Fringe Benefits

8 Aug

Alex is at the Edinburgh Fringe this month in two shows, both of which have been shortlisted for the National Student Drama Festival’s Emerging Artists Award 2017 .  That’s twenty shows of over three thousand appearing this year.

I’ve seen both shows and they’re fantastic (there’s a reason they were nominated).  One is hilarious with music and the other is a musical with hilarity.

The music is great in both.  You can check out some of The Iconoclast songs on SoundCloud.  Sadly, there’s no link to Buried‘s music (yet), but I’ll share three of six from The Iconoclasts.

For me, this is the best song in the show: Estelle’s Song.

 BURIED

An exhilarating and witty look at love and the places it can take you. He’s a shy, seemingly-average young professional. She’s a sarcastic thrill-seeker. After matching on an online dating service, this young and fun-loving couple form a unique relationship when they discover something special that they have in common: they’re both serial killers. Tom Williams and Cordelia O’Driscoll’s dark, new piece of comedic musical theatre puts a sinister spin on relationships in the twenty-first century. Colla Voce Theatre make their Edinburgh debut with a bold new musical.

You can buy tickets for Buried here.  

britishtheatre.com describes the show as:

perversely charming and entertaining, full of dark humour and some killer songs..the music is richly melodic and soulful…book and lyrics are sharp and often funny.

THE ICONOCLASTS

The Iconoclasts tells the story of an exuberant family façade that is just about ready to crack. Music, magic, poetry, drag and comedy meet in an explosive night of would-be redemption for the former celebs, but the cabaret-style comeback night just goes further and further off course. Half-farce, half-tragedy, the Northern Irish family’s plight leads the audience through their chequered history with poignancy, humility and irreverence – all backed by a live funk band. If they’re going down, they’re going down swinging! ‘Beautifully played’ (Sunday Times).

Tickets for The Iconoclasts available here.

Listen to Alex’s solo: Razzmatazz

The Iconoclasts has been forecast by Fringebiscuit as one to watch:

They had me after four words. Part tragic theatre, part comedy cabaret night, emerging company Dear Hunter Theatre have basically put everything I love into one show. This could be a huge hit.

Their first review from Broadway Baby gave them four stars; here’s the opening paragraph:

The Iconoclasts is a perfect example of why one should never go into a show with any expectations. Based on the poster and description which I had only briefly skimmed, I was expecting a run-of-the-mill artsy cabaret show, with a bit of overdone backstory thrown in. What I got was a unique, political and thought-provoking piece of theatre, which worked on so many levels it is still making my head spin to think about.

The show’s closing number: Finale.

If you’re in Edinburgh this month, do yourself a favour and go and see both of these shows.  You won’t regret it.  

 

17 Responses to “Fringe Benefits”

  1. Katharine August 8, 2017 at 13:26 #

    You’ve done it again, Tilly! You’ve made me want to visit England! Again. I cannot imagine how good it must make you feel, to have given the world such a talented young man to entertain us. But congratulations are due, and I send them across the miles, with a smile. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Bridgesburning Chris August 8, 2017 at 14:10 #

    I love Edinburgh and I know I would love Alex and the shows, but since there is an ocean intervening and no ready transport I just have to enjoy what I can through you! Wonderful!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. colonialist August 8, 2017 at 14:45 #

    You’re right. Estelle’s song is super. I listened to it twice. That is a review to dream about!
    A lot going on with the Fringe. That makes two of my favourite bloggers connected. You with Alex, and Charlotte Hoather with BambinO.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Al August 8, 2017 at 14:55 #

    Great stuff! Awesome talents in that show (of course, we already knew about Alex). Can’t wait until he comes to the states with a show. I’ll be there!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. slpmartin August 8, 2017 at 16:44 #

    It’s been so interesting watching from afar his development and the changes over time…he seems to have a bright future in hand.

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Laughing Housewife August 8, 2017 at 16:45 #

      We hope so! Of course, there are no guarantees in show business, and he knows that.

      But we can’t help hoping… 🙂

      Like

  6. restlessjo August 8, 2017 at 17:19 #

    Glad to hear he’s doing so well! I have friends up there next week but I’m elsewhere, I’m afraid. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Tom Merriman August 8, 2017 at 20:31 #

    Good luck to Alex and the rest of the cast, and for the show itself.
    I’ve listened to both songs, Razzmattazz had my foot a-tappin’! Nice one, Tilly!

    Liked by 1 person

I welcome your comments but be warned: I'm menopausal and as likely to snarl as smile. Wine or Maltesers are an acceptable bribe; or a compliment about my youthful looks and cheery disposition will do in a pinch.