We Are A Grandmother

5 Dec

Glory Boy, proving that children have their uses: providing us with more children; the kind we can spoil, give back, and let get away with all the things we forbade their parents to do.

The post title: I think Margaret Thatcher was misunderstood in this instance. My bet is that in her excitement, she meant to say either, ‘We are grandparents’ or, ‘I am a grandmother’ but got the two muddled up and ended up using the Royal ‘We’.

Becoming a grandparent is rather like being royal, after all: someone else does the behind the scenes work; we just have to show up and be applauded.

Here’s my beautiful new grandson: now let the applause begin.

17 Responses to “We Are A Grandmother”

  1. Janie Jones December 5, 2016 at 13:37 #

    You sly thing. How is it there was no lead up to this big event?!? Congratulations to all! What a marvelous Christmas present. When exactly was he born? Today is my birthday, so I’m just a little curious to see whether we share….

    Like

  2. judyt54 December 5, 2016 at 13:44 #

    oh, how wonderful. A whole new generation to practice on, to spoil, to love. I envy you the journey.

    Like

  3. Al December 5, 2016 at 13:49 #

    You life has just begun! Can’t tell you how happy I am for you both. If you need any advice on how to spoil a grandchild (which I seriously doubt) contact me, I wrote a manual that you are welcome to have at no cost.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Ron. December 5, 2016 at 14:13 #

    My Beloved Sandra became a Great-Grandmother for the first time. Congratulations, TB!!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Confuzzled Bev December 5, 2016 at 14:50 #

    Applause, applause!
    What a lovely Christmas present!

    Like

  6. patrecia upton December 5, 2016 at 15:12 #

    wow..you are too young!  Well done Mr and Mrs Glory Boy and Congratulations to the young grandparents  

    Sent: Monday, December 05, 2016 at 2:27 PM

    Like

  7. slpmartin December 5, 2016 at 17:12 #

    Congrats! A new writer enters the world.

    Like

  8. Home's Cool! December 5, 2016 at 17:50 #

    I believe the quote actually is: Grandchildren are the reward you get for not killing your children.” Right? ūüėČ
    Great going, Tilly. ‚̧ this, a lot!

    Like

  9. Barb December 5, 2016 at 21:14 #

    Congratulations to all! I am standing in your shoes – I just got a new grandson too!

    Like

  10. sharechair December 5, 2016 at 21:18 #

    Congratulations!!! So wonderful. My children have yet to produce offspring ….. I’ll let you lead the way, and I’ll take notes!

    Like

  11. Sarah December 5, 2016 at 21:47 #

    Loverly!
    I have no grandchildren on the horizon, but my sister, (6.5 years younger) than me has grandchildren: twins, both boys, conceived rather unexpectedly! When I recently went to visit I was introduced as Great Aunt Sarah>
    Or Gas, for short.

    Harrumph

    Have you decided what you’d like to be called?
    Granny Tilly?

    Like

  12. Rorybore December 6, 2016 at 01:27 #

    What a lovely and precious gift to receive this time of year!! Wonderful, wonderful news and congrats!! I trust that mom and babe … and new dad too, are all doing well. ūüôā

    Like

  13. laurieanichols December 6, 2016 at 23:24 #

    Oh My Goodness! He is precious! Congratulations Tilly dearest you will the best grandmother Tilly ever!! Xxoo

    Like

  14. beeblu December 7, 2016 at 11:27 #

    Aww, how wonderful! Congrats ūüėĄ

    Like

  15. SchmidleysScribblins December 7, 2016 at 21:13 #

    Clap, clap. clap. And just how did you do this?

    Like

  16. Elaine - I used to be indecisive December 9, 2016 at 16:19 #

    Much applause from here… You kept that one very quiet! Well done to Glory Boy/Rarity Boy and congratulations to all.

    Like

  17. Bridgesburning Chris December 12, 2016 at 21:26 #

    APPLAUSE APPLAUSE! , Nothing better in the whole world!

    Like

All comments are welcome, though compliments may result in you having your Malteser privileges revoked

Nicola Hulme Author

Exploring creative writing and learning every day

Worldly Winds

It's not easy being me!

Vivinfrance's Blog

mainly poetry, also quilts, pictures, life-writing and the occasional short story.

Unpicked:Restitched

Where is the heart of Stockport?

Grains of Sand

notices and reflections in ministry

The Cvillean

The adventures of little read writing Hood

