The Tree Of Bore

5 Sep

Performance Week is almost upon us!


I suspect my Facebook friends are sick to death of all The Tree of War posts I’ve been sharing – but I don’t care: it’s an amazing show and needs to be seen by everyone.  So there.

Blog readers have probably forgotten all about it, so here’s a recap: it’s a musical about life in the trenches, written by a vicar and a (then) university student. Here’s last year’s review of the preview show.  The show has been extended, with more songs added – including a solo for Bert.  It’s bigger, better and I’m bursting with excitement!  

Tree of War BertFor your interest, there are some cast interview links on the Facebook page (you don’t need to be on Facebook to watch them).  Excuse Alex, who – as his mother, I’m sad to report – sounds supremely unintelligent with his ums and ahs.  He’s saving everything for the performance.  No, really.  

Or you can listen to three of the songs. The cast sang at Manchester Cathedral two weeks ago and they sounded phenomenal.  

If you live anywhere near Burnage, do yourself a favour and go see the show (September 15-19).  You won’t regret it.  You’ll be calling it The Tree of Awe.

13 Responses to “The Tree Of Bore”

  1. slpmartin September 5, 2015 at 17:18 #

    Ah…seems to me you have much to be proud of…have a great weekend.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. SchmidleysScribblins September 5, 2015 at 18:03 #

    Well, I’ll have to check this out. I am on FB so as to keep up with my kids and grandkids.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Elaine - I used to be indecisive September 5, 2015 at 20:25 #

    Looks, and sounds, like it’s going to be great! I listened to the interviews, and he doesn’t ‘um’ and ‘ah’ any more than the rest of them – in fact perhaps slightly less. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. judyt54 September 5, 2015 at 20:41 #

    Tilly, never a bore. I dont do Facebook but what ive heard from your links is always a treat, truly. Im as proud of him as if we were related. =)

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Debra September 6, 2015 at 06:37 #

    I will certainly enjoy the interview and songs. Of course you’re proud of your son and I don’t think friends would ever be anything but happy to have all those reminders. If I lived near, it would be so much fun to attend! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. katharinetrauger September 7, 2015 at 04:39 #

    Still cannot believe you are back. So glad. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Rorybore September 10, 2015 at 16:52 #

    the music sounds awesome!!! now I wish I lived across the pond.

    Liked by 1 person

I welcome your comments but be warned: I'm menopausal and as likely to snarl as smile. Wine or Maltesers are an acceptable bribe; or a compliment about my youthful looks and cheery disposition will do in a pinch.