Come Up And See My Etchings

25 Jun

I love my dentist.  The whole surgery.  I love them all.

The office opened at 08:45.  At 08:45:01 the phone was answered and an appointment made for 09:10.

By 09:35 my front tooth was back in place.  Look:

DSCN1430

The dentist was quite excited to have a chance to use her new adhesive, called Etch.  It stuck that sucker right back on and it feels more secure now than the rest of the teeth in my mouth.

I was fortunate that the tooth sheared off in one piece at an angle.  And that it stuck in the corn cob rather than down my gullet.

I was pleased that there was a work experience student there from Spud’s school, because it gave me a chance to boast that Spud had never needed any treatment at all in his seventeen years; not once.

I was chuffed when the dentist told the student how lovely and polite and friendly Spud was, and a pleasure not to treat.

I smiled all the way home.

All rather different from last night, when I was feeling very sorry for myself and my ugly, must never be seen in public again mouth.  Though I did get the giggles during one of my regular prayers:  O Lord, help me to keep my mouth shut and my lips sealed…

And now I’m off to a poetry reading.

 

30 Responses to “Come Up And See My Etchings”

  1. Laurie Nichols June 25, 2013 at 10:54 #

    Hooray!!

    Like

  2. Grannymar June 25, 2013 at 11:02 #

    Keep smiling!

    Like

  3. bluebee June 25, 2013 at 11:18 #

    lovely etchings, but i wouldn’t hang them on my wall

    Like

  4. http://vivinfrance.wordpress.com June 25, 2013 at 11:23 #

    You see how worthwhile it was for me to marry my dentist! Bravo for the tooth and the super glue (words not joined, deliberately) Have a good poetry reading.

    Like

  5. kiwidutch June 25, 2013 at 11:27 #

    Yeah!!!!!

    Like

  6. bevchen June 25, 2013 at 12:12 #

    Hooray for your dentist!

    Like

  7. Karen Snyder June 25, 2013 at 12:47 #

    Smile away!! 🙂

    Like

  8. Al June 25, 2013 at 12:58 #

    Now this is what I call a post with some bite to it!

    Like

  9. Ron.Ron. June 25, 2013 at 13:22 #

    Good for you TB! I’m smiling just reading about this. How did the reading go?

    Like

  10. mairedubhtx June 25, 2013 at 14:01 #

    Glad you have such a good dentist. Takes forever to get into see my dentist and he costs an arm and a leg.

    Like

  11. gigihawaii June 25, 2013 at 14:03 #

    I never heard of such an adhesive. Glad it worked for you.

    Like

  12. Rorybore June 25, 2013 at 15:00 #

    and here I’ve been telling the kids for years: don’t put glue in your mouth!! ha!
    Bravo and hooray: the laughing housewife gets her beautiful smile back just in time.
    hope the poetry reading went well..

    Like

  13. benzeknees June 25, 2013 at 15:41 #

    Glad to see your beautiful smile back Tilly Bud!

    Like

  14. slpmartin June 25, 2013 at 16:00 #

    Seems to me…there is a poem in that story somewhere. 🙂 Glad you’re still smiling.

    Like

  15. SchmidleysScribbling June 25, 2013 at 19:44 #

    I think its remarkable your tooth broke while you were eating corn on the cob. Two questions: Will you ever eat corn on the cob again? Is your dentist Ben Harper by any chance?

    Remember, when you’re smiling, the whole world smiles with you. Dianne

    Like

    • The Laughing Housewife June 25, 2013 at 22:53 #

      I’d rather pull my own teeth than go to Ben Harper!

      Sadly, I think that’s the last cotc for me… 😦 I daren’t take the chance of it happening again.

      Like

  16. Three Well Beings June 25, 2013 at 21:58 #

    Excellent outcome! I do hope the poetry reading was very satisfying! 🙂

    Like

  17. Janet Williams June 25, 2013 at 22:18 #

    Toothally impressed. Those teeth are beautifully aligned.

    Like

  18. colonialist June 25, 2013 at 23:25 #

    Etch will make tooth stronger than friction? 🙂

    Like

  19. Terry June 26, 2013 at 01:07 #

    he did a great job, I can’t even tell!!!

    Like

  20. kateshrewsday June 26, 2013 at 22:10 #

    Modern dentistry is positively miraculous. SO glad your dentist sorted that tooth out, Tilly. Now you need to test drive that smile 😀

    Like

  21. Janie Jones June 27, 2013 at 17:27 #

    Huzzah!!! Congratulations on a speedy recovery and a miracle working dentist!

    Like

  22. adinparadise July 1, 2013 at 12:20 #

    Yay for you, Tilly. Love that prayer. We should all pray it, often. 😀

    Like

All comments are welcome, though compliments may result in you having your Malteser privileges revoked

Nicola Hulme Author

Exploring creative writing and learning every day

Worldly Winds

It's not easy being me!

Vivinfrance's Blog

mainly poetry, also quilts, pictures, life-writing and the occasional short story.

Unpicked:Restitched

Where is the heart of Stockport?

Grains of Sand

notices and reflections in ministry

The Cvillean

The adventures of little read writing Hood

