Topic #1: Cleaning

28 May
A toilet with the potentially dangerous arrang...

A toilet with the potentially dangerous arrangement of the seat being up (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Expecting visitors, I cleaned like I meant it last week.

That’s right, you heard me: my house is clean.

It feels weird.

That’s that topic covered.

*

An idle thought

I once saw a safety advert which said that mixing cleaning chemicals in a toilet can lead to explosions.

I wondered this: if I put neat bleach in the toilet, forget it’s there, and then do a wee, will I set light to my bottom?

30 Responses to “Topic #1: Cleaning”

  1. List of X May 28, 2013 at 12:28 #

    Only if you do a wee with a cleaning agent :))

    Like

  2. mairedubhtx May 28, 2013 at 12:57 #

    Not “those” chemicals.

    Like

  3. misswhiplash May 28, 2013 at 13:13 #

    you plonker! but you made me laugh!

    Like

  4. sharechair May 28, 2013 at 13:20 #

    Please let us know if you scald your bottom. 😯

    Like

  5. Janie Jones May 28, 2013 at 14:26 #

    I do believe Mythbusters covered this topic in one of their shows. Do you get Mythbusters in the UK?

    Like

  6. Laurie Nichols May 28, 2013 at 14:29 #

    I don’t think bleach is the one to worry about, it might be a combination of all the chemicals in other cleaning products that might make you go boom. Don’t go boom Tilly I would use ditilled white vinegar for cleaning and baking soda, much safer and cheaper and you don’t go boom.

    Like

  7. Rorybore May 28, 2013 at 14:55 #

    I don’t know about setting fire to your bottom…..but I can tell you that half a bottle of shampoo and bath bomb in the toilet has tremendous results.

    Like

  8. Terry May 28, 2013 at 15:25 #

    LOL I don’t know. Why don’t you try it first and then let me know. hehe

    Like

  9. viv blake May 28, 2013 at 16:10 #

    Not when you wee, but take care when you fart!

    Like

  10. viveka May 28, 2013 at 17:05 #

    Too clean to use … I will go next door *smile – and I hope you know that blench kills all the good bacterial too – so the use of too much of it – can give a terrible smell. And as Viv says … be careful when you fart .. so you don’t land in Tokyo.

    Like

  11. gigihawaii May 28, 2013 at 17:42 #

    Oh, no, please don’t try that dangerous combination! We want you alive when your guest arrives!

    Like

  12. adinparadise May 28, 2013 at 18:57 #

    I had a great giggle at all your comments. I wouldn’t take the chance. My buns aren’t insured, although hubby says they should be. 😆

    Like

  13. sheilamariegrimes May 28, 2013 at 19:49 #

    funny! Been there done that …fizzled!

    Like

  14. sanstorm May 28, 2013 at 20:35 #

    My house is clean also. The guests have just left, so the house is about to spiral into squalor over the next couple of hours. I am exHAUSTed.

    So behind on everything else.

    Like

  15. Grannymar May 28, 2013 at 20:57 #

    That was better than a spoon of medicine! 😆

    Like

  16. Grannymar May 28, 2013 at 20:59 #

    I’m back, Did you know that keyboards and mobile phones carry more germs than a loo?

    Like

  17. benzeknees May 28, 2013 at 21:37 #

    Love the look of your clean NEW toilet! I don’t know about setting your butt aflame, but I would certainly be worried about bleach splashing my girlie bits!

    Like

  18. vastlycurious.com May 29, 2013 at 01:46 #

    I am the BEST last minute cleaner !!!!!

    Like

  19. Viciously Sweet May 30, 2013 at 00:46 #

    I cleaned my house for visitors too. It feels so weird because it’s so clean!

    Like

  20. Three Well Beings May 30, 2013 at 06:37 #

    Ka-BOOM! Scary thought! 🙂

    Like

  21. Helen Cherry June 1, 2013 at 08:31 #

    You’ll certainly risk a burnt bottom for sure!

    Like

All comments are welcome, though compliments may result in you having your Malteser privileges revoked

Nicola Hulme Author

Exploring creative writing and learning every day

Worldly Winds

It's not easy being me!

Vivinfrance's Blog

mainly poetry, also quilts, pictures, life-writing and the occasional short story.

Unpicked:Restitched

Where is the heart of Stockport?

Grains of Sand

notices and reflections in ministry

The Cvillean

The adventures of little read writing Hood

