The Reviews Are In…

3 Dec

The above video shows snippets of the Cabaret cast in rehearsal.  As Spud had no dancing to do – to his immense relief – there’s only a blink-and-you’ll-miss-it shot of him.

A lovely email from a friend reminded me that I have been pretty quiet of late (the Hub has just fallen out with that particular friend; I can’t think why).  I must remember to change my encouraging subscriber tag line from Try to keep up; I talk a lot to Try to remember me; I forget to blog

I’ve been busy with one thing and another, this and that, bits ‘n’ pieces, the usual. I hope that clears things up?

I did take time out from my busy schedule to visit Spud in Sheffield and watch him in Cabaret.  Naturally, he was wonderful.  The whole show was, especially the three leads, including Sergio Filipe as the Emcee, who had better legs, lines and moves than any of the girls.  And I say that without any bias, because you know I never boast about my children or their friends.

And I managed to type that whole paragraph with a straight face.

If you don’t believe me about how great he/it was, you can read two reviews:

This is from a student paper, lb, which says that 

Alex Cosgriff as Cliff Bradshaw and Tori Klays as Sally Bowles gave fine performances as the lead couple. Cosgriff’s journey from awkward enjoyment to disillusionment felt perfectly natural…

And this from a Sheffield paper, The Star:

CSUPAS have produced a terrific rendition of Joe Masteroff’s original 1966 Broadway production.

Alex Cosgriff plays shy novelist, Clifford Bradshaw. He arrives in 1930s Berlin and soon finds himself falling in love with Sally Bowles, an English singer at the Kit Kat Klub.

We get a pleasant surprise when the reticent Clifford duets with Sally later in Perfectly Marvellous and reveals a great singing voice.

Now do you believe me?  

Spud sent me the links with the following excited message:

My first review that wasn’t written by my Mum!  

Like I’d ever be biased.

 

18 Responses to “The Reviews Are In…”

  1. Elaine - I used to be indecisive December 3, 2014 at 23:30 #

    I think you have just cause to be proud. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. sharechair December 3, 2014 at 23:35 #

    That’s simply wonderful!! I can’t wait till he appears in NYC. I promise…. I’ll be there! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. catterel December 4, 2014 at 00:00 #

    So glad he’s having such a great time – and doing you proud!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Barb December 4, 2014 at 00:38 #

    Their enthusiasm alone makes for a great show, and some terrific reviews about your boy – he’s on his way!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. laurieanichols December 4, 2014 at 00:46 #

    You had me laughing though the entire post. I saw Spud’s slow rise from the chair and by golly he is a NATURAL! He looked shy and uncertain in that single minute. He deserves every great review out there. How exciting! I miss you lots xoxo

    Like

  6. vivienne blake December 4, 2014 at 07:37 #

    I wish I could have been there: I love Cabaret, Well done Spud. I miss my daily splutters of laughter at your blog…..

    Liked by 1 person

  7. misswhiplash December 4, 2014 at 09:07 #

    YOU! too quiet…never…when no post appears it is because that great intelligent brain is in contemplation mode…..planning ahead, getting things done. Genius has always been well known to be a solitary figure, so there is your answer…from one Genius to another

    Liked by 1 person

  8. katharinetrauger December 4, 2014 at 16:50 #

    You have every right to be gone when the theatre is keeping you so busy! I do feel very honored that you actually stopped by my place during your long silences. 😉

    Big Congratulations to your baby boy. Nice to see them acting like adults and winning accolades. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  9. siggiofmaine December 4, 2014 at 20:37 #

    How exciting… and a wonderful review by an impartial person to boot ! (I just KNOW you are a fair reporter…you included the girl also).
    Thanks for sharing !
    Peace and love, Siggi

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Rorybore December 5, 2014 at 05:38 #

    How wonderful for Spud!!! I can’t wait till his first movie premiere!!
    what ever will you wear…. and please remember to blog it! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  11. SchmidleysScribbling December 5, 2014 at 14:22 #

    I’m speechless!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. SchmidleysScribbling December 5, 2014 at 14:23 #

    PS Are you his agent?

    Liked by 1 person

I welcome your comments but be warned: I'm menopausal and as likely to snarl as smile. Wine or Maltesers are an acceptable bribe; or a compliment about my youthful looks and cheery disposition will do in a pinch.

