Groggy Is As Groggy Does

22 May

Yesterday was a long day because we had visitors and, as they were people we’d never met before (an airline geek internet friend – and his wife – of the Hub; a lovely couple), that meant a major clean (actual) and declutter (pretend – everything went in the shed and will come out again today) of the house, followed by pretty sandwich-making on my part.

They left around seven and the Hub and I watched a movie before bed, but I struggled to sleep because I was still feeling wound up by the unusual activity (cleaning).  I finally fell asleep some time after midnight but the alarm woke me at six-thirty in the middle of a dream in which I felt really ill – so ill, in fact, that I still felt it when I awoke and I was groggy for about an hour after.

I put the shower on for Spud (yes, I spoil him, but he’s in the middle of exams and I want him to have as much sleep as he possibly can, and I can add five minutes by preparing his shower) and went downstairs.  It was only as I was waiting for the kettle to boil that I realised I had forgotten to wake him.  Not good on a day when he has two exams.

He was done and down before I’d made his breakfast (a boy doing his exams must not do them on an empty stomach), half-asleep as I was; and he couldn’t get much sense out of me.

He tells me his thought processes went like this: Mum’s weird this morning.  I wonder if she could be having a stroke?  Oh no!  Who’ll make my breakfast in future?

When I related this to the Hub, he suggested that Spud might have some difficulty at university without me.

Spud reckons it won’t be a problem: he’s going to live off cereal and tomato sauce butties.

Well, it’s been nice chatting to you but I must go: I have to prepare a summer-long cookery course for a teenager: I want grandchildren one day.

32 Responses to “Groggy Is As Groggy Does”

  1. Janie Jones May 22, 2013 at 12:27 #

    The post was comical, but I love the photo! Good luck to Spud on his exams!

    Like

  2. bevchen May 22, 2013 at 12:42 #

    Sounds like a typical teenage boy to me. My brother could only cook omlette when he left for uni but somehow managed to survive the 3 years without getting scurvy 😀

    Good luck to Spud with his exams!

    Like

  3. viv blake May 22, 2013 at 12:42 #

    Poor groggy Tilly. Have a large grog, followed by a long nap, so that you are on top form by the time the conquering hero returns home. Good luck Spud.

    None of my lot needed a cookery course before going off to Uni, but I did have to give Jock’s son a course in ECONOMICAL cookery, after the bank took his credit card away! He even learned to like liver, and fish, which he’d refused to touch at home!

    Like

  4. colonialist May 22, 2013 at 12:44 #

    It is lovely to know you have a definite purpose in life!

    Like

  5. mairedubhtx May 22, 2013 at 12:58 #

    You are a good mother.

    Like

  6. Al May 22, 2013 at 12:59 #

    That is a marvelously cute picture. I can see why he has you eating out of the palm of his hand.

    Like

  7. thehutts May 22, 2013 at 13:00 #

    Good luck with the cookery course – putting his own toppings on pizzas and watching his father cook has inspired Fraser. He likes making smoothies and hot dog sausages rolled in puff pastry now as his ‘signature dishes’! Sally

    Like

  8. McGuffy Ann May 22, 2013 at 13:18 #

    Oh my, what a way to start a day!

    Like

  9. gigihawaii May 22, 2013 at 13:41 #

    lol.way to go, Tilly.

    Like

  10. viveka May 22, 2013 at 13:51 #

    That photo is priceless, Linda!!! Good for Spud … fixing breakfast for himself – action upstairs on that young man. Lucky you – and I’m sure you will have loads of grandchildren one day.

    Like

  11. Laurie Nichols May 22, 2013 at 15:03 #

    Good luck Spud! I know that he’ll do extremely well with his exams. My two would have had the same train of thought as Spud. I know that with my two, it isn’t the lack of cooking know how, it’s just always better when Maman makes it.Spud might be thinking along the same lines. I know that when I visit my mother, it does taste nicer when she is feeding me:)

    Like

  12. SchmidleysScribbling May 22, 2013 at 15:16 #

    Oh the joys of parenthood. Michael Pollen says if Americans would start cooking again they would be healthier. Tell Spud real men can cook. Dianne

    Like

    • The Laughing Housewife May 22, 2013 at 15:18 #

      He knows it! His father is an excellent cook, health permitting. He’s just lazy (Spud). The girls won’t like it…

      Like

  13. slpmartin May 22, 2013 at 15:55 #

    Hmm…I now know why my mother insisted that I knew how to cook for myself before going to university. 🙂

    Like

  14. vastlycurious.com May 22, 2013 at 16:04 #

    Sometimes us mums are weird in the morning! Cute picture! Did you bake it?

    Like

  15. sheilamariegrimes May 22, 2013 at 18:02 #

    devoted mum!

    Like

  16. adinparadise May 22, 2013 at 18:20 #

    I’m so glad that you’re a really valued member of your family, Tilly. Good luck to Spud with the exams. You really do spoil him. I wish mine was still at home to spoil. 😦

    Like

  17. Grannymar May 22, 2013 at 20:08 #

    Hope the exams went well. Remember, starvation is good sauce, and when mammy is not around, they soon learn…. but expect a few “How do you…..?” emails or phone calls.

    Like

  18. Terry May 22, 2013 at 21:04 #

    that is the most adorable face, why do kids have to grow up

    Like

  19. SidevieW May 22, 2013 at 21:18 #

    love that photo, what a cute face!

    i see you will be raising a really well-rounded man able to fend for himself. only wonderful mothers do that!

    Like

  20. sharechair May 22, 2013 at 22:02 #

    That picture is so adorable. Pure glee!!

    Like

  21. jatwood4 May 23, 2013 at 03:50 #

    I hope you have had a better night’s sleep, when you read this!

    Like

  22. benzeknees May 23, 2013 at 06:26 #

    I wonder if there is something going around or in the air? I have been feeling groggy for days & can barely make myself function. You’re so kind to Spud!

    Like

All comments are welcome, though compliments may result in you having your Malteser privileges revoked

Nicola Hulme Author

Exploring creative writing and learning every day

Worldly Winds

It's not easy being me!

Vivinfrance's Blog

mainly poetry, also quilts, pictures, life-writing and the occasional short story.

Unpicked:Restitched

Where is the heart of Stockport?

Grains of Sand

notices and reflections in ministry

The Cvillean

The adventures of little read writing Hood

