I Lost A Friend

9 May

Image may contain: 1 person, smiling, outdoor

Photo copyright RR Nichols

Her personal blog

Her political blog

Some of you read Laurie Nichols’ blog; more of you will have seen her comments on my blog.  For those who have been wondering, I’m sad to report that Laurie passed away on February 17th, aged 49, due to complications caused by her cancer.  Her husband Robert told me that he was with her the last 60 days of her life full time in the room, talking, and holding her hand and making sure she was comfortable.

Laurie was a beautiful woman, inside and out.  She was sweet and kind and lived life to the full.  She loved politics, gardening, travelling with her husband, cooking, movies, her dogs but, above all, she loved her family.

She was one of my greatest cheerleaders and we corresponded privately as well as through our blogs.  A favourite memory is the time she sent me some elephant ears, all the way from the US to the UK.  You can read about it here.  That post arose from another post (read that one here) I had written, and here is the conversation which ensued in the second post, which was the first post (hey, I may be missing Laurie but she’d expect me to write as confusingly as always):

Laurie: Love, love, love this! I bake Elephant ear cookies (Palmier cookies in French) so I thought that the bad man had thrown her cookies off the balcony, I never heard of a plant called Elephant ears. I would have been crying too if a bad man had thrown my cookies off the balcony, they are so delicious, flaky pastry dough folded umpteenth times in sugar and baked until golden and caramelized, cookie bliss. 🙂

TB: Drooling…

Laurie: Sorry about the drool, they are drool worthy though, next time I make a batch, I’ll be sure to send you some. 🙂

TB: The reading of this comment constitutes a legally binding contract under blog law.  Can’t wait! 🙂

Laurie: Don’t worry I honor all of my promises, you will be getting a surprise by the end of the month or the beginning of April the latest. 🙂

TB: Bless you!

Laurie: Anything for my Tilly 😀

And that’s Laurie in a biscuit tin.  The biscuits arrived as promised, and were devoured.  I still have the tin she sent them in.

DSCN2836

I miss her.  I miss her a lot.

 

15 Responses to “I Lost A Friend”

  1. Karen Snyder May 9, 2017 at 16:43 #

    Loss is hard. There’s simply no two ways about it. May your many memories help ease the pain of yours. Hugs.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ron. May 9, 2017 at 16:45 #

    Seems inappropriate to click “Like” on a post like this, TB. This is sad news indeed. I didn’t have the sane connection, but I remember your exchange about the cookies & share your sadness at the passing.

    The world gets a little darker every day now, it seems. I’m still grieving Viv. Oy.

    Liked by 1 person

    • judyt54 May 9, 2017 at 17:14 #

      I remember that elephant ears post too, and yes, I am so sorry you lost such a special friend. Longer we live, the more friends we seem to lose.

      Doesnt seem fair somehow.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Janie Jones May 9, 2017 at 17:36 #

    My condolences to Laurie’s family and friends.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. granny1947 May 9, 2017 at 17:49 #

    So sorry for your loss.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. slpmartin May 9, 2017 at 17:53 #

    Some moments in life are irreplaceable…especially those shared with wonderful people…indeed a loss for all of us.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. patrecia upton May 9, 2017 at 18:11 #

    Its hard to lose a friend like that but memories will last a lifetime. I am sorry to hear of her death but now she is no longer suffering and is safe

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Sarah May 9, 2017 at 18:43 #

    Such sadness at such an early loss. hugs x

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Sarah Angleton May 9, 2017 at 20:24 #

    I’m sorry for your loss. The blogosphere is such a strange and amazing place where people from all over the world grow from strangers to virtual friends to real life friends.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. nicolahulmeblog May 9, 2017 at 20:47 #

    Ahhh Linda, Laurie sounds like an exceptional lady. How kind of her to bake ears and send them as a gift to you, what a wonderful friend she was. Thank goodness you had chance to enjoy the special friendship and laughter. It’s amazing how close you can be to someone via thoughts exchanged over the internet. Words are so powerful and contain such meaning. I’m so sorry for your loss. I hope re-reading her words gives you comfort. She’ll always be with you xxxx

    Liked by 1 person

  10. sarsm May 10, 2017 at 22:06 #

    It’s funny how you can get so attatched to someone so far away, that you’ve never even met. This is one of the greatest things about blogging. I remember Laurie well. She commented frequently on your blog and she always made a very genuine impression on me – of a very lovely, caring person. I am sorry for your loss but I am also glad that although she lived half way around the world, you still got to know her and have her in your life. Much love to you Tilly xx

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Bridgesburning Chris May 15, 2017 at 20:05 #

    It’s a sad day when our blogging world loses a member. I’m glad you are here to let us know

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Bridgesburning Chris May 15, 2017 at 20:06 #

    Reblogged this on bridgesburning.

    Like

  13. The Laughing Housewife May 18, 2017 at 13:59 #

    Thank you, everyone, for your kind words. Laurie would have appreciated it.

    Like

  14. kiwidutch May 22, 2017 at 16:35 #

    Tilly,
    I “Like” that friendship extends beyond borders, that we can learn so much about the different ways we live in this world, that love and humour are without time zones, that we all have more in common than we have in differences.
    R.I.P. Laurie, taken too soon but clearly loved whilst she was here. Please pass on my Condolences to Laurie’s husband and wish him “Sterkte” (Strength). Thank you too Tilly for keeping us informed.

    Like

All comments are welcome, though compliments may result in you having your Malteser privileges revoked

Nicola Hulme Author

Exploring creative writing and learning every day

Worldly Winds

It's not easy being me!

Vivinfrance's Blog

mainly poetry, also quilts, pictures, life-writing and the occasional short story.

Unpicked:Restitched

Where is the heart of Stockport?

Grains of Sand

notices and reflections in ministry

The Cvillean

The adventures of little read writing Hood

