menopausal and as likely to snarl as smile. Wine or Maltesers are an acceptable bribe; or a compliment about my youthful looks and cheery disposition will do in a pinch.

