Joke 827

28 Jun
*musicstartsslowly*

*musicstartsslowly* (Photo credit: icedsoul photography .:teymur madjderey)

There was a knock on the door one morning.  Seamus opened it to find a young, well-dressed man standing there who said, “Hello sir, I’m a Jehovah’s Witness.”

Seamus said, “Come in and sit down.”

After he offered his visitor a fresh cup of coffee, Seamus asked, “What do you want to talk about?”

The Jehovah’s Witness said, “Beats me.  Nobody ever let me in before.”

*

Thanks again to Grannymar for tickling my pink.  Love it!

 

14 Responses to “Joke 827”

  1. Terry June 28, 2013 at 04:13 #

    ain’t that the truth!!!

    Like

  2. slpmartin June 28, 2013 at 06:35 #

    That’s got a lot of truth in it…made me smile.

    Like

  3. adinparadise June 28, 2013 at 08:04 #

    Thanks for the laugh, Tilly. 😀

    Like

  4. SchmidleysScribbling June 28, 2013 at 16:27 #

    I let them in all the time. They are the best people in the world and perfectly harmless. That’s why Hilter killed so many of them. Dianne

    Like

    • Janet Williams June 30, 2013 at 17:51 #

      One friend of mine who goes to Church of England told me the same thing. She has tea with Jehovah Witnesses and they visit her regularly and give her support.

      Like

  5. David J. Bauman June 28, 2013 at 18:06 #

    I was in a hurry to get to work without being late Thursday. The door bell rang just as I was about to open the door, and since they asked for Brian, I kindly left him there with them in the door way as I waved my keys and rushed off. 🙂

    Like

  6. annandersonsblog June 28, 2013 at 22:12 #

    Thanks for the laugh! I think we’re on a wavelength. Check out my page and maybe we’ll be blog pals. (Andersonista’sBlog.) Cheers!

    Like

  7. Grannymar June 29, 2013 at 09:24 #

    Yesterday a blogger/twitter friend from Chicago, gifted me a new Joke book… so we are sure of a few new jokes over the next few months! 😀

    Like

  8. Janet Williams June 30, 2013 at 17:48 #

    I was in London. Twice, the Jehovah Witnesses stopped me and were very friendly to me. Perhaps I have the kind of face that attract the Jehovah Witnesses. Once I was in Camden town. One white woman spoke Mandarin Chinese to me and she spoke Chinese very fluently.

    I’ve been very impressed with their determination, and I liked their ‘pairing system’. There is always one white + one black; one white + one Chinese.

    Once, in Eastleigh, I was stopped by a black Jehovah Witness and he was sending Chinese leaflet to a Chinese takeaway shop. He spoke to me in Cantonese.

    I have a strong feeling that Jehovah Witnesses have a lot of linguists. Or, because they’re very devoted to their religion, they learn other languages to serve their purposes.

    In other denominations, do you see many linguists going out in the street sharing gospel?

    When I was about 14, I once opened the door to them, but they kept coming back. I had no problem, but my mum was crossed with me.

    By the way, have you ever read any publications of Jehovah Witnesses? I’ve been very impressed by their publications that I’ve ever received. I’m a linguist and I always like to compare publications. Their translation is of high quality and they’ve impressed me with their product.

    p/s: I’m not a Jehovah Witness.

    Like

  9. Ruby June 30, 2013 at 20:43 #

    I found the Mrs Browns Boys encounter with doorstep evangelists very funny – hough they were Mormons rather than JWs. Language is a bit colourful in places, so I won’t post it here, but I’m sure it can be found on YouTube

    Like

  10. Three Well Beings July 1, 2013 at 06:19 #

    Grannymar finds some good ones doesn’t she! This is a hoot!

    Like

  11. benzeknees July 1, 2013 at 08:55 #

    Hahahahahaha!

    Like

I welcome your comments but be warned: I'm menopausal and as likely to snarl as smile. Wine or Maltesers are an acceptable bribe; or a compliment about my youthful looks and cheery disposition will do in a pinch.

