Archive | 13:30

Time For Some Recycling

16 Feb

I haven’t been inspired by any of the poetry sites for weeks.  I blame me, not them; though I am working on a poem caused by Big Tent.  It won’t be displayed here because it’s about South Africa, but you can always pop over to my other blog to read it.

We Write Poems has gone all romantic for Valentine’s Day.  Yes, I know that’s so last Monday, but Post Your Poems Day is Wednesday, so what’s a site to do?

I haven’t written anything new, of course (were you not paying attention?); but I have some old ones that my new readers won’t have seen:

 

21st Century Marriage

Two minds with but one
single thought: can I have a
fling and not get caught?

 

Another 21st Century Marriage 

Anniversary
Four: such a bore.  One more chore
and I’m out the door.

 

The Housewife’s Aphrodisiac

You want me trembling
with desire for you? Offer
to wash the dishes.

 

Valentine’s Day for the Unhappily Married  

Cupid fired the arrow,
But it’s us who got life.

 

Unaccustomed As I Am 

I don’t write love poems
but if I did
I’d say you were
the remote to my telly
the fart to my smelly
the shake to my belly
the mud to my welly
the peanut butter to my jelly
the catessen to my deli
the phant to my ele
the circus to my Nellie
the copter to my heli
the é to my mele
the Brazil to my Pelé

I don’t write love poems
but if I did
I’d raid a dictionary for you
include you in my felony
and hope that no-one thesaurus

 

 

 

 

 

Should I Stay Or Should I Go?

16 Feb

Having floundered in a sea of techneptitude yesterday from which Tory Boy forgot to rescue me, I thought I might as well complete the drowning by trying to add a poll.  I have wanted to do one for a while but I haven’t had a suitable topic for you.  That changed this morning: WordPress has a new theme.  I rather like it for two reasons: its look, of course; and its name: Duster.  I love the irony of a housewife who doesn’t dust’s blog being called by such a name.

However, as you know, I am a great believer in democracy, so I am inviting you to vote on it:

Should this theme stay?