Found In Translation

21 May

Click on image for source

Well I never!  Or I should say, Beh io mai!

I signed in to my blog to visit all of yours, and discovered a comment which needed approval:

You may be interested to know that we have written a review of the anthology In Protest, 150 Poems for Human Rights: http://www.margutte.com/?p=5629&lang=en
We have also translated some of the poems in Italian, including your poem: http://www.margutte.com/?p=5629

Thanks for your contribution.

Best regards,

Silvia Pio (editor)

That’s the same poem which was read at a memorial meeting for Nelson Mandela, and I learned of it after the event.

It seems it’s not just my kids who are going off having lives of their own.

By the way, I’m chuffed!  I love the idea of my poem taking on a life of its own, making new friends, learning new languages.  It has a way more interesting time than I do.

But at least it won’t break my heart when it moves into student accommodation in September.

41 Responses to “Found In Translation”

  1. McGuffy Ann May 21, 2014 at 21:57 #

    Wow! You give birth to kids who go off and leave, and the same thing happens with a poem! Who knew?! Congratulations on both successes.

    Like

  2. viveka May 21, 2014 at 22:15 #

    LInda, congratulations ….. wonderful – what a fantastic move for you as an author and you are truly worth it. Adore you image.

    Like

  3. slpmartin May 21, 2014 at 23:09 #

    Congrats!

    Like

    • catterel May 21, 2014 at 23:26 #

      I do hope they have done your poem justice, dressed in its Italian suit you may not recognise it 🙂

      Like

      • The Laughing Housewife May 22, 2014 at 10:26 #

        Aha! I have an Italian friend; I’m going to ask him to take a look.

        I did notice, however, that they didn’t use the space like I did, which is vital to the poem’s meaning. But I’m not complaining – Italian is such a beautiful language 🙂

        Like

        • catterel May 22, 2014 at 10:33 #

          I don’t know about you, but my poems really are my babies and I don’t like them being messed about 🙂 – so fingers crossed they’ve done a good job.

          Like

  4. laurieanichols May 22, 2014 at 02:20 #

    How wonderfully fantastic!!!!! I know what you mean about September; I am guilty of whispering to both children that they can stay home until whenever they feel like it. No rush in going out to conquer the world. I am so bad, I know.

    Like

  5. Rorybore May 22, 2014 at 05:02 #

    How wonderful!! Big Congrats! What an amazing thing to have your words develop wings and go off on adventures! 🙂

    Like

  6. siggiofmaine May 22, 2014 at 07:56 #

    Tilly,
    your statement:
    “I love the idea of my poem taking on a life of its own, making new friends, learning new languages. It has a way more interesting time than I do.”
    made me realize that not only things we say, but things we write have lives of their own !

    So amazing to think of… I have a painting that has been traveling in a response exhibit for years that has been so many places I’ll never see My daughter’s poem is on the painting and has accumulated more art and poetry than I’m sure I will do in a life time !

    Enjoy your bout of celebrety, and try to enjoy your new found freedom… boys usually return when ever they run out of clean clothes… that was my experience any way !

    Peace and love
    Siggi

    Like

    • The Laughing Housewife May 22, 2014 at 10:30 #

      What a wonderful thing to happen to your work and your daughter’s poem!

      Thanks for the advice about boys – you’ve cheered me up, though I never thought I’d be happy to do dirty laundry 🙂

      Like

  7. bevchen May 22, 2014 at 07:59 #

    Wow, impressive!

    Like

  8. vastlycurious.com May 22, 2014 at 12:18 #

    Love it and have missed you ! 🌷🌷🌷

    Like

  9. Janie Jones May 22, 2014 at 15:42 #

    I’m starting to sound like a broken record in your comments, but the sentiment is heartfelt all the same: congratulations!

    Like

  10. http://vivinfrance.wordpress.com May 22, 2014 at 16:44 #

    That is a great honour, and I’m proud of my friend Tilly! I’ve sold quilts in distant countries, but your poetry in translation deserves a big WOW!

    Like

  11. benzeknees May 23, 2014 at 03:47 #

    Wow, you’re going international!

    Like

  12. Tom Merriman May 23, 2014 at 12:13 #

    But still… well done Tilly!

    Like

  13. Helen Cherry May 23, 2014 at 18:36 #

    Brilliant.. !!!

    Like

  14. Grannymar May 23, 2014 at 19:32 #

    How wonderful! How many bags of Maltesers will it take to get your autograph now?

    Like

  15. bluebee May 24, 2014 at 03:34 #

    That’s great! As long as they didn’t use Babelfish 🙂

    PS – maybe you should go back to university. You know, the one Spud’s going to… 🙂

    Like

  16. http://vivinfrance.wordpress.com May 24, 2014 at 08:12 #

    I shared this on our OU buddy Rafaella Ticcosi’s timeline –

    Like

  17. SchmidleysScribbling May 24, 2014 at 12:34 #

    I wish you well. However as you climb life’s ladder don’t forget those you met on the lower rungs. And watch out for those toppling off the top. (Happens a lot around here.)

    Like

  18. katharinetrauger May 26, 2014 at 04:15 #

    So happy for you! 🙂

    Like

  19. Three Well Beings May 26, 2014 at 06:20 #

    Very, very nice! I’m very pleased for you. And in September, be sure to come back around and ask for moral support. Some of us still remember exactly what that rite of passage felt like. I can still feel my heart heave when I think about it…but we all got through it. 🙂 ox

    Like

All comments are welcome, though compliments may result in you having your Malteser privileges revoked

Nicola Hulme Author

Exploring creative writing and learning every day

Worldly Winds

It's not easy being me!

Vivinfrance's Blog

mainly poetry, also quilts, pictures, life-writing and the occasional short story.

Unpicked:Restitched

Where is the heart of Stockport?

Grains of Sand

notices and reflections in ministry

The Cvillean

The adventures of little read writing Hood

