Weekly Photo Challenge: Through

1 Apr
 

I’m through. I’m done.

I write this with a heavy heart.  I never understood that phrase until today; I always thought of it as a little melodramatic, but now I get it.  It comes from the feeling you have when you realise you are going to let people down.

Have you noticed recently that my posts have all been guest posts, reblogs, reposts of my old, unread posts?  That there hasn’t been much new material from me? 

Folks, I’m tired.  There’s no fun in funny any more. 

That is why, with a heavy heart, I have decided to give up blogging.  I’m through.  I’m done.  I’m going to spend some time with my neglected house and family.  Maybe watch some daytime tv and veg on the couch.  Take back the four hours I give you each morning.

It’s not like I live an interesting life, or in an exotic place like Hawaii, Paris or Boise, Idaho.  I don’t do much; I don’t see much.  I’m dull.  I’m amazed you read anything I write.  But grateful.

I hope you understand. 

I want to thank you for your wonderful support and brilliant comments over the last three years, and finish with this, which might make things clear for you:

*

*

April Fool!

*

*

As if I would ever give up blogging!   

I’d rather be nibbled to death by ducks, as my great comic hero, Georgette Heyer, once wrote.  I’d rather give up Twilight.  I’d rather – gasp! – give up Maltesers.

I’m off now to put salt in the Hub’s coffee.  Not for April Fool; just because I feel like it.

See you tomorrow.  And the day after.  And the day after that.  Forever.

 

I haz April Foolz lolcats. Intended for use on...

I haz April Foolz lolcats. Intended for use on an April Fool's page. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

47 Responses to “Weekly Photo Challenge: Through”

  1. Tom (Aquatom1968) April 1, 2012 at 09:19 #

    Give up Maltesers, Tilly?

    Like

    • Tilly Bud April 1, 2012 at 13:39 #

      I’ve come over all faint at the mere thought…

      Like

  2. Pseu April 1, 2012 at 09:23 #

    crikey

    Like

  3. vivinfrance April 1, 2012 at 09:29 #

    Phew! You really had me going there, Tilly. Life wouldn’t be worth the struggle without daily doses of the Laughing Housewife.

    Like

  4. Helen Cherry April 1, 2012 at 09:32 #

    You nearly had me there !!

    Like

  5. adinparadise April 1, 2012 at 09:37 #

    Bwahahaha. This is really good. You had us all for April Fools, I’m sure. 😉

    Like

  6. Ron. April 1, 2012 at 11:09 #

    NOT funny, TB. I haven’t had coffee yet. Jeez.

    Like

  7. jmgoyder April 1, 2012 at 11:47 #

    You really really really scared me, Tilly!!!

    Like

  8. jbmumofone April 1, 2012 at 12:44 #

    Wow, you really had me going. PHEW!

    Like

  9. bluebee April 1, 2012 at 13:23 #

    Good one, Tilly Bud!!

    Like

  10. Tilly Bud April 1, 2012 at 13:40 #

    Heeheeheehee 😀 😀 😀 😀

    Like

  11. judithatwood April 1, 2012 at 13:47 #

    I was feeling like crying — I’m happy to be the April Fool this time!

    Like

  12. laurieanichols April 1, 2012 at 14:07 #

    Argh, you had me sad until I read April Fool’s. You have a gift, your words were sad and heartfelt. You made me believe, we should put you in timeout for scaring us like this. Naughty Tilly Bud. I’m glad that you were teasing, I wonder how April Fool’s day goes for the hub and the boys, do you prank them? Or do they prank you?

    Like

    • Tilly Bud April 1, 2012 at 14:13 #

      No, not really, though the Hub did get me one year by saying someone had hacked into my blog 🙂

      Like

  13. Rorybore April 1, 2012 at 14:30 #

    I didn’t believe it for a minute… saying you were “dull” was the giveaway.

    you are anything but dull my dear!
    But I think you should have let it play it for a few hours…..see how many boxes of bribes…..er Maltersers you would have got 😉

    Like

    • Tilly Bud April 1, 2012 at 14:34 #

      I couldn’t! I like fun, not meanness 🙂

      Like

  14. Al April 1, 2012 at 14:44 #

    My barrister will be contacting you about paying the costs of all the medical personnel who worked on reviving me after my heart attack.

    Like

    • Tilly Bud April 1, 2012 at 15:53 #

      And mine will countersue for making me laugh when I had a mouth full of tea 🙂

      Like

  15. SchmidleysScribbling April 1, 2012 at 15:51 #

    Good Grief. You’re the cream in my coffee. How would I get by without you? I’m with Al. You shouldn’t scare people like that. Lots of old people out here depend on a laugh from you. Dianne

    Like

    • Tilly Bud April 1, 2012 at 15:54 #

      The pressure to perform is suddenly overwhelming…

      Like

  16. klrs09 April 1, 2012 at 15:52 #

    You had me, you really had me! I am just NEVER prepared for April Fool’s day. Glad you’re still going to be posting, can’t imagine this place without your funniness.

