Teddy Bear’s Pic-Not

11 Oct

The manky eyelids are clearing up, I’m happy to report.  The Hub suspects I had an allergic reaction to make up wipes.  The skin around my eyes is puffy and flaky but Vaseline seems to be doing the trick.

That’s the official reason for my swollen eyelids, anyway.  The truth is, Tory Boy left yesterday, after his ten-day visit – arrived on my birthday; left on his father’s: he has his priorities right – and now I feel like this:

20131003_183531

Photos courtesy of Tory Boy

The boys and I were walking the dogs in the rain when Tory Boy noticed that poor, sad teddy, sitting on a bin.

That’s how I feel every time one of my children isn’t here.

20131003_183548

On the flip side, I get my office back!  There’s always a silver lining.

 

32 Responses to “Teddy Bear’s Pic-Not”

  1. laurieanichols October 11, 2013 at 12:17 #

    I am so very happy that you feel better! Allergic reactions are horrible and waiting for them to pass is patience sapping to say the least. Hooray for the Hub taking care of you. I also like it so much better when both of my babies are home. 🙂

    Like

  2. Terry October 11, 2013 at 14:05 #

    that’s how I feel when one of my kids visits from out of state and then leaves…….but you have your office back!!! hugs

    Like

  3. barb19 October 11, 2013 at 14:32 #

    Glad you are feeling better. That teddy looks very sad, you should have taken him home, spruced him up and called him Tory Boy! Just sayin . . . 😉

    Like

  4. vastlycurious.com October 11, 2013 at 15:39 #

    Awwww. Sorry , he will be back! Did you name the Teddy , Tory?

    Like

    • The Laughing Housewife October 11, 2013 at 20:19 #

      No, we left him there. It’s on a school route and I’ve chased enough teddies down in my day to know not to move him.

      Like

  5. judyt54 October 11, 2013 at 15:48 #

    i hope you took him home
    a nice warm bath and some bear juice works wonders

    Like

  6. colonialist October 11, 2013 at 16:04 #

    Poor Teddy – and you!

    Like

  7. Rorybore October 11, 2013 at 16:22 #

    awww….poor Teddy.
    but at least you are feeling better!

    Like

  8. Maddie Cochere October 11, 2013 at 17:49 #

    Poor, sad, teddy. Glad you are feeling better. They do leave a hole when they’re gone, don’t they? Ours just moved back in after a year and a half on his own. We’re all adjusting nicely.

    Like

  9. Grannymar October 11, 2013 at 19:16 #

    looks like life was no picnic for that Teddy! Glad your eyes are improving.

    Try dipping a clean face flannel in water as hot as you can manage. Then squeeze all the water and put the hot damp flannel across your eyes and leave it there until cold. Repeat half a dozen times.

    Like

  10. slpmartin October 11, 2013 at 20:51 #

    Glad to hear your eyes are better….I know those wet teddy bear feelings….wishing you a speedy recovery.

    Like

  11. SchmidleysScribbling October 11, 2013 at 21:28 #

    Children leaving home is a mixed blessing for sure. Be warned, however, they keep coming back.

    Like

  12. Hattie October 11, 2013 at 22:55 #

    Glad you are better. I am suffering from fire ant bites. Every had those?

    Like

  13. viveka October 12, 2013 at 11:54 #

    Linda, it could be the wipes … that is was skin care can do to us – just out of the blue.
    Great that you are feeling better – but I feel so sorry for Teddy, sitting there in the rain – maybe child has dropped and somebody has picked up and put it there to be found .. so maybe both Teddy and little child are sad just now.

    Like

  14. granny1947 October 12, 2013 at 19:32 #

    You are strange. I threw a party when my daughter and the three year old left. 🙂

    Like

  15. bluebee October 13, 2013 at 07:50 #

    When I see that poor little Teddy, I hear my grandmother’s voice reading ‘The Little Doll’ poem by Charles Kingsley – so saaaad 😦

    Like

  16. Pseu October 13, 2013 at 20:56 #

    I still have my teddy. He sits next to Cyclo’s teddy. Image the pain of loosing him. Sob. So glad you left him there to be found on the way home.

    Like

I welcome your comments but be warned: I'm menopausal and as likely to snarl as smile. Wine or Maltesers are an acceptable bribe; or a compliment about my youthful looks and cheery disposition will do in a pinch.

