Surprise, Surprise!

23 Sep

A parcel arrived in the post from Australia:

DSCN2145

The parcel was expected; the contents were not.  

That’s not as daft as it sounds – the lovely Blubee read my South African poetry collection via email; and was kind enough to print it out and send it back to me in the UK, with her annotations.  She also sent Maltesers, poetry, dogs, pens, napkins, Earl Grey, notebooks…she is clearly an avid reader/stalker.  She knows me well.  

I confess, I wouldn’t have opened the parcel until next week if I had known it was for my birthday; but I’m not sorry.

If you would like to learn more about Blubee, you can find her here.

As delighted as I was with everything, however (especially the book of poems written by dogs; so close to the truth, I suspect my own dogs may have submitted to publishers and not told me because they have greater success than I do), as lovely as it all was, what really touched me was the beautiful note Blubee wrote about my poetry and how it affected her.

Thank you so much, Blubee; you made my year.

43 Responses to “Surprise, Surprise!”

  1. laurieanichols September 23, 2013 at 14:56 #

    That is so wonderful, unexpected presents are the best.

    Like

  2. SidevieW September 23, 2013 at 15:32 #

    We have each found special people online. For me it was like leaving school where there were 12in matric and going to university where there were thousands to find friends in.

    Like

  3. misswhiplash September 23, 2013 at 15:56 #

    Another birthday! It doesn, t seem that long since the last one….in case l miss it…HAPPY BIRTHDAY mrs TillyB…and what a lovely suprise…enjoy your day

    Like

    • The Laughing Housewife September 24, 2013 at 20:11 #

      Thank you, Miss Dubya! It seems like it has come around quickly because we’ve hardly seen you 😦

      Like

      • misswhiplash September 30, 2013 at 17:07 #

        ah.. not seen but always here

        Like

  4. SchmidleysScribbling September 23, 2013 at 15:56 #

    Happy Birthday a week early. Have you tried Lady Grey tea? I love it. Dianne

    Like

  5. http://vivinfrance.wordpress.com September 23, 2013 at 16:04 #

    Remember the Loreal ad (Bleugh) – you ARE worth it.

    Like

  6. granny1947 September 23, 2013 at 16:23 #

    What a lovely thing to do for you….good on her.

    Like

  7. kiwidutch September 23, 2013 at 18:10 #

    She sounds like a fabulous lady!… I know you started celebrating your birthday early this year, but think of it rather as a birthday party in bite sized pieces… and the result is more than the sum of the parts.
    The package contents look like a very well thought out gift … enjoy!!!

    Like

  8. Tom Merriman September 23, 2013 at 20:58 #

    Happy birthday for next week, Tilly!

    Like

  9. kateshrewsday September 23, 2013 at 21:04 #

    Tilly, what a lovely surprise for you! Typical of Bluebee. Amazing, the relationships we build online. Enjoy!

    Like

    • The Laughing Housewife September 24, 2013 at 20:00 #

      I never expected to make friends when I started blogging; but I have made many. It’s wonderful!

      Like

  10. nrhatch September 23, 2013 at 21:05 #

    Ooh . . . I want a stalker like that! Happy (almost) Birthday!

    And, on an unrelated note, you might be interested in this:
    http://ericjohnbaker.wordpress.com/2013/09/22/its-not-too-late-to-enter-my-worst-short-story-contest/

    I entered “At Wit’s End.” It’s awful.

    Like

  11. Katharine Trauger September 23, 2013 at 21:15 #

    So glad for you, in many ways! My brother and I have stopped telling each other “happy birthday,” in favor of saying:

    “Happy New Year!”

    Have a wonderful time!

    Like

  12. siggiofmaine September 23, 2013 at 22:35 #

    Happy New Year 1 I like that … I can say it again next week. What an awesome and thoughtful gift. You must be in 7th heaven ! Thank you for sharing the news of the gift…
    it is wonderful.
    Peace and love
    Siggi

    Like

  13. slpmartin September 23, 2013 at 22:40 #

    Like

    • The Laughing Housewife September 24, 2013 at 19:58 #

      Thank you, Charlie! That took me right back to my childhood. I’d forgotten how posh Alice is; and what a chancer!

      Like

  14. Rorybore September 23, 2013 at 23:49 #

    What a lovely surprise! Happy Birthday! I recently got a nice surprise “care” package from an Australian blog buddy too. I swear they are the nicest people.

    Like

  15. jmgoyder September 24, 2013 at 05:35 #

    What a wonderful gesture and happy birthday, dear Tilly!

    Like

  16. Three Well Beings September 24, 2013 at 05:58 #

    How lovely–and how kind! I know you’ll enjoy each gift and appreciate the giver. 🙂

    Like

  17. barb19 September 24, 2013 at 07:02 #

    How lovely for Blubee to do that for you – we never know how much we touch each other with our “offerings”. Makes everything worthwhile!
    Now I must go over and have a gander at her site.

    Like

  18. bluebee September 24, 2013 at 13:20 #

    You are most welcome, Tilly. (PS – I don’t remember squashing any ‘dogs’ into the envelope – perhaps it was the weirdo at the post office… Is he stalking you too?)

    Like

  19. vastlycurious.com September 25, 2013 at 22:27 #

    What a kind thing for her to do and you seem to underrate yourself, we need you here !

    Like

  20. Grannymar September 26, 2013 at 17:29 #

    A well deserved surprise, after all you keep us smiling all year!

    Like

  21. benzeknees September 27, 2013 at 21:08 #

    Maltesers!

    Like

I welcome your comments but be warned: I'm menopausal and as likely to snarl as smile. Wine or Maltesers are an acceptable bribe; or a compliment about my youthful looks and cheery disposition will do in a pinch.

