Departures: A Song Cycle

20 Jun

No, I’m not talking about tearful goodbyes to Al, Grannymar and Barbara last week (though there were, of course; especially when they realised I was taking all the Maltesers with me), but about Alex’s latest venture: he’s appearing in Departures: A Song Cycle at the Pleasance Theatre, Islington in London this week.

I will talk about hellos and goodbyes in my next post, of course, but for now I want to publicise this fantastic new musical by Joe Bunce and Matt Malone.  You may recall that it won a ton of awards at The Edinburgh Fringe last year and The National Student Drama Festival this year, only four of which are mentioned in the poster, but one of which was The Cameron Macintosh Award…yep, that’s right: that Cameron Macintosh…  

The plot, according to the Pleasance Theatre website

Nine strangers stand at a nondescript railway platform on an unremarkable weekday afternoon. As their train is delayed further, they put down their crumpled Metros, pocket their bleeping smartphones – and begin to share their secrets, hopes and fears.

The cast in rehearsal:

*

The Sunday Times said:

The lyrics have the contemporary bite, and the music the tricky wit, of a new Sondheim; the cast sing beautifully and the band play immaculately.

When it appeared at the Fringe, the Edinburgh Guide described it as:

…an exciting, innovative, intelligently conceived and choreographed show. Dramatic storytelling with a sense of realism is the strength behind the emotional heart of this modern opera. Remember the names Bunce and Malone – the Kander & Ebb, the Lerner & Lowe, the Sondheim of Musical Theatre of tomorrow.

If you happen to be in London this week, get yourself down to the Pleasance Theatre; tickets are very reasonably priced and I promise you an amazing night – but there are only five nights, so get going.

18 Responses to “Departures: A Song Cycle”

  1. Al June 20, 2016 at 21:41 #

    Looks like fun! I guess I picked the wrong weekend to visit London, although the Queen would have been sorely disappointed otherwise.

    Like

    • The Laughing Housewife June 20, 2016 at 21:53 #

      She would!

      Talking of the Queen: I found myself in the bizarre position of singing the full national anthem in a vicarage today – a capella – while my friend Pam practised signing to it.

      Truth really is stranger than fiction.

      A thought: if you sing without music, is it al capella? 🙂

      Like

  2. Tom Merriman June 20, 2016 at 22:00 #

    Looks really good, Tilly. Good on Alex! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. laurieanichols June 20, 2016 at 22:50 #

    Wow, getting compared to Sondheim is quite a feat, great for Alex! How exciting! 😀

    Like

  4. Paula Tohline Calhoun June 20, 2016 at 23:18 #

    Looks super!Our sons are similarly inclined. Our Matt msnaged to carve out time to appear in “Spamalot” last fall, and will be in “1776” this year. Both productions are in Chicago.

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Laughing Housewife June 21, 2016 at 11:06 #

      Hello, stranger! It’s good to see you here.

      Perhaps our sons will work together one day… 🙂

      Like

  5. McGuffy Ann June 21, 2016 at 01:19 #

    Oh, my…you have every reason to be really proud. And this looks like such fun, too. I am so happy for you! Big hugs! I hope they bring Spamalot back to Chicago, and that your boy comes here to be in it. Now, that would be fun. And you could come see it, and I could meet you! Well, heck…I can dream, can’t I? Enjoy your fun! Hugs!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. http://vivinfrance.wordpress.com June 22, 2016 at 08:43 #

    I wish I could be there. Alex’s career seems to be off to a stellar start.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. sharechair June 22, 2016 at 11:50 #

    Alex is putting together an amazing career ….. he always seems to have something going. His memory must be extraordinary to remember all the lines and the nuances that go into putting together a play. How exciting!!

    Like

  8. SchmidleysScribblins June 22, 2016 at 19:16 #

    Wow, it gets better and better. Wonderful times, enjoy them!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Grannymar June 22, 2016 at 21:03 #

    Well done Alex!

    I arrived home late yesterday to a very quiet house – no little doggies bouncing with excitement to see me. It was one fantastic ten days holiday for me. Time I sat down to gather my thoughts on paper/screen/blog to share the people, fun and laughter of our day together. It was wonderful to meet you and continue the conversation we have had for several years through our blogs.

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Laughing Housewife June 26, 2016 at 17:50 #

      Looking forward to your blog! And Al’s. And Barbara’s. And I must write mine…you know, thinking about it, we’re all rubbish bloggers when it’s been almost two weeks and not one post about our meet up from any of us. 🙂

      Like

      • Grannymar June 27, 2016 at 19:11 #

        I blame all the laughter, I am still living in that happy bubble. Home-home one week tomorrow and I am frozen cold. Hope I thaw out soon.

        Like

I welcome your comments but be warned: I'm menopausal and as likely to snarl as smile. Wine or Maltesers are an acceptable bribe; or a compliment about my youthful looks and cheery disposition will do in a pinch.