    Like

  17. slpmartin April 1, 2012 at 17:42 #

    Now that bordered on cruel…I mean the thought of not having your words with my morning coffee…I’d have to start buying sugar again. 🙂

    Like

  18. Cold Dead Heart April 1, 2012 at 18:23 #

    I’ve really enjoyed your blog and you inspire me as a mother. I’ve nominated you for this award because you make me smile 🙂 Thanks and keep blogging. http://colddeadheart.wordpress.com/2012/04/01/very-inspiring-blogger-awards/

    Like

    • Tilly Bud April 3, 2012 at 10:21 #

      Thank you! I appreciate you thinking of me 🙂

      Like

  19. gigihawaii April 1, 2012 at 18:46 #

    You certainly had me fooled. hahaha. HAPPY APRIL FOOL!!!

    Like

  20. kateshrewsday April 1, 2012 at 19:51 #

    😀 You are a rotter, Tilly….

    Like

  21. WordsFallFromMyEyes April 1, 2012 at 22:42 #

    You totally got me – you seriously did, because I have actually read people’s posts exactly like that and they were true. People do get tired of the ol’ blogging, somehow. Personally, I don’t know if my daily life is interesting enough to continue blogging about once I’ve finished my book. So, even I may end up doing a post like that!

    I was really surprised when I read it of you though – yep, you got me!

    Like

    • Tilly Bud April 3, 2012 at 10:22 #

      I was amazed that anyone fell for it, to be honest. As if I could EVER give up blogging 🙂

      Like

  22. Madeleine Begun Kane April 1, 2012 at 23:49 #

    LOL! You gave me quite the scare. Well done!

    Like

  23. barb19 April 2, 2012 at 01:44 #

    I must admit, you had me fooled for about half a second there Tilly – blogging just wouldn’t be the same without you here.
    You are my connection with my part of the world – you have that quick, Lancashire wit and brilliant sense of humour. My hub is from Burnley originally, and has the same great humour.

    Like

  24. Joseph April 2, 2012 at 02:48 #

    LOL! I thought you were serious there for a minute even after I had already seen the April monkey at the bottom. Lol! Happy April Fool’s Day! : )

    Like

  25. SidevieW April 2, 2012 at 06:46 #

    bad budd bad budd

    now say after me, the universe will withdraw the maltesers if i tease like that again

    Like

    • Tilly Bud April 3, 2012 at 10:26 #

      I can’t even think it without feeling faint…

      Like

      • SidevieW April 3, 2012 at 11:47 #

        I understand the feeling. Here have a packet of maltesers, lie down and eat them till the feeling passes

        Like

  26. Kathy's Thoughts April 2, 2012 at 14:29 #

    I’m so glad you will be sticking around because I would miss your posts if you left.

    Like

  27. sarsm April 2, 2012 at 14:29 #

    You totally had me going. Well done!!

    Though I’m late again and read it on the 2nd!!

    Like

  28. Jeff April 2, 2012 at 20:08 #

    What’s really funny is that I’m reading this the day AFTER April 1st, because the email alerts are a day delayed. So you really did have me going there for a minute. Then I stopped and thought….”wait a minute…” Yep. Good one, Tilly!

    Like

  29. Tilly Bud April 3, 2012 at 10:27 #

    What a daft lot you are! It’s two days later and I’m still laughing 🙂 🙂 🙂

    Like

  30. robincoyle April 3, 2012 at 18:11 #

    You had me going Tilly! Boy am I glad that was an April Fool day joke!

    Like

  31. evilnymphstuff April 3, 2012 at 20:24 #

    Well you totally caught me in your net! Haha the best April fool I’ve been fooled into so far! 🙂 keep rocking!

    Like

  32. Perfecting Motherhood April 4, 2012 at 06:09 #

    I think the WP people asked for it with this one! I love the cat picture.

    Like

  33. grannymar April 4, 2012 at 16:57 #

    Ha Ha! I am playing catch-up and went straight back to look at the date, Don’t you dare give up.

    Like

  34. eof737 April 18, 2012 at 18:46 #

    I love your photos… 🙂

    Like

I welcome your comments but be warned: I'm menopausal and as likely to snarl as smile. Wine or Maltesers are an acceptable bribe; or a compliment about my youthful looks and cheery disposition will do in a pinch.