The Passing of the Bag

19 Jun

We had a solemn ceremony in this house on Sunday: the first traditional Passing of the Bag.

Tory Boy bought himself a good quality rucksack when he was at high school.  By the time he’d finished college, Spud was at high school and needed a good quality rucksack.  Tory Boy loaned Spud his, on the condition that it be returned someday.  Six years on, that day was Sunday, as Spud had finished high school and Tory Boy was home.

Cue ceremonial music (Celine Dion’s My Bag Will Go On):

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

27 Responses to “The Passing of the Bag”

  1. sharechair June 19, 2014 at 13:50 #

    Doesn’t he need it for college???

    Like

    • The Laughing Housewife June 19, 2014 at 14:25 #

      No; he’s going to buy another. Tory Boy was shrivelling up because of the six-year separation from his precious…

      Like

  2. slpmartin June 19, 2014 at 14:29 #

    I see your young men have acquired some of your humor and joy of life.

    Like

  3. vastlycurious.com June 19, 2014 at 16:00 #

    Hear, hear for purchasing good quality to begin with! Nice moment in the family !

    Like

  4. laurieanichols June 19, 2014 at 17:21 #

    You have two boys who look very much like young men. 😀 Mine does too and I often go back and look at his toddler pictures to remind myself of when he was mine; now we have to share our boys with the world, which I am glad to do, but I do miss the days of cuddling on the couch and watching Winnie the Pooh. I had the song “The Circle of Life” in my head watching the passing of the bag. lol You have wonderful boys!

    Like

  5. colonialist June 19, 2014 at 19:18 #

    Good boys – bag custom!

    Like

  6. http://vivinfrance.wordpress.com June 19, 2014 at 21:33 #

    I love these family traditions and customs.

    Like

  7. bluebee June 19, 2014 at 23:40 #

    They are both so tall now!

    Like

  8. benzeknees June 20, 2014 at 01:20 #

    Such a ceremony for a rucksack! What do you do when someone borrows some money? I know, Maltesers as interest!

    Like

  9. anotherday2paradise June 20, 2014 at 11:26 #

    Crazy stuff, Tilly. Made me laugh. 😀

    Like

  10. bevchen June 20, 2014 at 12:00 #

    My bag will go on! Hahaha.

    Like

  11. SchmidleysScribbling June 20, 2014 at 17:39 #

    Good thing I check you out or I would have missed this auspicious occasion.

    Like

  12. Rorybore June 21, 2014 at 23:58 #

    Ha – I don’t know why, but this just makes me smile so big. Life would be so dull without such humour and just Goodness to travel alongside us. your boys are just awesome.

    Like

  13. thehutts June 24, 2014 at 02:09 #

    I buy rucksacks like other women buy shoes! I can appreciate this handing back ceremony. I have a rucksack that was carried by a head man of a Himalayan village on an expedition I was on 20 year ago this summer – I would not be parted from it even though it is not fit for the original purpose I bought it for. It now lives on the top of a wardrobe with my old climbing gear in it – all well past it’s best before date now and shouldn’t be used for any serious climbing. Sally

    Like

  14. jatwood4 June 24, 2014 at 06:00 #

    I love family ceremonies! I also love your new Header photo. 🙂

    Like

  15. kiwidutch July 15, 2014 at 09:02 #

    Dutch kids have a special tradition: when their exams are completed and they finish high school they hang up their rucksacks on flagpoles at home: it’s a signal that they passed (“geslaagd” = translates as “success/ful”) and that they don’t need their school bags any more.

    Of course if they go to University then they will probably need a new bag… but it’s always fun to see the bags on flagpoles at the end of the school year.

    I have photos of some of them here:
    http://kiwidutch.wordpress.com/2009/06/29/a-cheerful-dutch-rite-of-passage/

    Well Done Spud on your hard work and success!!

    Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Wordpress Blogs - Wordpress Blogs .NET - June 20, 2014

    […] The Passing Of The Bag June 19th, 2014 — “We had a solemn ceremony in this house on Sunday: the first traditional Passing of the Bag. Tory Boy bought himself a good quality rucksack when he was at high school. By the time he’d finished college, Spud was at high school and needed a good quality rucksack. Tory Boy loaned Spud his, on the […]” 13 Comments […]

    Like

I welcome your comments but be warned: I'm menopausal and as likely to snarl as smile. Wine or Maltesers are an acceptable bribe; or a compliment about my youthful looks and cheery disposition will do in a pinch.