We Love Senryu

8 Dec

The prompt for We Write Poems this week was various kinds of love.  I didn’t write all of these senryu in response to that prompt, but it’s my favourite form (you might say I love it) and I have enough about love that I can share with you.  There’s also a short poem I wrote as a teenager in love on my South Africa – A Love/Hate Story blog.

*

Talking Point

My son discovered
he loves Shakespeare: now we have
something in common.

*

Christmas Eve With Dad

He lived and loved, laughed,
then sighed.  He held my hand.  He
held my hand.  He died.

*

A Note For My Mum

An old woman passes me,
smelling of fags and
booze.  I grieve, for she’s not you.

*

Friendship

Geese guard a stricken
comrade until it dies or
flies again – how neece.

*

Adult Yearner

Married man longs for
someone. It can never be.
She is his wishtress.

*

Unconditional Love

I expected to
feel it for my children, but
not for my pet dogs.

*

Empty Nest

Forlorn housewife. Heart
heavy like wet washing on
the line. Mothers’ fate.

*

Not-So-Modern Marriage 

Selfish man: your wife
will fetch carry clean feed love
you: stupid woman.

*

Two Beautiful Things 

A bloody baby
and his brother, screaming their
way into my heart.

*

26 Responses to “We Love Senryu”

  1. vivinfrance December 8, 2010 at 14:41 #

    What a wonderful, eclectic collection of some aspects of love. Which of your boys is going to shudder at the last two photographs?

    Like

  2. Diane T December 8, 2010 at 15:14 #

    Fantastic and fun haikus.

    Like

  3. Flying Monkey December 8, 2010 at 15:26 #

    Brilliant reading about the variety of love.

    Like

    • Tilly Bud December 9, 2010 at 10:42 #

      And a lovely compliment in return. Thank you.

      Like

  4. gautami tripathy December 8, 2010 at 16:39 #

    I loved this post!

    destined wanderings

    Like

  5. Donald Harbour December 8, 2010 at 17:33 #

    I don’t believe I have ever read Senryu form outside of Japanese poets. What a fantastic rush of human emotions and delicate observations. Tilly you have written a train of outstanding poetic comments on the personal human condition. I thoroughly enjoyed reading your efforts. More.
    Regards,
    Don

    Like

    • Tilly Bud December 9, 2010 at 10:44 #

      Don, I’m speechless. Thank you for your kind and generous remarks.

      Like

  6. Judy Roney December 8, 2010 at 18:50 #

    Each of these is so full of meaning. I love them all!

    Like

  7. slpmartin December 8, 2010 at 18:54 #

    As always so much to enjoy with these verses.

    Like

  8. pamela December 8, 2010 at 18:55 #

    Tilly, these are all lovely.
    Pamela

    Like

  9. Harry Nicholson December 8, 2010 at 23:57 #

    ‘A Note To Mum’ is one of the best new poems I’ve read in a while. It is a singularity.

    Like

  10. thursdaychild1973 December 9, 2010 at 06:15 #

    I also loved ‘A note to mum”, and the line “screaming their way into my heart” really resonates with me. So much feeling in so few words, fantastic!

    Like

    • Tilly Bud December 9, 2010 at 10:47 #

      Thank you. Do you have a blog so I can return your visit?

      Like

  11. earlybird December 9, 2010 at 08:50 #

    I really enjoyed these tight comments. Funny, sad and touching. And very clever. Well done. (I could have done without the pictures though!)

    Like

    • Tilly Bud December 9, 2010 at 10:47 #

      Sorry about that! I have been dying to use them.

      Like

  12. wayne December 11, 2010 at 03:36 #

    LOVELY indeed thanks for sharing this

    Like

  13. neil reid December 11, 2010 at 09:06 #

    It’s in the “collection” most especially, good as each may be individually, that a greater sense of real living range comes into tune. Quietly breathtaking. (And PS. in reading your “facts about me”, that’s really rather poetic too! Nice.) Thanks for sharing these.

    Like

  14. ravenswingpoetry December 16, 2010 at 18:18 #

    I like your use of the senryu in this series… I liked them all, but my favorites being “Christmas Eve with Dad” and “Note for My Mum”. Both of these evoked a sadness within me, and I noticed your use of internal rhyme in a few spots, which was well executed.

    -Nicole

    Like

I welcome your comments but be warned: I'm menopausal and as likely to snarl as smile. Wine or Maltesers are an acceptable bribe; or a compliment about my youthful looks and cheery disposition will do in a pinch.